SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5107 (Bistro Jacket)

10 more reviews
Viewed 2390 times 
Reviewed by:KarmenG
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KarmenGstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 1/3/03
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/2/04 11:29 PM
Last Updated:10/3/04 11:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diana M said...
Just a gorgeous jacket -- very nicely done! Thank you for the info on more professional finishing of the jacket, too. The pants in the photo look as if they match the jacket -- what pattern are they?
10/2/04 11:57 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your jacket looks just wonderful. The tailoring details you added worked very well. Where do you get your tropical weight wool?
10/3/04 6:31 AM
mClones said...
Elegant suit. I make a narrow back adjustment and taper to larger waist and hips. This gives me the shaping I need so I won't look like a large box. Can I assume that your back adjustment is more suited for the slimmer figure? I'd like to see what the back looks like.
10/3/04 7:18 AM
Lisa Laree said...
This jacket just keeps looking better and better to me as I see more of them made! Yours looks terrific. I hadn't heard the tip on splitting the back before; I wonder if it would improve the fit on other LH/TS jackets? Do you do that on all of them, or just this one?
10/3/04 7:43 AM
MickeyFan said...
What a beautiful suit - not to mention the gorgeous backdrop in your picture. I there any chance you could post a picture of the back view some time? I would love to see how your mods change the drape in the back.
10/3/04 8:30 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I love that tip about the back! I usually have to add about 1" so this would be perfect for me without adding to the shoulder. I take it you taper to nothing at the neckline seam?
10/3/04 8:54 AM
dbsewer said...
What a beautiful jacket and you did a terrific job. I have not tried this pattern but it looks like a winner. Thanks for a great review and for providing some inspiration to try this pattern.
10/3/04 9:52 AM
cindyann said...
Wonderful looking suit! Beautiful. I'm also interested in your back ease alteration. Is this something you do to all jacket patterns?
10/3/04 9:54 AM
KarmenG said...
Yes - the pants do match. I used La Fred's pattern called Daphne Pant; I will do a review of that pattern soon.
10/3/04 10:29 AM
KarmenG said...
Thanks for all the compliments everyone! Yes I do that back adjustment on every jacket I make. I am a larger size on the bottom so it also helps in making that adjustment, but I also add to the side seams to accommodate the larger hip area. I wouldn't want the back adj to be eliminated by my hips. Rhonda Chaney recommends also doing it on blouses. I can't post a picture of the back right now; I don't have a digital camera yet. I will take a photo and and post when the roll is developed. Thanks for all the input everyone.
10/3/04 10:38 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Beautiful work.
10/3/04 12:33 PM
KarmenG said...
Irina - I get my tropical weight wools from one of the following: Sawyer Brook Fabrics or Apple Annie Fabrics.
10/3/04 5:54 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your jacket is stunning on you. Thank you for your tips. Someday, I am going to make this one up.
10/3/04 6:10 PM
MarilynB said...
Lois, you and your jacket look great!
10/3/04 8:03 PM
Sew it seams said...
That is a gorgeous suit. It fits you beautifully. Thank you for the tips. I'm looking forward to your review of the pants.
10/4/04 9:28 AM
MelissaL88 said...
What a beautiful suit. You did a fabulous job!
10/5/04 6:37 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Karmen, that is beautiful! I love the fabric. Great review. I'll try that back-ease trick next time. -Ann
10/5/04 11:47 AM
KarenP said...
Your jacket is beautiful! I'm going to have to move this one up higher on my to-do list.
10/5/04 11:53 AM
Irene said...
The outfit is beautiful, and the proportion and fit are so "what to wear"! I believe your claim of having a pear shape, but it's not evident when you model your wonderful clothes.
10/5/04 12:10 PM
AnneM said...
What a great jacket for you. And thanks for the tid-bits on finishing it, also! I like the tip on the back; it will probably help with these hips of mine.
10/5/04 3:49 PM
JDpenelope said...
Yes, please post a photo of the back when you get a chance. The jacket couldn't fit or look any better. Thanks for the succinct tips.
10/7/04 6:00 AM
drsue said...
This jacket is terrific. I really like the back alteration idea you suggested. I tend to cut my jackets shorter to avoid the hip problem but I may give this idea a try.
10/8/04 6:45 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I am just getting ready to make this pattern. I wish I had read your review so I could have tried the walking ease for the back. Great idea. I do plan to interface the collar and facings. Your jacket looks great on you. Hope mine turns out as well.
10/10/04 8:43 AM
KarmenG said...
Linda L - We'll all be looking forward to your review.
10/11/04 8:05 AM
sewywabbit said...
I have one of these on deck now, and I only hope mine turns out half as good as yours!
10/12/04 0:26 AM
Sewphie said...
thank you, good comments
11/18/04 11:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Kwik Sew 3142

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
McCall's 6388

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Buy Now
The Essential Tote

The Essential Tote

Buy Now