Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5481 - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 612 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/14/11 2:39 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Great shirt. I love the colour and your necklace too. Thanks for the helpful and funny review. I always enjoy a good laugh. I hope you survive Christmas and aren't roasted like the dinner. :)
12/14/11 3:46 AM
Andreahg said...
The color is gorgeous! Great shirt!
12/14/11 7:57 AM
Silknmore said...
Beautiful shirt and a great fit. Striking color too. (from another Annette - there aren't many of us)
12/14/11 8:42 AM
RLL said...
I love this top. The color and fit..everything! I have the pattern(unused) but considered it for something very casual around the house. Yours looks so nice and classy and the necklace is a beautiful touch.
12/14/11 9:24 AM
Christas said...
This top looks WONDERFUL on you! The color and style are so perfect! I hope you make several in different colors. Great review ...... as always! And..... you DON'T have fat arms! I'm hoping your daddy isn't quite as attentive to the thermostat this Christmas!
12/14/11 9:31 AM
sfshaza said...
LOLOL. You had me cracking up with the description of your parent's house in winter! This top is fabulous!!!! It is much much cuter than the pattern envelope - I would never have guessed it was the same pattern. That green is wonderful on you! And that necklace... to die for! I hope the linen keeps you comfortable for the holidays!! :D
12/14/11 9:51 AM
marec said...
Hi Annette...you have been on my mind, and here you are! Great tunic/top and in a festive color. It is very flattering-I appreciate all the info you gave on alterations. I hope you stay cool and collected through your visit. That is a wonderful necklace BTW!
12/14/11 10:07 AM
marthamyers said...
Wow - that is gorgeous on you! I do love kelly green and it's hard to find. Thanks for the detailed review. It's a great look.
12/14/11 10:19 AM
frame said...
Comfy looking shirt and great color. It looks very nice on you.
12/14/11 11:44 AM
Karendee said...
Always a treat to read one of your reviews; I learn so much from you! The green linen is a perfect choice for you and your blouse TDF. Love the buttons, arm tabs and pleat in the front. Thanks for all the fitting details. Also hope you don't melt in the beloved parents' house over the holidays.
12/14/11 11:46 AM
Riesie said...
Great color, great fit, TERRIFIC necklace.
12/14/11 11:50 AM
MNBarb said...
You took a dowdy pattern and made it into this fantastic, beautiful green top! Thanks for linking the linen, I might need some of this. Thanks for taking time to entertain in your reviews. You made my lunch break fun.
12/14/11 12:35 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Ooh pretty. Green is a great color for you and the blouse is beautiful.
12/14/11 12:59 PM
rivergum said...
Lovely, lovely top! The colour looks gorgeous on you. I am always surprised at the size you wear when reading your reviews, as you look so much slimmer! You must have a good eye for a flattering style. Any tips you can pass on?
12/14/11 1:52 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful shirt and it looks wonderful on you. Great color!Love the necklace. Good luck with your battle with the thermostat.
12/14/11 2:01 PM
BexInMD said...
This color is fabulous on you, and the necklace is a perfect complement to it. Your parents' house sounds like my mother's --- I have to leave home wearing several layers so I can strip down for her tropical temperature. Enjoy your holiday visit!
12/14/11 2:08 PM
allycovey said...
great job and love the necklace as well.
12/14/11 3:03 PM
Heatherrique said...
Hi Annette, it's wonderful to see you sewing again! You look mega-gorgeous in this stunning color and style! Thank you for another enjoyable and informative review. :-)
12/14/11 9:24 PM
Lanna said...
So pretty. It looks much prettier on you than on that pattern envelope. Keep up the good work !
12/14/11 11:22 PM
FreyaStark said...
A very nice top in a fabulous colour. It looks great.
12/15/11 3:31 AM
Clareew said...
Brilliant review. Great fun, I will think of you over Christmas as austerity measures hit our heating. You have a great eye to spot the potential of the pattern (given the model photos)
12/15/11 3:38 AM
tess said...
Really great review as always! I think this top looks great on you and I love the jewellery! Love the description of your Mum and dad too!
12/15/11 5:16 AM
Margaret said...
Great details and fit, and the color looks wonderful on you! Love the necklace too!
12/15/11 6:26 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Gorgeous top-can't believe it came from that pattern. The sewing companies need to hire you as a consultant for dressing the cover models.
12/15/11 8:03 AM
Barbara V said...
What a clever way to wear a cheery holiday top AND survive with the thermostat turned up! Great top, great color and great fit. Oh, and great jewelry.
12/15/11 11:41 PM
Renren said...
Well, you, my friend, are ready to deck the halls, falalala, and all that other good stuff! Beautiful top and you have made the perfect backdrop for that gorgeous necklace. (At your parents' house, go barefoot or wear flipflops or sandals. If you can get the feet cool/cold, it helps you feel cooler overall. It's a trick I learned for sleeping in sleeping bags and why you need double zippered bags.) Good luck staying cool--you will definitely look like a cool million in this fab kelly green designer linen top!
12/16/11 11:06 AM
Catbird said...
This is hilarious, as always! I love the top, the vibrant color and that NECKLACE! Wow. The style is such a perfect backdrop for unusual jewelry like that -- it really couldn't be any more perfect. You look great!!
12/17/11 10:50 AM
CallMeSu said...
Cute :)
12/24/11 0:19 AM
1SewSweet said...
I agree with Catbird, your top is beautiful with that gorgeous necklace! You and Christas must have the same "sewing fairy godmother"! That fusible interfacing sounds like something I must try, unfortunately it appears they may not have that exact name of interfacing on the website. Unless I'm just blind!
2/15/12 5:33 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Creations by Michie 132
photo
Review by TheProfess... on 1/16/12
Read Review

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2965
photo
Review by wreninrome on 6/27/09
Read Review

Purse-Nickities
Purse-Nickities

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6944 Pattern( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6944 Pattern( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8790 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8790 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us