Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2011-116 (Fur Coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 400 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR
About becca astarstar
VT USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/11 9:46 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redrockcity said...
Being on the "wrong" side of 5'3 myself I feel your pain!! I too have fallen hopelessly in love with a Burda image only to find out too late it was totally wrong for my build!
11/29/11 4:39 PM
Donna Likes Golf said...
I think this looks great with the belt on your DD. The lining is gorgeous - love the pop of color. So sorry it didn't work for you, but it looks like a nice warm coat. You did a nice job regardless!
12/1/11 9:50 PM
marykpfist said...
What a disappointment! You did a wonderful job. I'm so sorry it didn't live up to your expectations.
12/1/11 10:05 PM
Aixoise said...
I, too, think it looks great - like a 40s topper coat. Put it away for a while. Get all dressed up - makeup and hot shoes, too - and try it on again. You might just change your mind!
12/1/11 10:13 PM
mastdenman said...
You look great in the coat. Coats aren't meant to be fitted garments. But if you feel that uncomfortable, try putting it into the closet for a while and then try it again.
12/1/11 11:35 PM
pdiddly said...
what a shame you don't like it - mind you, we have all been down that road
12/2/11 4:19 AM
starryfish said...
I think Burda design clothes for Valkyries! Or at least tall women with broad shoulders. Why do so many of their garments have no side shaping? You did a great job, such a pity you don't like it.
12/2/11 10:50 AM
Silknmore said...
I'm so sad that you don't like it as it's so beautiful. Absolutely love the lining.
12/3/11 8:11 AM
Nancywin said...
I love your fur coat! Too bad DD won't wear it. (My DD is the same way.) The fur fabric looks fabulous too.
12/3/11 10:41 AM
Mich23 said...
Maybe you could rework it into the smaller jacket they have as the extra sewing course one? I'm planning to do that one for the very reason that I'm a short person and reckon it's a more flattering length/shape. Good to know the instructions are ok for Burda Style too!
12/4/11 6:23 PM
inkstain said...
Enjoy your posts and I now realize you and I are the only ones tackling the Narnia fur coat. I recall being worried by your experience and overall I'm happier with it, but grateful you pioneered ahead! Chanel No.6
4/26/12 2:03 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Vogue Patterns 8093
photo
Review by Irene Q on 3/11/07
Read Review

Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern
Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Patrones Magazine No. 291 04/2010 Model 23 Blouse
photo
Review by dingyadi on 5/23/10
Read Review

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7031 Pattern
Burda 7031 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6914 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6914 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us