SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2010-112 (Caftan)

Viewed 374 times 
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo

 
 
About rivergumstarstarstarstar
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews: 149 (patterns: 144)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 78 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/10/11 3:16 PM
Last Updated:12/15/11 4:34 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Home Sewing Depot


Home Dec Sewing Supplies
Deals!

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Annette1 said... (12/17/11 6:48 PM) Reply
Oh, WOW! This is just FABULOUS. :o) DEFINITELY the prettiest "cover-up" I've ever seen. Usually they're more of an afterthought. :o)
carolynw said... (12/11/11 11:12 AM) Reply
Beautiful fabric and this is definitely a WOW cover up - I am with you - prefer it without the belt
lamstu said... (12/11/11 7:25 AM) Reply
Fabulous caftan and the print really makes it pop!
Sassy T said... (12/11/11 5:22 AM) Reply
I absolutely love it. That style needs a bold print very Moroccan. Am like you I prefer it without the belt.
FreyaStark said... (12/11/11 2:26 AM) Reply
Fabulous!
Sarsez said... (12/10/11 8:51 PM) Reply
Glorious use of the print. Very loungy by the pool looking.
rivergum said... (12/10/11 7:24 PM) Reply
Thanks PattyE, this has put me on the right path, I think. The article talks about a lined garment, but the organza interfacing is still the key for an unlined garment as well. I can attach the bias strips and overlap them at the point of the vee, then cut the bottom of the vee where it is supported by the organza to the stitching line. Maybe staystitch first. Hmmm... this should be doable and vee necks, here we come!
Knitters Delight said... (12/10/11 6:40 PM) Reply
That looks great!
sfshaza said... (12/10/11 6:10 PM) Reply
What a beautiful coverup/loungewear garment! I'm sure you feel chic as you slither around wearing that. :D
PattyE said... (12/10/11 5:44 PM) Reply
Very pretty! There is a superb Threads article I received in an email just the other day that deals with facing a V. Here's the link: http://www.threadsmagazine.com/item/21948/creating-a-minifacing?utm_source=email&utm_medium=eletter&utm_term=sewing&utm_content=20111206-mini-facing&utm_campaign=threads-eletter
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Simplicity 5461

photo
by: bakertoo

Review
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Pattern Details
Pamela's Patterns Magic Pencil Skirt Pattern

Pamela's Patterns Magic Pencil Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Jalie 2794

photo
by: Aroura

Review