SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5685 (Misses' Jacket and Coat)

6 more reviews
Viewed 873 times 
Reviewed by:Trinity.
photo

 
 
About Trinity.starstar
MA USA
Member since: 10/9/05
Reviews written: 107
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/5/11 3:54 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Outerwear    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
debberooni said...
I am making this now and wish I had read the reviews before I started. I made it in two pieces. :( I am also very confused on the bottom part. They only show you attaching one piece 12 to one piece 13 and I have more pieces. Very confusing instructions! I am just going to use common sense to get this put together. Piece 13 is also quite a bit longer than piece 12 and I can't figure out why.
3/4/12 10:21 AM
Phillis2 said...
I'm in the midst of making this jacket/coat and am also making the mid-length. It was very helpful to read your sewing modifications so that when I get to the points you speak of I will compare your way against the instructions. I believe you've found a shortcut. I think you looik good in your short coat and the fabric you selection is attractive. I was especially glad to see this coat made in a print because the pattern envelope shows the 3 coats in solid colors. I'm making mine in a black on white print and hope it looks as wearable as yours. I agree with you that the shaw collar, although stylish, is a bit much. Good suggestion to try a different type of collor. Thanks.
12/27/11 11:52 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Very cute! I just picked up this pattern for my daughter and am glad you reviewed it!
11/26/11 10:31 PM
sewinglouisa said...
Great job. I have this in my to do pile, just got the fabric from fabric.com a beautiful beige wool mix with different colors and silver thread through it. Yum
11/24/11 9:26 AM
hme75 said...
I was thinking of picking this pattern up at Joann's current sale. Your version looks great, and so the pattern is being added to the list. Thanks!
11/17/11 11:05 PM
hme75 said...
I was thinking of picking this pattern up at Joann's current sale. Your version looks great, and so the pattern is being added to the list. Thanks!
11/17/11 11:05 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Wonderful fall jacket! Thanks for this thorough and helpful review. I'm planning to make this pattern soon.
11/16/11 8:08 PM
jewelsew said...
Thank you - I'm just starting this pattern and wondered about those crazy instructions. Nice look for you!
11/11/11 1:46 PM
thimbledore said...
Your coat looks SUPER super cute! Thanks so much for your thorough review! I'm currently slogging through a muslin of this and was really hoping someone with more experience would test it out before I get to the stage of *gulp* cutting my gorgeous, beloved, expensive fabric for the final version.
11/11/11 11:28 AM
Leora said...
Thank you so much for the detailed review and heads up on the instructions. Lovely jacket!
11/8/11 7:53 PM
aleah42 said...
I have this in my queue as my first real coat... thanks so much for the advice about the instructions! I will definetely do it your way.
11/8/11 6:56 PM
MNBarb said...
This jacket looks great on you! I love your fabric choice. So glad you wrote this review since I thought the wide collar might be overwhelming on a smaller person but it's PERFECT!
11/8/11 1:43 PM
pdiddly said...
fantastic looking jacket
11/6/11 11:53 AM
tsedai said...
I got some fabric that I really wanted to use with the pattern - thanks for the info on the instructions. Those sound crazy! Your method is what I usually do with coats, so glad to know it will work and I should write up my own instructions before I start on this coat. And I agree - this pattern is appealing in all the lengths - it will be hard to choose which one to make! You should be super pleased with your finished coat, it looks great!
11/5/11 11:31 PM
CAgirl said...
I always admire a well constructed jacket and yours is perfect.
11/5/11 7:41 PM
marec said...
double post
11/5/11 4:51 PM
marec said...
That is just lovely! Thanks for the heads up on the instructions and sequencing of steps.
11/5/11 4:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8414

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Loes Hinse Designs 5101

photo
by: cocosloft

Review
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info