Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8217 thumbsup - Type:Tops
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 246 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
NA GERMANY
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 290
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 270
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/14/11 9:45 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Yes, the neckline isn't as low as you would expect from the pattern photo. And yes, I like that there is an asymmetrical sleeve cap since that's just the way bodies are built. Thanks for your very detailed review--I know you could have another top almost sewn in the time it took to write a review like this! Oh, by the way, I like your top. Interesting pattern. I recognize the model from one of my early Burda pants patterns.
11/14/11 10:59 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Thanks so much for this! It's very helpful. I have this pattern but wasn't sure how to raise the neckline. Your other adjustments are very helpful, too, especially the sleeve adjustment. :)
11/14/11 12:53 PM
Terri A said...
What they said... and really great review!
11/14/11 2:09 PM
FreyaStark said...
Your perseverance and attention to detail is impressive, and the result is worth the effort.
11/14/11 5:28 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
WOW!! You'd be a wonderful sewing prof, my DFF Margaret!!
11/14/11 6:14 PM
marec said...
The very best review I have read recently!! I love the top and think it is very flattering. Thanks for an exhaustive review.
11/14/11 7:34 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Thank you for all that effort in writing this review. I think your top looks very nice and is the nicest one I've seen of this pattern.
11/15/11 1:46 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks for all the nice comments! Vintage Joan, if you still wanted to raise the neckline, I think the best way might be to just add (an inch, or whatever amount) all the way along the diagonal edges of both fronts and the same amount to the back neckline (it's not high, so I think adding a bit there would be fine). If you wanted to raise the front neckline but not make the neckline narrower at the shoulders or higher at the back, you could make the addition angled rather than an even amount, and taper it to nothing at the shoulder, but keep in mind that the neckline would then not be on the straight crossgrain, unless you changed the grainline. You could also shorten on the L/S line printed on the pattern at mid-armhole, but again, you'd have to carefully true if you wanted the entire neckline to stay on the cross-grain. HTH!
11/15/11 8:08 AM
Heatherrique said...
What a sleek looking top, Margaret! Your attention to detail is admirable!
11/15/11 10:08 PM
MidnightBleu said...
Love the top. Photos in your review were helpful to understand the alterations you made. Very detailed review is quite helpful.
11/17/11 10:19 AM
Kayseri said...
Great review and a nice result. I've got this pattern & a nice stripy knit for it; but your experience reminds me I WILL need to make a muslin.
1/3/12 3:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Butterick 4859 Misses Skirts
photo
Review by Primatoide... on 9/14/09
Read Review

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern
J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Trendy Tuxedo Shirt & Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Trendy Tuxedo Shirt & Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake patterns 2222
photo
Review by Fox51 on 3/24/14
Read Review

McCalls 6196 Pattern ( Size MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6196 Pattern ( Size MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4443 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 4443 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us