SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5052 (Shirt in Two Lengths)

8 more reviews
Review submitted in Think Pink Contest
Viewed 482 times 
Reviewed by:myeclecticmess
photo

 
 
About myeclecticmessstar
IL USA
Member since: 1/29/08
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/11 8:46 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katlew03 said...
Cute costume idea. These should be entered in the Pink Contest that ends tonight at midnight.
10/31/11 8:55 AM
bell N said...
How creative!
10/31/11 9:07 AM
SewRaeMe said...
Love it!
10/31/11 9:15 AM
JTink said...
Ok now this is just too darn cute :-)
10/31/11 9:17 AM
LakesideLady said...
That is oh-so clever. Too Funny ... You made me smile !
10/31/11 9:47 AM
Sue W said...
AWESOME!!!! I agree with katlew...enter it in contest!
10/31/11 10:24 AM
pterion said...
What a great idea! I don't know how many times I've watched this Lucy episode and it has me laughing out loud every time.
10/31/11 10:36 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
How great is that!!!
10/31/11 10:38 AM
sewbehind said...
Thanks for making my day. These turned out really cute.
10/31/11 10:55 AM
Stargirl7 said...
Best costume I've seen this year!!! Love it! You ladies look perfect!!!
10/31/11 11:02 AM
marec said...
oh! This is just too wonderful. Bravo!
10/31/11 11:24 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love it!!! How perfect...
10/31/11 11:31 AM
Norsecross said...
Wow, from the pattern envelope to your adorable 1950's' manufacturing' uniforms...too cute! Your chef hats look great too, did you have a pattern or just 'wing-it'? Enter the contest! I think you have 4 points worth of sewing!
10/31/11 11:54 AM
Izzie said...
Love it!
10/31/11 12:28 PM
betsey said...
what a great costume! thank you for the smile!
10/31/11 12:35 PM
betsey said...
what a great costume! thank you for the smile!
10/31/11 12:35 PM
myeclecticmess said...
Thank you everyone. I did enter it in the contest. As for the chef's hats, I didn't use a pattern. I did look up some tutorials online but ended up pretty much making it up on my own. The bands are interfaced and the tops are just large circles gathered onto the bands. I cut a small slit into the circle and finished the edges. The band overlaps in the back and is closed with velcro. This made them easier to fit and allowed us to tuck our hair up inside them.
10/31/11 12:45 PM
homejewel said...
What a great idea! I love the whole thing. Congrats on your win! Who doesn't smile when thinking of that crazy funny I Love Lucy scene!
10/31/11 12:48 PM
SewWil said...
LOVE your costume! Great idea and well executed.
10/31/11 1:02 PM
sewme47 said...
This is one of the cleverest costumes I've seen in a long time! And it's from my favorite episode of I Love Lucy!!!!! Great job.
10/31/11 1:43 PM
Aixoise said...
Brilliant! You could be the president of the Lucy Reenactment Society. Even your facial expressions are Lucy's and Ethel's. Oh, and the shirts are great. Have fun!
10/31/11 2:12 PM
Aroura said...
This is soo cute!! Totally iconic, and your pic is perfect, both of you have perfect expressions!! Great costumes!! A very deserved win for couples costumes.
10/31/11 2:14 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
Absolutely perfect! My favorite episode of I Love Lucy! Great job and hope you win!
10/31/11 4:20 PM
calypso said...
Great idea! You guys look fab!
10/31/11 6:59 PM
aliann1 said...
Oh my gosh. Lucy and Ethel in the chocolate factory. I love it! :)
10/31/11 9:50 PM
MichelleE said...
What a terrific costume, my favorite episode of all time!!!
10/31/11 10:03 PM
Raye Ann said...
AWESOME! The photo is worth a thousand laughs!
11/1/11 0:31 AM
Terri A said...
Hilarious! Oh my goodness - that's great:-)
11/1/11 3:06 AM
PegL said...
Great representation of my favorite Lucy show! Nicely done!
11/1/11 7:04 AM
Woolygal said...
These are fabulous. Of course you won.
11/1/11 7:29 AM
Heatherrique said...
Just getting a chuckle thinking of one of the most memorable moments on TV, Lucy, Ethel, and those chocolates! Very clever and fun re-creation of the original!
11/1/11 11:04 AM
Margaret said...
These turned out great!
11/1/11 11:18 AM
Roary said...

11/2/11 10:37 AM
Roary said...
This made my morning!
11/2/11 10:37 AM
JenniferMM said...
Too cute! Who doesn't love that episode!? Great job :)
11/2/11 1:31 PM
JillyBe said...
Cutest couple ever! I got who it was at first glance..what a great job!
11/2/11 1:58 PM
fourkid said...
Love This!!! For all the reasons already mentioned - so glad you entered this contest - I think you gave us all a cheering up!
11/2/11 7:41 PM
waltzqueen said...
Wonderful!!! What a great idea and your costumes look great!
11/3/11 6:07 PM
bconky said...
Speed it up! Just love this costume. Too cute
11/4/11 1:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now