Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2011-126 (Coat, Long jacket) - Type:Loungewear    printable version
Viewed 392 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Elizabeth made this
photo
Friend of PR
About Elizabeth made thisstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 8/8/07
Reviews written: 103
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/26/11 10:28 AM
Last Updated:3/2/14 6:57 PM
Project Photo:BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2011-126 by Elizabeth made this

Pattern Photo:

More Info provided by Elizabeth made this

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Sweater Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: LONG lounging jacket with shawl cut-on collar

Pattern Sizing:36-44
I graded down to a 34 in the neck/shoulders/armscye and the whole sleeve (which took forever because of all those absurd lines).

ETA: I remembered that I needed to do a narrow shoulder from my 1st version. It helped, but the neck line is still cut @34, and I'm really a 32. I can mitigate the tiny bit of extra width by folding down the collar.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?There's not a lot to this jacket, but the directions concerning the dart that helps form the collar are a little weird (cut along the dart 2 inches), but they do work. You have to do this step because the dart is in the middle of the shoulder, and if you don't cut where the directions tell you, you will not be able to sew the shoulder seam.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?It's tremendously cozy. I knew what I was getting into sewing something so long, but it's terribly long...like 4 inches in the sleeves and the hem.

ETA: I did shorten the sleeves to a more appropriate length for version #2, and I shortened the entire length by 9" which hits me at about mid-thigh.

Fabric Used:salmon lightweight sweater knit--I'd guess it's some combo of poly and something else.

#2 is a rose cable sweater knit with flecks of gold throughout.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
None.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes I probably will sew it again. It's a great use of a couple of yards of a fabric that you love, and it's a great layering piece, easy to add a belt for some good waist definition. In the two weeks I've been wearing the rose gold version, it's won more unsolicited compliments than possibly anything else in my closet.

Conclusion: This will be a favorite as it keeps me from spending months in the winter around the house in my Met Opera hoodie. More on my blog.
~EMadeThis lounging sweater

and here.

thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Cozy, pretty, a wonderful color for you. It is a home run!
11/26/11 10:36 AM
Elona said...
It looks very cosy on you. The great length might be due the fact that Burdas are designed for women 5' 7".
11/26/11 10:59 AM
Heatherrique said...
Pink is definitely your color! This jacket is not only comfy looking, but really trendy and stylish!
11/26/11 1:28 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Cozy
11/27/11 9:28 AM
JEF said...
Wonderful.
11/27/11 9:29 AM
becca a said...
Very cute and cozy! What a lovely color on you.
11/27/11 11:24 AM
pdiddly said...
very cosy enjoy wearing it
11/27/11 4:39 PM
MamaSewing said...
This looks perfect for the long winter we are having! I really like the color also.
3/3/14 10:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 2532
photo
Review by myeclectic... on 6/5/11
Read Review

McCalls 5248 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG )
McCalls 5248 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $16.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1607 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1607 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5669 Unlined jacket
photo
Review by imsewcrazy on 9/3/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern
Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us