SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3995 (Men's Shirt and Slacks)

Viewed 263 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/11 11:43 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rivergum said...
Lovely print and the vintage cotton looks soft and buttery even in the photo. I think the button on the back of the collar is a nice touch too.
11/30/11 1:41 PM
Margaret said...
Nicely done shirt. All the details and the fabric look great and I think the color suits him. I love the 1940s and 50s McCall's envelopes too!
12/1/11 4:41 AM
mssewcrazy said...
That looks really really nice. I love seeing those vintage patterns in men's wear come to life. The cut on these combined with the nice fabric is so expensive looking. Nice work!
12/1/11 8:25 AM
cleverkitty said...
love the details on this shirt, looks fabulous!!!!
12/1/11 9:17 AM
FreyaStark said...
Nice work - it's a great shirt and made to a high standard. He's a lucky man indeed.
12/1/11 9:35 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Nice work, love the fabric, and the vintage details are great!
12/2/11 11:08 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, guys!
12/3/11 7:06 AM
HolleyM said...
HI Peter, I love your reviews. I see from your photos this is a McCalls pattern, not Butterick.
1/30/12 6:22 AM
Dr. P. said...
I love the shirt - actually, everything you sew is awesome! But I'm commenting here to thank you for turning me on to vintage men's patterns. I have a hard to fit adult son whose body type may be better suited to former eras. Also liked your decisions re: what to keep and what to jettison in interpreting this pattern.
4/6/13 9:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

New Look 6170

photo
by: rmusic1

Review
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Buy Now