Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5052 (Shirt in Two Lengths) thumbsup - Type:Tops
Review submitted in Think Pink Contest    printable version
Viewed 479 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:myeclecticmess
photo
About myeclecticmessstar
IL USA
Member since: 1/29/08
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/11 8:46 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katlew03 said...
Cute costume idea. These should be entered in the Pink Contest that ends tonight at midnight.
10/31/11 8:55 AM
bell N said...
How creative!
10/31/11 9:07 AM
SewRaeMe said...
Love it!
10/31/11 9:15 AM
JTink said...
Ok now this is just too darn cute :-)
10/31/11 9:17 AM
LakesideLady said...
That is oh-so clever. Too Funny ... You made me smile !
10/31/11 9:47 AM
Sue W said...
AWESOME!!!! I agree with katlew...enter it in contest!
10/31/11 10:24 AM
pterion said...
What a great idea! I don't know how many times I've watched this Lucy episode and it has me laughing out loud every time.
10/31/11 10:36 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
How great is that!!!
10/31/11 10:38 AM
sewbehind said...
Thanks for making my day. These turned out really cute.
10/31/11 10:55 AM
Stargirl7 said...
Best costume I've seen this year!!! Love it! You ladies look perfect!!!
10/31/11 11:02 AM
marec said...
oh! This is just too wonderful. Bravo!
10/31/11 11:24 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love it!!! How perfect...
10/31/11 11:31 AM
Norsecross said...
Wow, from the pattern envelope to your adorable 1950's' manufacturing' uniforms...too cute! Your chef hats look great too, did you have a pattern or just 'wing-it'? Enter the contest! I think you have 4 points worth of sewing!
10/31/11 11:54 AM
Izzie said...
Love it!
10/31/11 12:28 PM
betsey said...
what a great costume! thank you for the smile!
10/31/11 12:35 PM
betsey said...
what a great costume! thank you for the smile!
10/31/11 12:35 PM
myeclecticmess said...
Thank you everyone. I did enter it in the contest. As for the chef's hats, I didn't use a pattern. I did look up some tutorials online but ended up pretty much making it up on my own. The bands are interfaced and the tops are just large circles gathered onto the bands. I cut a small slit into the circle and finished the edges. The band overlaps in the back and is closed with velcro. This made them easier to fit and allowed us to tuck our hair up inside them.
10/31/11 12:45 PM
homejewel said...
What a great idea! I love the whole thing. Congrats on your win! Who doesn't smile when thinking of that crazy funny I Love Lucy scene!
10/31/11 12:48 PM
SewWil said...
LOVE your costume! Great idea and well executed.
10/31/11 1:02 PM
sewme47 said...
This is one of the cleverest costumes I've seen in a long time! And it's from my favorite episode of I Love Lucy!!!!! Great job.
10/31/11 1:43 PM
Aixoise said...
Brilliant! You could be the president of the Lucy Reenactment Society. Even your facial expressions are Lucy's and Ethel's. Oh, and the shirts are great. Have fun!
10/31/11 2:12 PM
Aroura said...
This is soo cute!! Totally iconic, and your pic is perfect, both of you have perfect expressions!! Great costumes!! A very deserved win for couples costumes.
10/31/11 2:14 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
Absolutely perfect! My favorite episode of I Love Lucy! Great job and hope you win!
10/31/11 4:20 PM
calypso said...
Great idea! You guys look fab!
10/31/11 6:59 PM
aliann1 said...
Oh my gosh. Lucy and Ethel in the chocolate factory. I love it! :)
10/31/11 9:50 PM
MichelleE said...
What a terrific costume, my favorite episode of all time!!!
10/31/11 10:03 PM
Raye Ann said...
AWESOME! The photo is worth a thousand laughs!
11/1/11 0:31 AM
Terri A said...
Hilarious! Oh my goodness - that's great:-)
11/1/11 3:06 AM
PegL said...
Great representation of my favorite Lucy show! Nicely done!
11/1/11 7:04 AM
Woolygal said...
These are fabulous. Of course you won.
11/1/11 7:29 AM
Heatherrique said...
Just getting a chuckle thinking of one of the most memorable moments on TV, Lucy, Ethel, and those chocolates! Very clever and fun re-creation of the original!
11/1/11 11:04 AM
Margaret said...
These turned out great!
11/1/11 11:18 AM
Roary said...

11/2/11 10:37 AM
Roary said...
This made my morning!
11/2/11 10:37 AM
JenniferMM said...
Too cute! Who doesn't love that episode!? Great job :)
11/2/11 1:31 PM
JillyBe said...
Cutest couple ever! I got who it was at first glance..what a great job!
11/2/11 1:58 PM
fourkid said...
Love This!!! For all the reasons already mentioned - so glad you entered this contest - I think you gave us all a cheering up!
11/2/11 7:41 PM
waltzqueen said...
Wonderful!!! What a great idea and your costumes look great!
11/3/11 6:07 PM
bconky said...
Speed it up! Just love this costume. Too cute
11/4/11 1:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Simplicity 3557 Easy to sew
photo
Review by tatterbat on 6/2/08
Read Review

New Look 6141 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6141 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4377 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Butterick 4377 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3316 Girl's Dress
photo
Review by Kalena on 1/31/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Vivienne Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Vivienne Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us