Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Purrfection: 1007 (Kimono Jacket & Vest) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2390 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:ShereeSews
photo
About ShereeSewsstar
MI USA
Member since: 5/12/03
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/29/04 11:30 PM
Last Updated:10/5/04 4:28 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
tuolumne said...
Bea-uuuutiful! Thank you for sharing this with us!
9/29/04 11:55 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a beautiful jacket!! Wow. I bet it is quite stunning on you.
9/29/04 11:59 PM
Izzie said...
Absolutely gorgeous! I love your fabric choice.
9/30/04 0:10 AM
Irene said...
Sheree, I'm so excited that you reviewed this! Your jacket is gorgeous. Can't wait to see the vest. (Does it really work as a sleeveless blouse, or do the armholes gape?) The fashion drawings on the envelope show the front overlapping (kimono-style), but the line drawings show the front edges meeting (like your photo). Can you do it either way? BTW, it looks like this is pattern number 1007 on the purrfection.com Web site.
9/30/04 1:59 AM
Lilibet said...
Fabulous looking jacket and I love the detail you added on the pockets. You obviously have a great colour sense, what are you going to wear on the bottom?
9/30/04 3:43 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a beautiful jacket.
9/30/04 8:24 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Sheree, your jacket is stunning! I do love those cotton batiks.
9/30/04 12:04 PM
SouthernStitch said...
This is truly lovely. I love batiks too, but have not been brave enough to sew one up. You have a very unique kimono now!
9/30/04 12:34 PM
Collette McManus said...
Your jacket is truly awesome! I love the details you used...I'll have to "borrow" your great ideas. This is truly wearable! Enjoy it!
9/30/04 4:14 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
Sheree, This jacket is Beautiful ! You did a very good job on it. i wish it was mine.
9/30/04 4:26 PM
mudcat said...
Lovely jacket.
9/30/04 8:45 PM
Mollykat said...
Sheree, I've seen you in this pattern's vest. You are right, it is very flattering! Thanks for the review and the pic of the jacket.
9/30/04 9:04 PM
mClones said...
Beautiful jacket - really nice pocket redesign. Love the fabric. How does it look on?
9/30/04 10:18 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely colors, so vivid. Made up nicely.
10/1/04 5:42 AM
cmarie12 said...
Sheree, Love the jacket! I will have to remember your pocket technique as it is really kewl!
10/1/04 11:27 AM
LSBCATS3 said...
Truly beautiful!
10/1/04 5:47 PM
ShereeSews said...
Irene, if you overlap the fronts, and use a closure the band takes on an angled look. If you let it hang open, then the bands appear to run vertical as the front lays open! One pattern, two looks!
10/5/04 4:33 PM
Patti-Jo said...
Sheree, Beautiful job on a beautiful jacket! I sew a lot with batiks, and have found almost all of them to be 40-42 inches wide, which could account for the extra yardage needed. I always buy more than I think I need, because I always need more than I think.
10/5/04 5:10 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your jacket is gorgeous. I really like the changes you made to the pattern.
10/5/04 6:20 PM
JDpenelope said...
What a great look. Love the fabric. I agree with your comment about 3/4 length sleeves and am also partial to them.
10/7/04 5:06 AM
sewywabbit said...
Beautiful,you did a terrific job on this. This seems so nice for fall. If Purrfection is at Novi, make sure that you show your jacket to Dana.
10/8/04 11:06 AM
Mayleen said...
Sheree: I love what you did with the pockets! I hadn't noticed the patch pockets until you pointed it out. I may borrow your idea when I get around to making this pattern, if you don't mind *g* Mayleen
1/12/06 10:50 AM
lornakismet said...
I would love to wear this jacket. :-) -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
5/16/06 6:19 PM
j222b said...
Very nice, I think it would look good longer, too... to your knees or lower...Also I would like to see a close-up of the interesting top stitching...
7/19/06 12:29 PM
snaffles said...
Beautiful jacket, Sheree. Your fabric colors are delicious, but your triangular pocket treatment really makes the jacket. Great design choice!
9/30/08 4:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

McCall's 6441
photo
Review by pdiddly on 11/25/12
Read Review

Butterick 5891 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5891 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 2369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Riviera Shirt
photo
Review by Catherine ... on 5/3/11
Read Review

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us