SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 2001 (Jeans)

2 more reviews
Viewed 338 times 
Reviewed by:galadriel45
photo

 
 
About galadriel45starstar
MT USA
Member since: 10/24/03
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 77
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/14/11 0:45 AM
Last Updated:12/14/11 0:48 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Huntwoman said...
I can't say that I would ever want to make jeans as the rtw are so easy to find. Good to know making them is no improvement, especially for men.
12/14/11 6:16 AM
fourkid said...
I pre-ordered the pattern - and really wanted them to work, but I am not finding anyone that has successfully made them (still hoping there is some magic bullet out there that will identify the issue) But the problems actually begin with the measurments on the envelope. I asked HP about that, but they seemed to think it was correct - but the measurements seem off from the size. For example, for size 34 they list 28 1/2" waist and a 40 1/2" hip. I can't put my finger on it, but something seems off. My son needs a lot of work jeans and is a really hard to find size (very tall and thin), I was hoping to sew him a lot of these - I may still give it a whirl during the jeans contest to see if I can make it work for him - will review it then.
12/14/11 8:04 AM
becca a said...
This is a really frustrating pattern. The crotch curve is way off. I don't think they did enough work developing a pattern that would fit a wide variety of body shapes--just Jeremy. The way the pattern is printed may even be wrong for him. It is a shame that they didn't get their first men's pattern right.
12/14/11 8:16 AM
allycovey said...
I have posted enough about these, but I have made every pair of pants DH wears and I couldn't make these work.
12/14/11 3:11 PM
Ericaeli said...
Thank you for your review. I also pre-ordered this pattern, but I am no longer planning to make it. I have made the Kwik Sew jeans pattern for my husband, and they fit him well, so I will stick with those.
12/14/11 3:59 PM
Chris Kelly said...
I'm working on the pattern right now for my son, so far no problems, I'll post when done.
12/15/11 0:09 AM
GoSewGirl said...
Ugh. How disappointing! I have this pattern too and was so hopeful! I did send a question to HP regarding the size chart and got the response that the waist measurement on the chart refers to a point not where the jeans actually sit - sort of like women's pants, I guess. My husband's waist is the same size at his *natural* waist as it is at the high hip where his jeans sit. There is no difference for him, and I suspect not much of a different for most men. I will try a tissue fit at least, but I'm not expecting too much. I do appreciate your review.
1/3/12 1:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Jean Hardy 875

photo
by: SewRuth

Review
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now