SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3995 (Men's Shirt and Slacks)

Viewed 261 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/11 11:43 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rivergum said...
Lovely print and the vintage cotton looks soft and buttery even in the photo. I think the button on the back of the collar is a nice touch too.
11/30/11 1:41 PM
Margaret said...
Nicely done shirt. All the details and the fabric look great and I think the color suits him. I love the 1940s and 50s McCall's envelopes too!
12/1/11 4:41 AM
mssewcrazy said...
That looks really really nice. I love seeing those vintage patterns in men's wear come to life. The cut on these combined with the nice fabric is so expensive looking. Nice work!
12/1/11 8:25 AM
cleverkitty said...
love the details on this shirt, looks fabulous!!!!
12/1/11 9:17 AM
FreyaStark said...
Nice work - it's a great shirt and made to a high standard. He's a lucky man indeed.
12/1/11 9:35 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Nice work, love the fabric, and the vintage details are great!
12/2/11 11:08 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, guys!
12/3/11 7:06 AM
HolleyM said...
HI Peter, I love your reviews. I see from your photos this is a McCalls pattern, not Butterick.
1/30/12 6:22 AM
Dr. P. said...
I love the shirt - actually, everything you sew is awesome! But I'm commenting here to thank you for turning me on to vintage men's patterns. I have a hard to fit adult son whose body type may be better suited to former eras. Also liked your decisions re: what to keep and what to jettison in interpreting this pattern.
4/6/13 9:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Mary Mulari 1

photo
by: Lucy in Vi...

Review
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Buy Now