SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2315 (Toddlers' Pajamas)

9 more reviews
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest
Viewed 139 times 
Reviewed by:Judy Kski
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Judy Kskistarstar
United States
Member since: 10/26/08
Reviews: 79 (patterns: 76)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/14/11 4:22 PM
Last Updated:1/6/15 12:20 PM
Project Photo:photo3

Kwik Sew: 2315 by Judy Kski  Kwik Sew: 2315 by Judy Kski  
Pattern Photo:Kwik Sew 2315
Kwik Sew Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Toddlers    
Fabric:Interlock Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Toddler's pajamas have crew neckline with ribbing neckband, pull-on pants with elastic waist and no side seams. View A has long sleeves with ribbing cuffs and long pants with ribbing leg cuffs. View B is color blocked, has long sleeves with ribbing cuffs, curved bottom edge with ruffle and long pants with ribbing leg cuffs. View C has short sleeves, short legs and curved bottom edge with ruffle. Bottom edges of sleeves, legs and ruffle are finished with lace.

Pattern Sizing: Sizes T1-T2-T3-T4; I made a Size T3.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Kwik Sew (KS) has great instructions when it comes to working with knits. I wish the Big 4 would adopt their construction order, written directions and photos. Just one small example: Why would you sew a sleeve in the round when you can sew it in the flat?

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

LIKES
The pattern had standard directions written the same as most KS patterns. I found myself not even referring to them at all. I'm actually starting to believe in this phenomenon of not looking at the directions.

DISLIKES
None

Fabric Used: Cotton Interlock purchased from a seller in the SEWITSFORSALE Yahoo group. The 100% cotton ribbing was purchased from Jo-Ann's back in 2001 when they still carried good quality ribbing. I'm not a big fan of the ribbing they carry now.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: None. I sewed up the pattern as-is for my hairdresser's son.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I know I will be using this pattern again. Although this is an OOP KS pattern, I would recommend anyone interested in buying a copy check the usual online websites.

Conclusion: This pattern is a good one to use to learn to sew with knits. Ribbing application is very common in T-shirts and there is ample opportunity to learn how when making these pajamas.

Simple and cute pattern for a little boy or girl. Winter pajamas could be converted into summer pajamas by shortening the arms and legs when warm weather rolls around. Use View C pattern pieces for proper length when doing this.



<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pj3g said... (1/7/15 12:37 PM) Reply
Wonderful little gift! Very cute!
Dee2 said... (1/6/15 7:56 PM) Reply
What a wonderful gift! These are really sweet.
CallMeSu said... (12/24/11 0:24 AM) Reply
Very cute!
Margaret said... (12/19/11 5:56 AM) Reply
These are so cute! What a nice gift!
Aroura said... (12/18/11 3:53 PM) Reply
So very cute!! I can't believe how nice a gift you are making for your hairdresser's son! I'm very impressed. Thanks for this review, I've never seen this OOP pattern before. These are my DD's favorite style of PJ's, so now I will keep my eyes open for this pattern.
renren said... (12/16/11 0:30 AM) Reply
Very professionally done! This will make the toddler happy.
cleverkitty said... (12/15/11 2:30 PM) Reply
love these cute PJ's
JodieT said... (12/15/11 0:53 AM) Reply
That is the sweetest thing for a hair dresser gift. I might do this for mine. Thanks for the idea. You did a beautiful job.
Terri A said... (12/14/11 7:29 PM) Reply
What a nice thing to make for your hairdresser's son! Very cute and such high quality. It's great she expressed appreciation too! Nice job.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Simplicity 7161

photo
by: Judy Kski

Review
Young Image Magazine SS-2013-Y1304

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Pattern Details
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Pattern Details