SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8776 (Misses Cape)

7 more reviews
Viewed 781 times 
Reviewed by:Sue Anfang
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sue Anfangstarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 213
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 198
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/11 8:41 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
whistlin dixie said...
Thank you, Sue, for your feedback re. range of motion. I'm tall, too, so I'll definitely change the pocket height, if I decide to make the cape.
11/23/11 11:14 PM
Sue Anfang said...
whistlin dixie, I was surprised at the amount of arm motion from the look of the pattern too, but it was fine. If I were to make it again, I'd probably add some length to lower the pocket. A bunch of us tried it on and the ladies who were about 5' 6" slid their hands in the pocket easily, I'm 6 ft with long arms and the pockets are a bit high for me (but I wanted to make this quickly and had limited yardage - it was stash fabric, so I didn't do my usual alterations) HTH, Sue
11/22/11 9:31 AM
jlg said...
I love this on you. Your review has convinced me to buy this pattern.
11/21/11 6:55 AM
whistlin dixie said...
This looks just wonderful on you! Thanks for all of your tips. I, too, am interested in making this, but I'm concerned about the cut limiting the range of arm motion. It looks a bit like a straightjacket, as though the wearer cannot outstretch her arms. Is that true, or just a trick of the eye?
11/20/11 2:36 PM
valkyrie01 said...
Fantastic! Thanks for all the useful advice, because I have been wanting to make this one!
11/17/11 9:08 PM
JodieT said...
Love it, and so unique.
11/16/11 11:57 AM
twinkle72 said...
Love it! I am waiting for this pattern to arrive in the post. I am more excited than ever now. Thanks for the review!
11/16/11 11:37 AM
marec said...
Excellent cape-it looks wonderfully warm and so stylish.
11/16/11 11:09 AM
Renren said...
It is wonderful!
11/15/11 10:31 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful cape!
11/15/11 10:18 PM
AndreaSews said...
Great looking, stylish cape!
11/15/11 9:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2005-102

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Buy Now