SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> B5259 

Viewed 420 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 204 people
patterns reviewed: 149
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/29/11 2:26 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mahler said...
Great, great look Annette ! To say the truth, this is more your pattern design than the company's you made it your own and the result is great. I love your boots and your scarf. Byt the way, I am wearing my Lucchese's boots.
10/31/11 10:30 AM
1SewSweet said...
Love this dress and the way you made this pattern your own!! Fabulous!!...and the boots are the icing on the cake! Beautiful job!
10/30/11 1:08 PM
Barbara V said...
So cool to start with the gorgeous inspiration scarf from SFC (Sweet Friend Christa) and design such a wonderful dress to make a most beautiful outfit. Your many changes fine tune it for perfect fit and flatterly. Way to go! Love those boots too.
10/30/11 10:53 AM
becca a said...
What a great dress--right on trend with the color blocking. All your alterations make this dress fabulous! The collar is a great addition. Thanks for showing your alteration process. I agree that having a steeper angle between the color blocks to more closely approximate the collar angle would be a nice adjustment of the pattern.
10/30/11 10:50 AM
pdiddly said...
wow love the new collar great looking dress
10/30/11 4:35 AM
SewWil said...
Wow!!! I love what you did with this pattern. The collar really makes it. Love the color blocking. Great job! Your dress looks great on you.
10/30/11 3:14 AM
lamstu said...
Great dress! and so well documented. I don't think you cheated at all on the collar, that method is shown in one of my modern "couture" sewing books. Really great to see how you merged and altered everything to make just what you wanted.
10/29/11 10:29 PM
Catbird said...
Keep this up and we'll have to change your title from Jacket Queen to Dress Queen!! This is fantastic. Like everyone else I love the addition of the collar, and that scarf is amazing!! It's all very beautiful and you look great in it.
10/29/11 3:41 PM
Karendee said...
Annette, you do the very best job of showing each step in detail and justifying all changes. I learn so very much from your reviews. And somehow in my foggy state, I missed the changing of the neckline. I know you said you did, but this was a surprise for me. I love the faux piping and think that's such a clever detail. The way you changed the shoulder line is exactly the way Peggy Sagers shows to do it. So you and Peggy show how to do that alteration that works or shortening the shoulder/raise underarm. This outfit is just gorgeous and will be so cute with your red boots. Put it on and roar!!!!!
10/29/11 3:18 PM
Karendee said...
Annette, you do the very best job of showing each step in detail and justifying all changes. I learn so very much from your reviews. And somehow in my foggy state, I missed the changing of the neckline. I know you said you did, but this was a surprise for me. I love the faux piping and think that's such a clever detail. The way you changed the shoulder line is exactly the way Peggy Sagers shows to do it. So you and Peggy show how to do that alteration that works or shortening the shoulder/raise underarm. This outfit is just gorgeous and will be so cute with your red boots. Put it on and roar!!!!!
10/29/11 3:18 PM
Karendee said...
Annette, you do the very best job of showing each step in detail and justifying all changes. I learn so very much from your reviews. And somehow in my foggy state, I missed the changing of the neckline. I know you said you did, but this was a surprise for me. I love the faux piping and think that's such a clever detail. The way you changed the shoulder line is exactly the way Peggy Sagers shows to do it. So you and Peggy show how to do that alteration that works or shortening the shoulder/raise underarm. This outfit is just gorgeous and will be so cute with your red boots. Put it on and roar!!!!!
10/29/11 3:17 PM
cathy45 said...
Stunning dress, Annette. Looks so current, no one would guess vintage pattern. great job.
10/29/11 2:09 PM
Heatherrique said...
Your color block dress is TOTALLY stylin', Annette! I could not believe that the pattern you used is OOP. Who would know because you made the dress au courant! I like your modifications that took the dress up many notches. The cute scarf is a nice addition.
10/29/11 12:21 PM
Renren said...
Lots of delicious color and detail. The scarf and boots are just perfect to take an already great outfit up a couple of notches.
10/29/11 12:06 PM
marec said...
Totally interesting project Annette! I love this style, and the addition of the collar adds just the right amount of detail to what otherwise might be a plain dress. Love your "cheater" methods...that's how I do things too. Very cool outfit!
10/29/11 11:50 AM
MNBarb said...
Your work in the collar is splendid. I'm a scarf fanatic so if you tire of that beauty send it my way please.
10/29/11 11:07 AM
Rebecca D said...
Your reviews are a delight. I, too, love the collar and think your whole outfit is stunning.
10/29/11 9:33 AM
Christas said...
The collar adds so much to this dress, and I love the way you "cheated" to make the red side show a little bit. It looks like piping and is a wonderful detail. You look so pretty and stylish! You would never know that this was made from an out of print pattern; it looks so current and up-to-date. Another wonderful garment & review!
10/29/11 9:21 AM
no7262 said...
Love your reviews! You are so generous with all of your great information! You look wonderful! Nora :)
10/29/11 9:19 AM
lcdrbetty said...
Love how you transformed the pattern for a whole new look! Collar is wonderful. Takes a gutsy woman to wear those boots! Beautiful job!
10/29/11 8:34 AM
Jane S said...
I so love that new collar, especially how you used the alternate color as piping. These colors are so flattering with your hair and that scarf is perfect for it. Nice inspiration.
10/29/11 7:15 AM
sfshaza said...
Wow, I love the dress! I love the angle. I love the collar. I love your haircut! That scarf and those boots are amazing!
10/29/11 6:10 AM
Peggy L said...
Love the addition of the collar! Another great looking dress from Ms. Annette. The scarf adds the perfect touch.
10/29/11 6:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Simplicity 2284

photo
by: tenlilelve...

Review
EvaDress T30-1930

photo
by: motorharp

Review
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

More Info