Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 3030 (fast & easy Tshirt tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 269 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:jannw
photo
Friend of PR
About jannwstarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 9/3/06
Reviews written: 188
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 39 people
patterns reviewed: 173
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/11 1:39 PM
Last Updated:11/22/11 2:48 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Very nice top in a woven. I know how hard it is to figure out which side of the facing will eventually end up away from the skin AND also which end will be on the left zipper side. I can't even explain the problem, but I know it is tricky and I get right about half the time--no better than flipping a coin. You should think about putting the picture of the jacket and top in the gallery and then link to the jacket in the review! That's one sharp picture.
11/22/11 2:05 PM
marec said...
Awesome coordinates!! Explain again about the fusible??? :-)
11/22/11 3:23 PM
katlew03 said...
Very nice. Look great together. I'll have to get this top. Looks like a great basic.
11/22/11 6:51 PM
jannw said...
Marec.. take your fusible, place it on the right side of the fabric piece, glue side up and then sew the outside edge. I usually use a quarter inch seam. Then turn it to the inside(wrong side) of the facing piece. Finger press the seam line and then iron it. You end up with a beautiful finished edge to your facing. In this case, the back facing is part of the main pattern piece and folded under and the front facing is sewn to the two sides. I got confused and fused to the wrong side, so when I flipped it inside, the fusible was on top instead of between the two fabric layers.
11/22/11 7:34 PM
khurtdvm said...
Looks really nice! I might have to pick it up. I haven't tried woven Tshirts so far, but I might need to as I suspect they look a little more professional. (Someday when I'm working again, they might want me to dress better than I currently do...)
11/22/11 8:28 PM
Terri A said...
Annoying when those little things happen - but the good news is it looks fab anyway! I am always sewing when I am really tired and it is too late for me to be doing anything technical!!!
11/22/11 10:30 PM
Margaret said...
Very nice top... great with the jacket too! This looks like it will be a very useful basic.
11/23/11 4:35 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Love your set! I agree about the tees though I do wear the knits. I am always wanting a better looking shell. I am glad it is still in print and I can catch it at a pattern sale.
11/23/11 8:33 AM
RLL said...
This IS nice for a woven top. I have had the pattern for probably 10 yrs and never used it. Looked at it many times and pass it up. I think it is time to get it out thanks to you.
11/23/11 1:26 PM
treefrog said...
Looks like this pattern will be getting a lot of use. Your top looks great under the jacket.
11/23/11 5:15 PM
Myspirit4 said...
Thank you so much for the tip on sewing the fusing to the facing and flipping it! I will definitely try this next time!
4/2/13 5:28 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8480 Jacket
photo
Review by SueV on 5/25/08
Read Review

McCalls 6690 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6690 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6922 Pattern
Burda 6922 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 0001 Two-Seam Top
photo
Review by JenniferMM on 5/9/12
Read Review

Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Dreess Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Dreess Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us