Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8688 (Misses' Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 549 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR
About marecstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 65 people
patterns reviewed: 136
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/9/11 5:25 PM
Last Updated:12/9/11 5:29 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Well, I think it looks great. If it feels funny and things aren't hanging right - blame the layout they had you do. I wonder if a size or two smaller on cut on grain would make a difference... lightweight knits can be a little tricky too. Pretty color :-)
12/9/11 6:33 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Cute top! I like the sleeves too.
12/9/11 6:39 PM
jlg said...
I think that this looks great. I hadn't really considered this top but now am putting it in my shopping cart.
12/9/11 6:57 PM
21wale said...
I think it looks really nice. It's unique, but definitely not too much; just a pretty variation on the sweater. The fact that it's cut on the cross grain is really interesting...
12/9/11 7:19 PM
Aroura said...
It looks really great on you, I am sorry the cut of the front feels and hangs odd. You look very comfy and stylish in the pictures!
12/9/11 7:19 PM
SewWil said...
Your top looks great on you in the picture.
12/9/11 9:00 PM
rivergum said...
It looks lovely and the blue really suits you. I can't see any reason why this should be cut on the cross grain, maybe because a 2-way knit would b more stable that way???? I would cut it on the straight grain and take the sides in if it feels too loose. Re gaping, the style is ideal for layering, so let it fall open and wear something underneath. It will make deep V which is very flattering.
12/9/11 10:18 PM
marthamyers said...
I too think it looks cute on you. I think the crossgrain instruction may assume a 4-way stretch. Does your fabric have real 4-way stretch? If not, that may be why it feels a little odd to you. If you try it again, I recommend a 4-way stretch. Sometimes pattern companies refer to 2-way stretch which ALWAYS confuses me. I wish there was a standard way to reference knits that stretch in just the crossgrain versus knits that stretch length-wise and width-wise. With some tops, it can make a huge difference. I wonder how it would look with a cami or other tshirt under it, allowing the wrap to drape more.
12/9/11 10:46 PM
FreyaStark said...
It looks pretty good to me, and the colour is lovely.
12/9/11 10:57 PM
marec said...
Thanks for all the specific feedback. I now think that the cross grain instructions are for the jersey. I have learned quite a bit from this project and your feedback, and now think I'll pull some less loved fabric out and do a bit more with this pattern: 1)use a stable cotton knit and cut it on grain. 2)use a jersey and cut it on the cross grain.
12/10/11 0:03 AM
MaryDB said...
Looks great on you - love the color. I, too, find myself erasing sarcastic comments from the "Did it look like....?" section.
12/10/11 1:12 AM
blue mooney said...
Im surprised you didn't get any compliments on the top - I thought the thumbnail was really attractive! Great comments/advice that you've gotten from experienced knit workers. I hope you do a follow-up review on your next version.
12/10/11 7:40 AM
Margaret said...
Cute top and lovely color! I've had some problems with similar dolman-sleeved patterns being really big on top and small in the hips. I often find cutting the top part (from about waist-level up) a shockingly smaller size than the hip helps -- it also raises the underarm area which is sometimes too low on that kind of style. And maybe they had it cut on the crossgrain to conserve fabric? That's not necessarily bad, but when patterns are cut that way I would check that the knit stretches vertically (not horizontally, as you'd normally do) as much as the stretch guide on the pattern... marthamyers has a great point about the 2-way vs. 4-way stretch. Anyway, I think this looks great on you!
12/10/11 8:53 AM
lamstu said...
I agree with the others that the color is so fresh and looks great on you. (If you have to keep tugging it down, is it riding up because you need more room in the hip? That's what usually makes my top rise up. Maybe you can try with your experiment and see.)
12/11/11 7:31 AM
Carolyn.S said...
You look so cosy and comfy in this top! And I love the colour you have chosen
12/11/11 11:11 AM
catalak said...
I love how your top looks on you. I always think the cross-over/surplice style tops look so nice but everytime I make one for myself I end up fidgeting with it the whole time I have it on. Still haven't found the perfect pattern for this style.
12/12/11 8:26 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I think this is SUPER cute! And as for not receiving any compliments, what are they, blind? :o) I rarely receive compliments on any of my clothes WHEN THEY'RE NEW, probably because I work with a bunch of guys, and they can be a little slow to notice things at times (at least these guys) -- ha! I don't know why this one is cut on the crossgrain. I'm thinking of stretch, and you normally have more stretch on the crossgrain, but they way they're having you cut it, it would be less stretch, right? I really don't know! I certainly wouldn't hesitate to cut it on the straight grain, though. At any rate, I think you look GREAT in it. :o)
12/14/11 10:20 PM
heathergwo said...
Very pretty! Love the color and style which is why I bought this pattern myself. I'm about to make View A as well and wanted to read the reviews first. I don't have much experience, so I won't be altering it... hopefully it will fit! I don't think it's too long and I love the collar. Very helpful review, thanks!!
1/7/12 12:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Simplicity 9779
photo
Review by sunflower2... on 5/13/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 204 Pattern
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Popover Sundress (FREE!)
Popover Sundress (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2565 Women's tops
photo
Review by novicesewi... on 2/27/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1391 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1391 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )
McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us