SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2010-112 (Caftan)

Viewed 356 times 
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo

 
 
About rivergumstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/10/11 3:16 PM
Last Updated:12/15/11 4:34 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PattyE said...
Very pretty! There is a superb Threads article I received in an email just the other day that deals with facing a V. Here's the link: http://www.threadsmagazine.com/item/21948/creating-a-minifacing?utm_source=email&utm_medium=eletter&utm_term=sewing&utm_content=20111206-mini-facing&utm_campaign=threads-eletter
12/10/11 5:44 PM
sfshaza said...
What a beautiful coverup/loungewear garment! I'm sure you feel chic as you slither around wearing that. :D
12/10/11 6:10 PM
Knitters Delight said...
That looks great!
12/10/11 6:40 PM
rivergum said...
Thanks PattyE, this has put me on the right path, I think. The article talks about a lined garment, but the organza interfacing is still the key for an unlined garment as well. I can attach the bias strips and overlap them at the point of the vee, then cut the bottom of the vee where it is supported by the organza to the stitching line. Maybe staystitch first. Hmmm... this should be doable and vee necks, here we come!
12/10/11 7:24 PM
Sarsez said...
Glorious use of the print. Very loungy by the pool looking.
12/10/11 8:51 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous!
12/11/11 2:26 AM
Sassy T said...
I absolutely love it. That style needs a bold print very Moroccan. Am like you I prefer it without the belt.
12/11/11 5:22 AM
lamstu said...
Fabulous caftan and the print really makes it pop!
12/11/11 7:25 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful fabric and this is definitely a WOW cover up - I am with you - prefer it without the belt
12/11/11 11:12 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh, WOW! This is just FABULOUS. :o) DEFINITELY the prettiest "cover-up" I've ever seen. Usually they're more of an afterthought. :o)
12/17/11 6:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Butterick 5415

photo
by: GoodbyeVal...

Review

Pattern

Self Drafted Pattern 244038-1003

photo
by: NhiHuynh

Review
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Buy Now