SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> B5259 

Viewed 419 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 152
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/29/11 2:26 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy L said...
Love the addition of the collar! Another great looking dress from Ms. Annette. The scarf adds the perfect touch.
10/29/11 6:10 AM
sfshaza said...
Wow, I love the dress! I love the angle. I love the collar. I love your haircut! That scarf and those boots are amazing!
10/29/11 6:10 AM
Jane S said...
I so love that new collar, especially how you used the alternate color as piping. These colors are so flattering with your hair and that scarf is perfect for it. Nice inspiration.
10/29/11 7:15 AM
lcdrbetty said...
Love how you transformed the pattern for a whole new look! Collar is wonderful. Takes a gutsy woman to wear those boots! Beautiful job!
10/29/11 8:34 AM
no7262 said...
Love your reviews! You are so generous with all of your great information! You look wonderful! Nora :)
10/29/11 9:19 AM
Christas said...
The collar adds so much to this dress, and I love the way you "cheated" to make the red side show a little bit. It looks like piping and is a wonderful detail. You look so pretty and stylish! You would never know that this was made from an out of print pattern; it looks so current and up-to-date. Another wonderful garment & review!
10/29/11 9:21 AM
Rebecca D said...
Your reviews are a delight. I, too, love the collar and think your whole outfit is stunning.
10/29/11 9:33 AM
MNBarb said...
Your work in the collar is splendid. I'm a scarf fanatic so if you tire of that beauty send it my way please.
10/29/11 11:07 AM
marec said...
Totally interesting project Annette! I love this style, and the addition of the collar adds just the right amount of detail to what otherwise might be a plain dress. Love your "cheater" methods...that's how I do things too. Very cool outfit!
10/29/11 11:50 AM
Renren said...
Lots of delicious color and detail. The scarf and boots are just perfect to take an already great outfit up a couple of notches.
10/29/11 12:06 PM
Heatherrique said...
Your color block dress is TOTALLY stylin', Annette! I could not believe that the pattern you used is OOP. Who would know because you made the dress au courant! I like your modifications that took the dress up many notches. The cute scarf is a nice addition.
10/29/11 12:21 PM
cathy45 said...
Stunning dress, Annette. Looks so current, no one would guess vintage pattern. great job.
10/29/11 2:09 PM
Karendee said...
Annette, you do the very best job of showing each step in detail and justifying all changes. I learn so very much from your reviews. And somehow in my foggy state, I missed the changing of the neckline. I know you said you did, but this was a surprise for me. I love the faux piping and think that's such a clever detail. The way you changed the shoulder line is exactly the way Peggy Sagers shows to do it. So you and Peggy show how to do that alteration that works or shortening the shoulder/raise underarm. This outfit is just gorgeous and will be so cute with your red boots. Put it on and roar!!!!!
10/29/11 3:17 PM
Karendee said...
Annette, you do the very best job of showing each step in detail and justifying all changes. I learn so very much from your reviews. And somehow in my foggy state, I missed the changing of the neckline. I know you said you did, but this was a surprise for me. I love the faux piping and think that's such a clever detail. The way you changed the shoulder line is exactly the way Peggy Sagers shows to do it. So you and Peggy show how to do that alteration that works or shortening the shoulder/raise underarm. This outfit is just gorgeous and will be so cute with your red boots. Put it on and roar!!!!!
10/29/11 3:18 PM
Karendee said...
Annette, you do the very best job of showing each step in detail and justifying all changes. I learn so very much from your reviews. And somehow in my foggy state, I missed the changing of the neckline. I know you said you did, but this was a surprise for me. I love the faux piping and think that's such a clever detail. The way you changed the shoulder line is exactly the way Peggy Sagers shows to do it. So you and Peggy show how to do that alteration that works or shortening the shoulder/raise underarm. This outfit is just gorgeous and will be so cute with your red boots. Put it on and roar!!!!!
10/29/11 3:18 PM
Catbird said...
Keep this up and we'll have to change your title from Jacket Queen to Dress Queen!! This is fantastic. Like everyone else I love the addition of the collar, and that scarf is amazing!! It's all very beautiful and you look great in it.
10/29/11 3:41 PM
lamstu said...
Great dress! and so well documented. I don't think you cheated at all on the collar, that method is shown in one of my modern "couture" sewing books. Really great to see how you merged and altered everything to make just what you wanted.
10/29/11 10:29 PM
SewWil said...
Wow!!! I love what you did with this pattern. The collar really makes it. Love the color blocking. Great job! Your dress looks great on you.
10/30/11 3:14 AM
pdiddly said...
wow love the new collar great looking dress
10/30/11 4:35 AM
becca a said...
What a great dress--right on trend with the color blocking. All your alterations make this dress fabulous! The collar is a great addition. Thanks for showing your alteration process. I agree that having a steeper angle between the color blocks to more closely approximate the collar angle would be a nice adjustment of the pattern.
10/30/11 10:50 AM
Barbara V said...
So cool to start with the gorgeous inspiration scarf from SFC (Sweet Friend Christa) and design such a wonderful dress to make a most beautiful outfit. Your many changes fine tune it for perfect fit and flatterly. Way to go! Love those boots too.
10/30/11 10:53 AM
1SewSweet said...
Love this dress and the way you made this pattern your own!! Fabulous!!...and the boots are the icing on the cake! Beautiful job!
10/30/11 1:08 PM
Mahler said...
Great, great look Annette ! To say the truth, this is more your pattern design than the company's you made it your own and the result is great. I love your boots and your scarf. Byt the way, I am wearing my Lucchese's boots.
10/31/11 10:30 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

McCall's 6204

photo
by: Novy

Review
Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5705

photo
by: pdiddly

Review