SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Drafted from RTW> basic panty 

Viewed 244 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 277
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/25/11 12:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Finally, finally, I'm getting ready to copy a rtw panty from VS and I've reread loti's instructions and your review. I do believe I can do this! Thanks for the helpful review and photos.
8/2/12 0:19 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I plan to spend some time on the link to the sew a long you linked to after the holidays or when shut in during a winter weather episode as I somehow stopped reading after a couple of pages. I liked your tips for cleaning up a borrowed rtw pattern. After something is worn a lot or is perhaps cut off grain to save fabric I can see that will always need doing. I was always too rigid tracing and I can now see that left and right traces of a piece will probably always need to be corrected or averaged out. I am getting a lot more relaxed about taking the drawing pencil to a pattern than I was for many years. I have taken to flat measuring rtw to make patterns work better but think after reading this I will "borrow"more rtw patterns from things I like a lot.
11/29/11 7:49 AM
pdiddly said...
well done, cute. I too am now making my own panties, but I have been using a kwick sew pattern which I love and probably won't go back to RTW now as these are so quick to make up I always make a few pairs at once.
11/27/11 5:33 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks! mssewcrazy, these actually have three pieces, but a lot of RTW has only two (and it would be easy enough to change this pattern to two, because of the straight seams). I think it's probably a tiny bit easier to trace off a pair with 3 pieces, but over on the boards it also shows how to handle it when there are only 2.
11/27/11 4:32 AM
jannw said...
great looking panties!
11/26/11 4:51 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I looked at the album and was surprised that these only have two pieces since the crotch area was cut onto the front. Talk about fast easy sewing now that you have a pattern that fits and you can sew from better fabric,that's a win win. Factory patterns are so different from how we sew at home. I've refused to bother with undies except for a few times but I am thinking every time I pay for the daughters' panties at VS, I need to borrow that pattern from a pair they like. I have a feeling you will be making more of these than you have planned when you wear the nicer fabric and fit.
11/26/11 7:33 AM
S I G R I D said...
they look great !
11/25/11 11:38 PM
FreyaStark said...
They're cute.
11/25/11 4:27 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Really NEAT!! (Yup, they're cheap in stores, but don't FIT, eh :(... ) Matched lingerie is oh, la-la ;D
11/25/11 1:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8120

photo
by: tr1c14

Review
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

More Info
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

More Info