SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Purrfection> 1007 (Kimono Jacket & Vest)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2400 times 
Reviewed by:ShereeSews
photo

 
 
About ShereeSewsstar
MI USA
Member since: 5/12/03
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/29/04 11:30 PM
Last Updated:10/5/04 4:28 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
tuolumne said...
Bea-uuuutiful! Thank you for sharing this with us!
9/29/04 11:55 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a beautiful jacket!! Wow. I bet it is quite stunning on you.
9/29/04 11:59 PM
Izzie said...
Absolutely gorgeous! I love your fabric choice.
9/30/04 0:10 AM
Irene said...
Sheree, I'm so excited that you reviewed this! Your jacket is gorgeous. Can't wait to see the vest. (Does it really work as a sleeveless blouse, or do the armholes gape?) The fashion drawings on the envelope show the front overlapping (kimono-style), but the line drawings show the front edges meeting (like your photo). Can you do it either way? BTW, it looks like this is pattern number 1007 on the purrfection.com Web site.
9/30/04 1:59 AM
Lilibet said...
Fabulous looking jacket and I love the detail you added on the pockets. You obviously have a great colour sense, what are you going to wear on the bottom?
9/30/04 3:43 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a beautiful jacket.
9/30/04 8:24 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Sheree, your jacket is stunning! I do love those cotton batiks.
9/30/04 12:04 PM
SouthernStitch said...
This is truly lovely. I love batiks too, but have not been brave enough to sew one up. You have a very unique kimono now!
9/30/04 12:34 PM
Collette McManus said...
Your jacket is truly awesome! I love the details you used...I'll have to "borrow" your great ideas. This is truly wearable! Enjoy it!
9/30/04 4:14 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
Sheree, This jacket is Beautiful ! You did a very good job on it. i wish it was mine.
9/30/04 4:26 PM
mudcat said...
Lovely jacket.
9/30/04 8:45 PM
Mollykat said...
Sheree, I've seen you in this pattern's vest. You are right, it is very flattering! Thanks for the review and the pic of the jacket.
9/30/04 9:04 PM
mClones said...
Beautiful jacket - really nice pocket redesign. Love the fabric. How does it look on?
9/30/04 10:18 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely colors, so vivid. Made up nicely.
10/1/04 5:42 AM
cmarie12 said...
Sheree, Love the jacket! I will have to remember your pocket technique as it is really kewl!
10/1/04 11:27 AM
LSBCATS3 said...
Truly beautiful!
10/1/04 5:47 PM
ShereeSews said...
Irene, if you overlap the fronts, and use a closure the band takes on an angled look. If you let it hang open, then the bands appear to run vertical as the front lays open! One pattern, two looks!
10/5/04 4:33 PM
Patti-Jo said...
Sheree, Beautiful job on a beautiful jacket! I sew a lot with batiks, and have found almost all of them to be 40-42 inches wide, which could account for the extra yardage needed. I always buy more than I think I need, because I always need more than I think.
10/5/04 5:10 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your jacket is gorgeous. I really like the changes you made to the pattern.
10/5/04 6:20 PM
JDpenelope said...
What a great look. Love the fabric. I agree with your comment about 3/4 length sleeves and am also partial to them.
10/7/04 5:06 AM
sewywabbit said...
Beautiful,you did a terrific job on this. This seems so nice for fall. If Purrfection is at Novi, make sure that you show your jacket to Dana.
10/8/04 11:06 AM
Mayleen said...
Sheree: I love what you did with the pockets! I hadn't noticed the patch pockets until you pointed it out. I may borrow your idea when I get around to making this pattern, if you don't mind *g* Mayleen
1/12/06 10:50 AM
lornakismet said...
I would love to wear this jacket. :-) -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
5/16/06 6:19 PM
j222b said...
Very nice, I think it would look good longer, too... to your knees or lower...Also I would like to see a close-up of the interesting top stitching...
7/19/06 12:29 PM
snaffles said...
Beautiful jacket, Sheree. Your fabric colors are delicious, but your triangular pocket treatment really makes the jacket. Great design choice!
9/30/08 4:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Buy Now
Burda 7690

photo
by: Rianna

Review