SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4510 (2 Tone Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 389 times 
Reviewed by:arianamaniacs
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About arianamaniacsstarstarstarstar
NA AUSTRIA
Member since: 6/11/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 179
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/1/11 7:01 PM
Last Updated:11/2/11 4:04 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
solosmocker said...
Appreciate your honest forthright review. Sorry it didn't work out as you planned.
11/1/11 7:09 PM
Aroura said...
I'm sorry you don't like the bias cut of the dress, I love the asymetrical hem you made, and the contrasting fabrics make the dress look runway stylish, I think it's a great look on you!
11/1/11 8:14 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks for the review. I think you made your version much more interesting and stylish than the drawings on the envelope would suggest. I wouldn't have guessed it was all bias either.
11/2/11 4:39 AM
marec said...
Thanks for the review-this is an interesting pattern, and your dress is very runway. I like it, especially with a belt.
11/2/11 11:08 AM
Bonnie123 said...
Nice!
11/2/11 11:22 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
VERY NICE!
11/2/11 11:23 AM
Kayseri said...
What a terrific combination of patterns and textures. Thanks for the frank review.
11/2/11 3:40 PM
fourkid said...
I don't know why, but this dress interested me, so I spent extra time looking over all the reviews. I think yours is very interesting and works really well on you. I don't see it as medieval as much as Viking! But again, it looks beautiful on you. I love your changes. I agree, the bodice looks great on grain rather than bias. Your boots are great and add a lot to this look. I think you should give it a chance this winter - and I am guessing others will like it as well. (btw - I can't find the pattern at the site - I think McCall's pullled it?)
11/2/11 6:38 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Yes, it's OOP, it's quite old, I've had it in my stash for a few years at least
11/2/11 6:41 PM
lakaribane said...
I love the colorblock, too bad you don't like it, visually it's really cool! Love your shoes (in both reviews, in fact)
11/2/11 8:46 PM
prttynpnk said...
I'm sorry its not your favorite, its very pretty on....
11/2/11 9:55 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Your rendition of the dress is interesting and eye-catching. I examined it closely and decided you did something here that really works. The fabric combination works wonderfully together and it is very flattering on you. I like it!
11/3/11 0:37 AM
mesewlot said...
I really like your skirt, it's very stylish and creative!
11/4/11 2:15 AM
arianamaniacs said...
@fourkid: I added a link to the pattern pic. You're right though, the dress is totally Viking!
12/6/11 2:40 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

New Look 6309

photo
by: Verosews

Review
New Look 6007

photo
by: Erinnb

Review
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now