SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2011-116 (Fur Coat)

1 more reviews
Viewed 406 times 
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About becca astarstar
United States
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews: 92 (patterns: 89)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/11 9:46 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns


vestapatterns.com
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
inkstain said... (4/26/12 2:03 AM) Reply
Enjoy your posts and I now realize you and I are the only ones tackling the Narnia fur coat. I recall being worried by your experience and overall I'm happier with it, but grateful you pioneered ahead! Chanel No.6
Mich23 said... (12/4/11 6:23 PM) Reply
Maybe you could rework it into the smaller jacket they have as the extra sewing course one? I'm planning to do that one for the very reason that I'm a short person and reckon it's a more flattering length/shape. Good to know the instructions are ok for Burda Style too!
Nancywin said... (12/3/11 10:41 AM) Reply
I love your fur coat! Too bad DD won't wear it. (My DD is the same way.) The fur fabric looks fabulous too.
Silknmore said... (12/3/11 8:11 AM) Reply
I'm so sad that you don't like it as it's so beautiful. Absolutely love the lining.
starryfish said... (12/2/11 10:50 AM) Reply
I think Burda design clothes for Valkyries! Or at least tall women with broad shoulders. Why do so many of their garments have no side shaping? You did a great job, such a pity you don't like it.
pdiddly said... (12/2/11 4:19 AM) Reply
what a shame you don't like it - mind you, we have all been down that road
mastdenman said... (12/1/11 11:35 PM) Reply
You look great in the coat. Coats aren't meant to be fitted garments. But if you feel that uncomfortable, try putting it into the closet for a while and then try it again.
Aixoise said... (12/1/11 10:13 PM) Reply
I, too, think it looks great - like a 40s topper coat. Put it away for a while. Get all dressed up - makeup and hot shoes, too - and try it on again. You might just change your mind!
marykpfist said... (12/1/11 10:05 PM) Reply
What a disappointment! You did a wonderful job. I'm so sorry it didn't live up to your expectations.
Donna Likes Golf said... (12/1/11 9:50 PM) Reply
I think this looks great with the belt on your DD. The lining is gorgeous - love the pop of color. So sorry it didn't work for you, but it looks like a nice warm coat. You did a nice job regardless!
redrockcity said... (11/29/11 4:39 PM) Reply
Being on the "wrong" side of 5'3 myself I feel your pain!! I too have fallen hopelessly in love with a Burda image only to find out too late it was totally wrong for my build!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1549

photo
by: becca a

Review
Simplicity 1932

photo
by: schmammy

Review
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Pattern Details