SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Sara blouse 

3 more reviews
Viewed 673 times 
Reviewed by:Maree P
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Maree Pstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/20/09
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/23/11 5:01 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Your blouse looks lovely. I am no fitting expert but I wonder if it is a bit wide at the shouldrs for you?? I am sure you will get some better feedback than this. It may be an idea to go to the boards and see what advice you can get there. :)
10/23/11 5:29 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful blouse. Makes me want to try this pattern. I'm not a fit expert either, but think that the shoulders look wide in the back only. Perhaps the upper back is a bit too wide?
10/23/11 5:56 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Your blouse is so elegant! I think the niggles are very minor...
10/23/11 7:00 AM
Sew4Fun said...
What a lovely, classic white blouse. Very flattering and I think it fits really well. I didn't notice any fit issues. I think it's more the nature of a very fitted blouse, which this pattern is. The fabric is just moving as you move. Cotton shirting fabric will do this in such a fitted style. I wouldn't change a thing unless it's uncomfortable for some reason. It looks fantastic to me! Great job and I'm glad I have this pattern. :)
10/23/11 7:27 AM
kismet007 said...
First of all it's very well made and inspite of your complaints it looks at least as good as any RTW. I do think it's definately to wide in the upper back. I can imagine myself grabing the fabric and pining it out either in the middle or on either side and then tapering to nothing at about mid back. This would place the shoulders where they should be. As for the lines on the front I think that's just a mechanism of the fabric and as far as I'm concerned does not detract from the look.
10/23/11 8:53 AM
Physics Girl said...
your fabric and craftsmanship are really lovely. Beyond that to some thoughts on fitting to consider (they may or may not be in the right direction): I get similar drag lines because I have "square shoulders"... an adjustment that generally requires raising the armhole/sleeve up by (in my case) about an inch to inch and a half. See this link: http://propercloth.com/blog/2010/sloping-shoulders-vs-square-shoulders/ Another fix is to lower the neck base.. which I think looks more like an adjustment you might want to try because of some puddling around the neck edges in one photo. There is an old PR discussion here: http://sewing.patternreview.com/SewingDiscussions/topic/59702
10/23/11 9:08 AM
ArtAttack said...
I think it is fabulous and looks great on you. It may feel ill-fitting but I think it looks perfect!
10/23/11 12:06 PM
miausiau said...
The sleeves may be set too far forward for you. Thus the excess in back and tautness in front. Indeed the lace undergarment pic does fit better. I would begin again with a smaller size for the shoulders and work from there. The fit model may not be right for your excellent posture. But really only since you asked...its a nice shirt.
10/23/11 1:29 PM
FreyaStark said...
I think it looks great and a good fit. Trying to achieve a totally smooth shirt might be unrealistic, and it would probably be skin tight if you could achieve it. However, some people are more discerning and more expert fitters than I am, and if you tweak the next one further you might be happier with the result. The black and one white is great, too.
10/23/11 4:43 PM
margk said...
Fabulous shirt and review! Your photos of the placket are great, too.
10/23/11 6:02 PM
MNBarb said...
This shirt is fitted just enough to be very feminine and flattering. Nice work!
10/23/11 8:11 PM
poppykettle said...
Your shirt looks great!
10/23/11 9:51 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Lovely shirt!
10/24/11 8:18 AM
GayMcDonell said...
Congratulations on a great white shirt - I think it looks smashing!
1/28/12 4:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Buy Now
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Fleece Hoodie

photo
by: dolcevita

Review