SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> Smallworks (Kells Wyvern Pattern)

Viewed 335 times 
Reviewed by:Dale C
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Dale Cstarstarstar
HI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 165
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 138
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/13/11 3:07 PM
Last Updated:8/4/14 5:20 AM
Project Photo:Other: Smallworks by Dale C

Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by Dale C

Pattern Rating:Difficult, but great for Advanced Sewers
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
I made a dragon several years ago using a Simplicity Dragon pattern and was very unhappy with the results. The Smallworks pattern is NOT a disappointment...


Pattern Description:
Fabric Dragon Sculpture by Melinda Small.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, and the photo is beautiful.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions for this pattern are very well written with good illustrations and informative tips. If you are a dollmaker, this pattern might not be hard, however, a dollmaker I am NOT. It was challenging, but the tips provided in the pattern were very helpful.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love everything about this pattern. It provided a full list of materials, and very detailed illustrations along with well written, step-by-step instructions. There is even a section about dragon lore.

Fabric Used:
Bali Cotton Batiks, and Quilter's cotton. Acrylic Paints and wire.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I'm going to make many more of these, it's such a rewarding project. If you're interested in doing a really nice dragon, get this pattern. She also has a pattern for a small wyvern (much simpler) and a standing dragon. I bought both of them and am planning on making and selling these little beauties. I've been searching for something like this for a long time...

Conclusion:
This project was challenging and fun to make. If you like detail work and dragons, you'll enjoy this. If you want something quick, this is not for you. I feel like I just hatched a baby! :D

Blog entry has a picture: Click Here

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Huntwoman said...
What a fabulous project! Amazing detail. Beautiful, if you can say that about a dragon.
12/13/11 3:11 PM
treefrog said...
Wow! That is fantastic. So intricate and so beautifully made. How big is it?
12/13/11 3:21 PM
Aroura said...
Amazing!! That is the coolest fabric dragon I've ever seen. My DD says we have to get that pattern. I am patient with smallwork, does it require special materials though?
12/13/11 3:41 PM
sleeping wolf said...
How incredible this is. I love your fabric choices and your work is beautiful.
12/13/11 4:32 PM
Izzie said...
Beautiful job on your dragon. What an amazing pattern!
12/13/11 4:38 PM
marec said...
I love your dragon, and so does my husband. He was enchanted! :-) This looks like a fun project for the winter.
12/13/11 5:23 PM
Dale C said...
Thanks everyone. Treefrog, she measures 15" tall, 20 inches long (mostly tail). And Aroura, I'd say most of the things you need to make it you'll probably have on hand. But I did have to pick up a dollmakers needle and some thick wire. Tube turner is a must for those small parts. Other than that, paints, buttons, fabric, button thread (it says waxed linen, but button thread worked fine), chenille wire and a variety of fabrics. Most crafters have this stuff laying around anyway...
12/13/11 5:57 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous dragon! I love the fabrics you used.
12/13/11 6:50 PM
JeanM said...
Awesome! I think I will have to try one of these...never saw one like this before. Thanks for sharing!
12/13/11 9:44 PM
BeaJay said...
And what a beautiful baby you have hatched. Excellent work.
12/14/11 1:42 AM
JillyBe said...
Oh my, what beautiful work!!!! Everything from fabric choice to technique looks just exquisite. If I were in the market for a dragon, I would definitely want one of yours!
12/14/11 2:28 AM
cindyann said...
That is wonderful, Dale! Wow! I'm so impressed.
12/14/11 8:46 AM
sfshaza said...
Wow, this is exquisite! Very well done.
12/14/11 10:15 AM
ColorMeHome said...
Beautiful!
12/14/11 1:12 PM
waltzqueen said...
Don't you love it when someone makes a reallllly good pattern that doesn't look like a child made it. Your dragon is extraordinary!!
12/14/11 5:26 PM
ClareinStitches said...
Extraordinary and Wonderful! A delight.
12/15/11 8:47 AM
tenjoname said...
Looks fantastic! having tried the simplicity ...thing... I'd love to get my hands on a proper dragon pattern!
8/4/14 5:56 AM
cindyann said...
Wow, Dale! It's wonderful.
8/4/14 9:14 AM
RMJ said...
Wonderful. I have a different Smallworks dragon pattern that I'd almost forgotten about - you've inspired me to get it out.
8/4/14 10:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Other 000000

photo
by: rivergum

Review
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Buy Now
New Look 6071

photo
by: becca a

Review