SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3995 (Men's Shirt and Slacks)

Viewed 266 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews: 67 (patterns: 61)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 122 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/11 11:43 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dr. P. said... (4/6/13 9:17 AM) Reply
I love the shirt - actually, everything you sew is awesome! But I'm commenting here to thank you for turning me on to vintage men's patterns. I have a hard to fit adult son whose body type may be better suited to former eras. Also liked your decisions re: what to keep and what to jettison in interpreting this pattern.
HolleyM said... (1/30/12 6:22 AM) Reply
HI Peter, I love your reviews. I see from your photos this is a McCalls pattern, not Butterick.
Peter in NYC said... (12/3/11 7:06 AM) Reply
Thanks, guys!
Sue Parrott said... (12/2/11 11:08 PM) Reply
Nice work, love the fabric, and the vintage details are great!
FreyaStark said... (12/1/11 9:35 PM) Reply
Nice work - it's a great shirt and made to a high standard. He's a lucky man indeed.
cleverkitty said... (12/1/11 9:17 AM) Reply
love the details on this shirt, looks fabulous!!!!
mssewcrazy said... (12/1/11 8:25 AM) Reply
That looks really really nice. I love seeing those vintage patterns in men's wear come to life. The cut on these combined with the nice fabric is so expensive looking. Nice work!
Margaret said... (12/1/11 4:41 AM) Reply
Nicely done shirt. All the details and the fabric look great and I think the color suits him. I love the 1940s and 50s McCall's envelopes too!
rivergum said... (11/30/11 1:41 PM) Reply
Lovely print and the vintage cotton looks soft and buttery even in the photo. I think the button on the back of the collar is a nice touch too.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

New Look 6704

photo
by: cleverkitt...

Review
Simplicity 9784

photo
by: sewing gen...

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Pattern Details
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Pattern Details