Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6444 (Misses' Unlined Jackets and Vest) - Type:Vests    printable version
Viewed 424 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR
About marecstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 65 people
patterns reviewed: 136
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/19/11 7:25 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara V said...
Great looking vest and great looking on you! Please do not use it for a dental shield! It's way to classy for that! This is the first time I've noticed this cool pattern and have the same "loves" for it as you do. Smart improvements on the seams and corners.
12/19/11 8:20 PM
Kim12469 said...
I really like it!!!
12/19/11 8:30 PM
LauraM62 said...
It looks really nice! I appreciate the review as I've been looking at making items like this for this winter. Those kind of instructions always leave me a little frustrated.
12/19/11 8:32 PM
Aroura said...
Very stylish vest on you, and I love the hood! Great job with your seam finishes. Oh, and I like your new avatar. :)
12/19/11 9:13 PM
21wale said...
I think these kinds of open vests are just difficult to finish in general (I left all the outside edges raw on the version I just made). But I really like your end result. And actually, the color seems nice to me - a good neutral for interesting colors underneath. The hood is great, too.
12/19/11 9:16 PM
PattyE said...
I think you did a great job. I have this pattern and I appreciate your review. It will influence my choice of fabric for this piece.
12/19/11 11:38 PM
ArtAttack said...
LOL@Marec! I used to be a dental assistant many years ago so I got a laugh out of this review. I think it's adorable on you. Too bad it became a pain while hemming. It looks very chic on you!
12/19/11 11:59 PM
jannw said...
It looks very good on you! I hope you enjoy it more..it's a classy look. btw that's not "dirt", it's a "basic neutral"! lol
12/20/11 1:27 AM
cleverclogs said...
Many thanks for the great photo! I was thinking about making this but now know (from your beautiful pics) that while it looks good on you, I'd drown in this amount of fabric. Marec and PR saved me from another tragic mistake!
12/20/11 6:58 AM
betty bushwacker said...
I dunno Marec, it looks really nice to me. I'd love to read the dog's mind though, the look on his face sent me into giggles
12/20/11 9:17 AM
annie11 said...
I really like it! I think it looks super chic on you. I do know the feeling of too much fabric though, and understand that it may not be practical for your lifestyle. Thanks for the entertaining review!
12/20/11 9:36 AM
Margaret said...
I find, too, that the finishing is the main downfall of many Big4 patterns. Your version looks great! It sure doesn't sound like it was your favorite fabric, but it looks like it's soft enough to really work well with all the volume.
12/20/11 9:43 AM
marthamyers said...
Fun and useful review. Thanks. The hood is fab. I can certainly understand your frustration with such weak instructions.
12/20/11 2:31 PM
treefrog said...
Looks great on you. Had a good chuckle with the "runny cotton' comment.
12/20/11 4:53 PM
fourkid said...
You did a fabulous job. Thanks for this great review! I t looks very nice on you - so you can wear lots of fabric :)
12/21/11 9:00 AM
CallMeSu said...
Adroable!
12/23/11 11:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Other Oop M2241
photo
Review by velosewer on 1/29/11
Read Review

Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3688 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 3688 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5464 Misses' Blouse
photo
Review by RadarRadia... on 6/19/10
Read Review

Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern ( XL-3XL)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern ( XL-3XL)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us