Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
StyleArc: Sara blouse - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 655 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Maree P
photo
Friend of PR
About Maree Pstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/20/09
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/23/11 5:01 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Your blouse looks lovely. I am no fitting expert but I wonder if it is a bit wide at the shouldrs for you?? I am sure you will get some better feedback than this. It may be an idea to go to the boards and see what advice you can get there. :)
10/23/11 5:29 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful blouse. Makes me want to try this pattern. I'm not a fit expert either, but think that the shoulders look wide in the back only. Perhaps the upper back is a bit too wide?
10/23/11 5:56 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Your blouse is so elegant! I think the niggles are very minor...
10/23/11 7:00 AM
Sew4Fun said...
What a lovely, classic white blouse. Very flattering and I think it fits really well. I didn't notice any fit issues. I think it's more the nature of a very fitted blouse, which this pattern is. The fabric is just moving as you move. Cotton shirting fabric will do this in such a fitted style. I wouldn't change a thing unless it's uncomfortable for some reason. It looks fantastic to me! Great job and I'm glad I have this pattern. :)
10/23/11 7:27 AM
kismet007 said...
First of all it's very well made and inspite of your complaints it looks at least as good as any RTW. I do think it's definately to wide in the upper back. I can imagine myself grabing the fabric and pining it out either in the middle or on either side and then tapering to nothing at about mid back. This would place the shoulders where they should be. As for the lines on the front I think that's just a mechanism of the fabric and as far as I'm concerned does not detract from the look.
10/23/11 8:53 AM
Physics Girl said...
your fabric and craftsmanship are really lovely. Beyond that to some thoughts on fitting to consider (they may or may not be in the right direction): I get similar drag lines because I have "square shoulders"... an adjustment that generally requires raising the armhole/sleeve up by (in my case) about an inch to inch and a half. See this link: http://propercloth.com/blog/2010/sloping-shoulders-vs-square-shoulders/ Another fix is to lower the neck base.. which I think looks more like an adjustment you might want to try because of some puddling around the neck edges in one photo. There is an old PR discussion here: http://sewing.patternreview.com/SewingDiscussions/topic/59702
10/23/11 9:08 AM
ArtAttack said...
I think it is fabulous and looks great on you. It may feel ill-fitting but I think it looks perfect!
10/23/11 12:06 PM
miausiau said...
The sleeves may be set too far forward for you. Thus the excess in back and tautness in front. Indeed the lace undergarment pic does fit better. I would begin again with a smaller size for the shoulders and work from there. The fit model may not be right for your excellent posture. But really only since you asked...its a nice shirt.
10/23/11 1:29 PM
FreyaStark said...
I think it looks great and a good fit. Trying to achieve a totally smooth shirt might be unrealistic, and it would probably be skin tight if you could achieve it. However, some people are more discerning and more expert fitters than I am, and if you tweak the next one further you might be happier with the result. The black and one white is great, too.
10/23/11 4:43 PM
margk said...
Fabulous shirt and review! Your photos of the placket are great, too.
10/23/11 6:02 PM
MNBarb said...
This shirt is fitted just enough to be very feminine and flattering. Nice work!
10/23/11 8:11 PM
poppykettle said...
Your shirt looks great!
10/23/11 9:51 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Lovely shirt!
10/24/11 8:18 AM
GayMcDonell said...
Congratulations on a great white shirt - I think it looks smashing!
1/28/12 4:32 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Butterick B4332 Winter Hat
photo
Review by SandraKay1 on 3/8/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2414 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 2414 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6948 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6948 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8534 MISSES' TOP
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 3/30/09
Read Review

Yasmin Yoke Skirt Digital Pattern
Yasmin Yoke Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us