SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6444 (Misses' Unlined Jackets and Vest)

2 more reviews
Viewed 435 times 
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marecstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 75 people
patterns reviewed: 156
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/19/11 7:25 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CallMeSu said...
Adroable!
12/23/11 11:29 PM
fourkid said...
You did a fabulous job. Thanks for this great review! I t looks very nice on you - so you can wear lots of fabric :)
12/21/11 9:00 AM
treefrog said...
Looks great on you. Had a good chuckle with the "runny cotton' comment.
12/20/11 4:53 PM
marthamyers said...
Fun and useful review. Thanks. The hood is fab. I can certainly understand your frustration with such weak instructions.
12/20/11 2:31 PM
Margaret said...
I find, too, that the finishing is the main downfall of many Big4 patterns. Your version looks great! It sure doesn't sound like it was your favorite fabric, but it looks like it's soft enough to really work well with all the volume.
12/20/11 9:43 AM
annie11 said...
I really like it! I think it looks super chic on you. I do know the feeling of too much fabric though, and understand that it may not be practical for your lifestyle. Thanks for the entertaining review!
12/20/11 9:36 AM
betty bushwacker said...
I dunno Marec, it looks really nice to me. I'd love to read the dog's mind though, the look on his face sent me into giggles
12/20/11 9:17 AM
cleverclogs said...
Many thanks for the great photo! I was thinking about making this but now know (from your beautiful pics) that while it looks good on you, I'd drown in this amount of fabric. Marec and PR saved me from another tragic mistake!
12/20/11 6:58 AM
jannw said...
It looks very good on you! I hope you enjoy it more..it's a classy look. btw that's not "dirt", it's a "basic neutral"! lol
12/20/11 1:27 AM
ArtAttack said...
LOL@Marec! I used to be a dental assistant many years ago so I got a laugh out of this review. I think it's adorable on you. Too bad it became a pain while hemming. It looks very chic on you!
12/19/11 11:59 PM
PattyE said...
I think you did a great job. I have this pattern and I appreciate your review. It will influence my choice of fabric for this piece.
12/19/11 11:38 PM
21wale said...
I think these kinds of open vests are just difficult to finish in general (I left all the outside edges raw on the version I just made). But I really like your end result. And actually, the color seems nice to me - a good neutral for interesting colors underneath. The hood is great, too.
12/19/11 9:16 PM
Aroura said...
Very stylish vest on you, and I love the hood! Great job with your seam finishes. Oh, and I like your new avatar. :)
12/19/11 9:13 PM
LauraM62 said...
It looks really nice! I appreciate the review as I've been looking at making items like this for this winter. Those kind of instructions always leave me a little frustrated.
12/19/11 8:32 PM
Kim12469 said...
I really like it!!!
12/19/11 8:30 PM
Barbara V said...
Great looking vest and great looking on you! Please do not use it for a dental shield! It's way to classy for that! This is the first time I've noticed this cool pattern and have the same "loves" for it as you do. Smart improvements on the seams and corners.
12/19/11 8:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Simplicity 2245

photo
by: thi3

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2012-108

photo
by: Kbenco

Review
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

More Info
Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

More Info