Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 2001 (Jeans) - Type:Mens - Pants    printable version
Viewed 322 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:galadriel45
photo
About galadriel45starstar
MT USA
Member since: 10/24/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 76
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/14/11 0:45 AM
Last Updated:12/14/11 0:48 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Huntwoman said...
I can't say that I would ever want to make jeans as the rtw are so easy to find. Good to know making them is no improvement, especially for men.
12/14/11 6:16 AM
fourkid said...
I pre-ordered the pattern - and really wanted them to work, but I am not finding anyone that has successfully made them (still hoping there is some magic bullet out there that will identify the issue) But the problems actually begin with the measurments on the envelope. I asked HP about that, but they seemed to think it was correct - but the measurements seem off from the size. For example, for size 34 they list 28 1/2" waist and a 40 1/2" hip. I can't put my finger on it, but something seems off. My son needs a lot of work jeans and is a really hard to find size (very tall and thin), I was hoping to sew him a lot of these - I may still give it a whirl during the jeans contest to see if I can make it work for him - will review it then.
12/14/11 8:04 AM
becca a said...
This is a really frustrating pattern. The crotch curve is way off. I don't think they did enough work developing a pattern that would fit a wide variety of body shapes--just Jeremy. The way the pattern is printed may even be wrong for him. It is a shame that they didn't get their first men's pattern right.
12/14/11 8:16 AM
allycovey said...
I have posted enough about these, but I have made every pair of pants DH wears and I couldn't make these work.
12/14/11 3:11 PM
Ericaeli said...
Thank you for your review. I also pre-ordered this pattern, but I am no longer planning to make it. I have made the Kwik Sew jeans pattern for my husband, and they fit him well, so I will stick with those.
12/14/11 3:59 PM
Chris Kelly said...
I'm working on the pattern right now for my son, so far no problems, I'll post when done.
12/15/11 0:09 AM
GoSewGirl said...
Ugh. How disappointing! I have this pattern too and was so hopeful! I did send a question to HP regarding the size chart and got the response that the waist measurement on the chart refers to a point not where the jeans actually sit - sort of like women's pants, I guess. My husband's waist is the same size at his *natural* waist as it is at the high hip where his jeans sit. There is no difference for him, and I suspect not much of a different for most men. I will try a tissue fit at least, but I'm not expecting too much. I do appreciate your review.
1/3/12 1:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Burda 7798
photo
Review by Mufffet on 8/23/08
Read Review

Simplicity 1613 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1613 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8806 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8806 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4017 OOP
photo
Review by carolynw on 3/15/09
Read Review

Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern
Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us