SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2010-112 (Caftan)

Viewed 366 times 
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo

 
 
About rivergumstarstarstarstar
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews: 139 (patterns: 134)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 66 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/10/11 3:16 PM
Last Updated:12/15/11 4:34 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said... (12/17/11 6:48 PM) Reply
Oh, WOW! This is just FABULOUS. :o) DEFINITELY the prettiest "cover-up" I've ever seen. Usually they're more of an afterthought. :o)
carolynw said... (12/11/11 11:12 AM) Reply
Beautiful fabric and this is definitely a WOW cover up - I am with you - prefer it without the belt
lamstu said... (12/11/11 7:25 AM) Reply
Fabulous caftan and the print really makes it pop!
Sassy T said... (12/11/11 5:22 AM) Reply
I absolutely love it. That style needs a bold print very Moroccan. Am like you I prefer it without the belt.
FreyaStark said... (12/11/11 2:26 AM) Reply
Fabulous!
Sarsez said... (12/10/11 8:51 PM) Reply
Glorious use of the print. Very loungy by the pool looking.
rivergum said... (12/10/11 7:24 PM) Reply
Thanks PattyE, this has put me on the right path, I think. The article talks about a lined garment, but the organza interfacing is still the key for an unlined garment as well. I can attach the bias strips and overlap them at the point of the vee, then cut the bottom of the vee where it is supported by the organza to the stitching line. Maybe staystitch first. Hmmm... this should be doable and vee necks, here we come!
Knitters Delight said... (12/10/11 6:40 PM) Reply
That looks great!
sfshaza said... (12/10/11 6:10 PM) Reply
What a beautiful coverup/loungewear garment! I'm sure you feel chic as you slither around wearing that. :D
PattyE said... (12/10/11 5:44 PM) Reply
Very pretty! There is a superb Threads article I received in an email just the other day that deals with facing a V. Here's the link: http://www.threadsmagazine.com/item/21948/creating-a-minifacing?utm_source=email&utm_medium=eletter&utm_term=sewing&utm_content=20111206-mini-facing&utm_campaign=threads-eletter
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Pattern Details
Christine Haynes Emery

photo
by: rosiewedne...

Review