Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Drafted from RTW: basic panty - Type:Lingerie    printable version
Viewed 242 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
NA GERMANY
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 290
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 270
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/25/11 12:27 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Really NEAT!! (Yup, they're cheap in stores, but don't FIT, eh :(... ) Matched lingerie is oh, la-la ;D
11/25/11 1:33 PM
FreyaStark said...
They're cute.
11/25/11 4:27 PM
S I G R I D said...
they look great !
11/25/11 11:38 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I looked at the album and was surprised that these only have two pieces since the crotch area was cut onto the front. Talk about fast easy sewing now that you have a pattern that fits and you can sew from better fabric,that's a win win. Factory patterns are so different from how we sew at home. I've refused to bother with undies except for a few times but I am thinking every time I pay for the daughters' panties at VS, I need to borrow that pattern from a pair they like. I have a feeling you will be making more of these than you have planned when you wear the nicer fabric and fit.
11/26/11 7:33 AM
jannw said...
great looking panties!
11/26/11 4:51 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks! mssewcrazy, these actually have three pieces, but a lot of RTW has only two (and it would be easy enough to change this pattern to two, because of the straight seams). I think it's probably a tiny bit easier to trace off a pair with 3 pieces, but over on the boards it also shows how to handle it when there are only 2.
11/27/11 4:32 AM
pdiddly said...
well done, cute. I too am now making my own panties, but I have been using a kwick sew pattern which I love and probably won't go back to RTW now as these are so quick to make up I always make a few pairs at once.
11/27/11 5:33 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I plan to spend some time on the link to the sew a long you linked to after the holidays or when shut in during a winter weather episode as I somehow stopped reading after a couple of pages. I liked your tips for cleaning up a borrowed rtw pattern. After something is worn a lot or is perhaps cut off grain to save fabric I can see that will always need doing. I was always too rigid tracing and I can now see that left and right traces of a piece will probably always need to be corrected or averaged out. I am getting a lot more relaxed about taking the drawing pencil to a pattern than I was for many years. I have taken to flat measuring rtw to make patterns work better but think after reading this I will "borrow"more rtw patterns from things I like a lot.
11/29/11 7:49 AM
Renren said...
Finally, finally, I'm getting ready to copy a rtw panty from VS and I've reread loti's instructions and your review. I do believe I can do this! Thanks for the helpful review and photos.
8/2/12 0:19 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

ModKid Patterns Modkid sewing book Bloom dress
photo
Review by KLK7 on 2/14/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )
Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8411
photo
Review by Secretsuga... on 2/8/09
Read Review

McCalls 6188 Pattern( Size )
McCalls 6188 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3348 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3348 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us