Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Islander Sewing Systems: 104 (Waterfall Pattern) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 473 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR
About marecstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 65 people
patterns reviewed: 136
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/11 5:33 PM
Last Updated:11/28/11 5:43 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $19.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JEF said...
Your end result is really interesting looking. I wonder if now that you've made the pattern quite a bit smaller, if you used a SUPER drapey thin (maybe sheer) fabric this would work as a topper over a cami or something. I really like the gracefulness of it.
11/28/11 6:14 PM
thirteenstitches said...
I LOVE it!!!
11/28/11 7:18 PM
lcdrbetty said...
Love the overall look...maybe a little too "boxy" in the chest area. Great color!
11/28/11 8:50 PM
jannw said...
Maybe an inch or two longer...other than that, I really like it!
11/28/11 9:30 PM
Renren said...
I think it looks good! Maybe you usually wear closer fitting things and that is making this feel a bit off regarding the fit? If I saw you out and about, I would think, "Cool top."
11/28/11 10:02 PM
Aroura said...
I honestly think it looks really lovely on you, it doesn't look huge a all, and you certainly don't look like Ms. Potato head! :) I think it is very flattering, very unique, not huge and ugly. I hope it...um...grows on you? Well, you know what I mean. :D
11/28/11 10:24 PM
Margaret said...
I think it's a nice, interesting style and maybe it's the (a) lack of any waist shaping and (b) length vs. width proportions that are making it seem too boxy. I wonder if some tucks or darts at the waist would help, and/or making it slightly longer. But I definitely notice the interesting cut and drape more than the boxiness.
11/29/11 4:43 AM
Catherine Goetz said...
Looks fabulous!
11/29/11 8:33 AM
marec said...
Thank you everyone-I appreciate the feedback and comments. I can see the proportion of width and length more clearly after reading what you have to say. In addition, a lighter fabric might help. Thanks again!!
11/29/11 11:38 AM
marthamyers said...
What interesting sewing projects you are working on! I too think this looks good on you. Love your new hair style too!
11/29/11 12:23 PM
treefrog said...
I think it looks great! And a lovely colour too. 5 yds of fabric - wow!!
11/29/11 4:56 PM
MNBarb said...
This is so "you" in a great way. It sounds like a nightmare to fit but it's good you didn't give up. Really? You don't like it? Look at the photos again. BTW, I didn't notice you had 3 stars. Congrats!
11/29/11 9:56 PM
Annette1 said...
If I SQUINT? :o))) Ha! Well, I must admit I was surprised when I read that this didn't work for you, because when I looked at your picture, I thought, "COOL OUTFIT," from your HAIR to the TOP to the PANTS to the BOOTS! I know what you mean about feeling like something is just "too much," but while it may FEEL that way to you, I think it LOOKS great. :o)
11/30/11 1:05 AM
JillyBe said...
Wow - this entire look is SO stunning, from head to toe! I think the basic lines of this top are great, & with as much work as you've put in to the alterations, I really really think you should try it again. I like the ideas of a drapier fabric, & a smaller cut in the areas you took in might do the trick. Seriously, you look GAWjuss!
11/30/11 10:18 PM
sfshaza said...
I had the same reaction as Annette. When I saw the small thumbnail, next to the "it didn't work for me", I was surprised. When I looked at the picture in its larger format, I can see what you are talking about. It's a cute design with lots of potential, but needs refinement. Personally, I would remove the pleats from the paper pattern and try again, but there may be other ways to improve it for you. I also have to agree with others. You are ROCKING your look! Fabulous!!
12/1/11 10:12 AM
QueenZ said...
I get what you’ve said. I know if I wear something and it doesn’t feel right on me no matter how many compliments I get, the item is rarely worn (as a matter of fact, sometimes given to the person giving the compliment and they love it …worked for them). Feeling good is important, however, in this ensemble, you are stunning!
12/15/11 8:35 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns V8581 Vogue
photo
Review by Ruth Desig... on 6/12/11
Read Review

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 222502-1002
photo
Review by moonshae on 10/28/13
Read Review

Butterick 5685 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5685 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4654 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 4654 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us