SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2011-116 (Fur Coat)

1 more reviews
Viewed 402 times 
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About becca astarstar
VT USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 85
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/11 9:46 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
inkstain said...
Enjoy your posts and I now realize you and I are the only ones tackling the Narnia fur coat. I recall being worried by your experience and overall I'm happier with it, but grateful you pioneered ahead! Chanel No.6
4/26/12 2:03 AM
Mich23 said...
Maybe you could rework it into the smaller jacket they have as the extra sewing course one? I'm planning to do that one for the very reason that I'm a short person and reckon it's a more flattering length/shape. Good to know the instructions are ok for Burda Style too!
12/4/11 6:23 PM
Nancywin said...
I love your fur coat! Too bad DD won't wear it. (My DD is the same way.) The fur fabric looks fabulous too.
12/3/11 10:41 AM
Silknmore said...
I'm so sad that you don't like it as it's so beautiful. Absolutely love the lining.
12/3/11 8:11 AM
starryfish said...
I think Burda design clothes for Valkyries! Or at least tall women with broad shoulders. Why do so many of their garments have no side shaping? You did a great job, such a pity you don't like it.
12/2/11 10:50 AM
pdiddly said...
what a shame you don't like it - mind you, we have all been down that road
12/2/11 4:19 AM
mastdenman said...
You look great in the coat. Coats aren't meant to be fitted garments. But if you feel that uncomfortable, try putting it into the closet for a while and then try it again.
12/1/11 11:35 PM
Aixoise said...
I, too, think it looks great - like a 40s topper coat. Put it away for a while. Get all dressed up - makeup and hot shoes, too - and try it on again. You might just change your mind!
12/1/11 10:13 PM
marykpfist said...
What a disappointment! You did a wonderful job. I'm so sorry it didn't live up to your expectations.
12/1/11 10:05 PM
Donna Likes Golf said...
I think this looks great with the belt on your DD. The lining is gorgeous - love the pop of color. So sorry it didn't work for you, but it looks like a nice warm coat. You did a nice job regardless!
12/1/11 9:50 PM
redrockcity said...
Being on the "wrong" side of 5'3 myself I feel your pain!! I too have fallen hopelessly in love with a Burda image only to find out too late it was totally wrong for my build!
11/29/11 4:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Simplicity 1723

photo
by: Larisa

Review
Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

More Info