SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2009-132 (132 Men's Shirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 325 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
CT USA
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 195
Favored by: 89 people
patterns reviewed: 185
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/25/11 9:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elemenopeo said...
Great shirt. Thanks for all the helpful details. I've decided to make 2012 the year of sewing for my DH and have this pattern and he likes your version.
12/25/11 10:39 PM
Sharonspils said...
Thank you that is a great shirt and have been looking for a European cut shirt pattern for DH just hope I've got that issue.
12/26/11 0:23 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Great job! As a shirt-maker by profession, I watch Designer RTW trends closely. Almost all of the top names in menswear have shirts with back darts these days, and for the past few seasons...many also now use darts that begin at the armscye on menswear shirts! On the back darts, high-priced designers top stitch them to make them appear as a deliberate design element and for strength...as well as for a fitted silhouette. (please forgive any typos, I am up in the middle of the night, foggy on cold medication ;)
12/26/11 1:22 AM
Rebecca Szetela said...
Great looking shirt! Perfect timing for your review. My husband is working on a similar shirt over the holidays using an islander pattern, but he recently lost 40 lbs. (intentionally...he's a big guy, but now a trim big guy and very happy about it) so sizing and fit are bigger issues now. thanks for this very detailed sewing review with so many details and links. Your final product is excellent and your review much appreciated!
12/26/11 6:57 AM
JEF said...
Absolutely wonderful looking.
12/26/11 8:57 AM
Brine said...
Great shirt and review. Thanks especially for the link for a dartless FBA
12/26/11 1:23 PM
Erin D said...
What a great looking shirt! The fit is really flattering. Some day I want to be brave enough to tackle a project like this for my DH.
12/26/11 2:22 PM
Anne Cherry said...
Beautifully done! My DH would also appreciate the ease of arm movement...am going to hunt down this issue! And check out Threads Archive for that article. Thanks for the detailed review!
12/26/11 7:20 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great shirt and very helpful review, thanks.
12/30/11 5:09 PM
crisford said...
That looks great! I am impressed with your details in altering the pattern. Sounds like you didn't even do a muslin. Very interesting about the higher-cut armscye.
1/3/12 12:11 PM
CallMeSu said...
great looking shirt!
1/9/12 0:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Butterick 5490

photo
by: sewdc

Review
brerrabbit.com Sew Fearless Pajama Eater

photo
by: khurtdvm

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Buy Now