Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1259 (Misses' Top and Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates
Review submitted in Think Pink Contest    printable version
Viewed 800 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:arianamaniacs
photo
Friend of PR
About arianamaniacsstarstarstarstar
NA AUSTRIA
Member since: 6/11/04
Reviews written: 176
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 169
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/12/11 4:19 PM
Last Updated:10/13/11 8:43 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $35.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $35.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
Yo look hawt!
10/12/11 5:46 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Love all the shirring!
10/12/11 5:56 PM
becca a said...
Fantastic outfit! I love all the ruffles and shirring.
10/12/11 6:25 PM
Aroura said...
Amazing looking dress on you! I like the black ribbon, it gives it a nice touch and definition on those seam lines.
10/12/11 8:12 PM
Kayseri said...
This is terrific, and the black ribbon highlights the details very effectively.
10/12/11 9:11 PM
ImListening said...
Wow. Your look gorgeous.
10/12/11 9:40 PM
sewtime said...
Wow, beautiful.
10/13/11 0:24 AM
JodieT said...
I love your detail you added. The dress looks perfect on you.
10/13/11 0:28 AM
MaryDB said...
Wow! Fabulous work, you look great in a wiggle dress.
10/13/11 0:29 AM
jannw said...
wonderful results! love your gatherings and shirrings
10/13/11 1:22 AM
squirrellypoo said...
It looks fantastic on you!! And I love the idea to add the contrast ribbon. Coincidentally, I wore my top yesterday. :)
10/13/11 6:25 AM
lcdrbetty said...
Looks amazing on you! Also like the black ribbon touch. Top would look great with a pair of black jeans!
10/13/11 9:22 AM
ggf2005 said...
Wow, you look hot. I'm a size 16 and I thought...this would never work for me...but after seeing yours, I might just give it a try.
10/13/11 10:12 AM
Jrhee said...
Awesome result, and thanks for the review! I'd love this in a jewel tone, and a black one too. Maybe after yours and squirrelypoo's reviews, I'll be brave enough to tackle it.
10/13/11 12:08 PM
Terri A said...
Wow! Amazing look!
10/13/11 2:30 PM
lamstu said...
The addition of the ribbon contrast is brilliant - totally makes the outfit! Looks comfortable to wear and vavavoom at the same time.
10/13/11 7:56 PM
sher sher said...
beautiful, I have to buy this pattern
10/13/11 11:49 PM
mesewlot said...
I applaud you for your bravery to tackle this. :) I have this pattern, but I've been hesitant for a couple of reasons: 1. Looks too tedious and 2. I have a little tummy pooch, so I am leary of how it will look on me when I complete it. But, I LOVE this pattern. I thank you so much for your review because it has given me a bit of courage to try it,especially seeing how yours came out great. I still can't help but wonder if I would be disappointed if it doesn't quite look as great on me. :) Thanks again for a great review!!
10/14/11 1:23 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Mesewlot: I have a tummy pooch too. (that's why there's no side shots, hehe) The gathering on this is very flattering for that.
10/14/11 3:44 AM
TracyTheMaterialGirl said...
Wow - fantastic job.
10/14/11 8:03 AM
Renren said...
Knowing I would never sew this dress, I still read your review as though I might one day sew this dress. It is beautiful but I would need some major plastic surgery to pull this off. Gorgeous. It's happy, and seductive, and joyful all at once. Just plain ol' fun. Great job, too.
10/16/11 9:12 PM
Scheryka said...
I skipped this pattern because it looked too involved. I am still going to skip this pattern. LOL I'll sit and enjoy yours. Thank you. Great job.
10/27/11 4:11 PM
Margaret said...
This looks wonderful on you! Sorry to hear the back of the skirt doesn't want to stay as gathered as it should. Looking at the envelope drawings I'm not sure what one could do about that (that wouldn't show on the outside) except possibly add a very static-y lining :) In any case, I love all the shirring, and the ribbon you added! Great review!
11/1/11 3:33 PM
fourkid said...
I am in the "I could never wear this camp", but I love your version. I always like to read your reviews as they help me to think "outside the box".
11/2/11 7:04 PM
barebear said...
You always come up with the most interesting patterns and designs. This dress suits you perfectly! I love the colour choice and the asymmetry of the pieces. It's a shame the gathering doesn't stay up in the back of the skirt, but it sure turned out nice regardless! The ribbon detail turned out really good. Nice job!
11/6/11 7:12 PM
ak21 said...
gr gott : oooooooo this looks amazing & well done to you for having the patience. I have wondered if this pattern was worth purchasing...im still wondering but i do love yours so that might help me wonder no more. 10/10.
11/12/11 11:16 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Simplicity 4731
photo
Review by jenka on 7/20/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )
Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5045
photo
Review by marec on 6/25/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Wonder Wallet
Wonder Wallet

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2146 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 2146 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5748 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5748 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us