Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5896 - Type:Plus    printable version
Viewed 270 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:BeaJay
photo
Friend of PR
About BeaJaystar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/28/11
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/23/11 2:13 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Pants    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mssewcrazy said...
That was a creative way to save it for at home wear with the corner darts. I have had some success with rtw by opening both shoulder seams and taking out half the sleeve to take up in the neck. The extra in the sleeve especially in knits can be eased back in fairly easy. I have had wadders with the necks too big and realized later I could have saved them if I had done a little surgery in the neck area which was the only problem area.
12/23/11 7:49 AM
LauraM62 said...
Good save on the top! Yep I always go by high bust measurements, the compare the full bust; I also look at the finished garment measurements to see if maybe they worked in extra ease, causing me to look at sewing it a smaller size! You have made me look at this pattern as a possible for the pattern stash! Thanks!
12/23/11 9:09 AM
EMSB said...
I'm not sure what size they go up to, but the Palmer Pletsch patterns from McCalls have some great fit tips, including how to tissue fit and adjust the tissue for an FBA. It might help in your quest to learn fitting techniques. Welcome to the sewing world! You sound well on your way to some wonderful garments. Enjoy the process, it really is most of the fun. The pretty clothes are icing on the cake!
12/23/11 9:45 AM
prttynpnk said...
Goregous fabric and major points for problem resolution- I think it's very pretty! Keep sewing!
12/23/11 2:40 PM
BeaJay said...
Thanks for the tips, hints and kind words. I have some palmer pletch patterns in my ever growing stash so I shall look into it. Sounds like a good idea to take out the sleeve and cut out the shoulder. I didn't think of that. Thanks
12/23/11 4:03 PM
sew2006 said...
Great save on the neckline. I often find these patterns have a much larger neckline than I would like and also ended up with a few BIG neckline suprises. An easy test take the facing, cut it full size on paper and hold it up to your neckline prior to cutting. For tops that don't have collars you can cut a much smaller neckline scoop, even size 10 just remember to do the same for front, back adn facings. Blend up to the shoulder size you need.
12/24/11 10:05 AM
BeaJay said...
Thanks that tip sew2006. This is a great way to learn.
12/24/11 3:19 PM
ukmuminusa said...
Love the fabric you used, don't you just hate gravity.
1/16/12 1:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2004-136 Tops, Trousers
photo
Review by Debbie Coo... on 11/22/04
Read Review

Belle Bow Blouse
Belle Bow Blouse

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)
Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6557 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by Nancywin on 3/22/07
Read Review

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5556 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5556 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1108 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )
Vogue 1108 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us