Online Sewing Class: Altering Pants
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Advance Pattern Company> 3808 (1940s slippers)

Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest
Viewed 171 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews: 310 (patterns: 289)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 54 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/3/11 3:20 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jgullettpattern said... (1/6/12 4:48 PM) Reply
I would love to get a copy of this pattern, if you would be willing! Judi
Margaret said... (12/5/11 4:56 AM) Reply
Thanks, everyone, for the kind comments! mssewcrazy, it's the first time I heard of that too. I wonder if they mean something like the kind of linoleum currently used on floors, or if it's more like the linoleum you can sometimes find in art stores for linoleum block printing (which is brown and has one side that looks sort of like canvas or jute). I would think either would work, but might need a fairly strong utility knife or something similar to cut to shape.
mssewcrazy said... (12/4/11 7:42 AM) Reply
I am very impressed with the slippers and hat you have done recently. My late mother was from the era the hat heralded from -love it. This review is the first time I have ever heard linoleum use on a shoe and thought that very interesting. I am sitting here wondering if those stick down squares could be used on the bottom of slippers-interesting idea and glad you told us they were applied afterwards with glue as I was wondering. It is also novel to make these with something other than fleece or wool for warm weather wear. You did a great job bringing the vintage patterns back to life.
jannw said... (12/4/11 0:41 AM) Reply
very cute!! What a wonderful pattern..hope the strapped sandals are next!
marec said... (12/3/11 9:17 PM) Reply
These are wonderful! Now that you have some experience, you could teach this to others. I think they are darling, and would love to make some myself.
renren said... (12/3/11 5:05 PM) Reply
I believe you have gone from milliner to cobbler in the last 2 reviews; you've got it all covered head to toe. Love these slippers and how cute they are and I would imagine warm enough to ward off any winter chill.
Terri A said... (12/3/11 4:49 PM) Reply
Clever booties and innovative finishing. They don't always give you much to go on with these vintage patterns. You did a great job.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-113

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 268307-1005

photo
by: sewnaomi

Review
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Pattern Details