SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5896 

2 more reviews
Viewed 297 times 
Reviewed by:BeaJay
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About BeaJaystar
NSW Australia
Member since: 10/28/11
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/23/11 2:13 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Pants    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
NevadaGrace said...
Try a softer cotton, like cotton lawn. Using a quilting cotton makes draping difficult to impossible. You will find sewing easier if you use different fabrics. Great fit. You are very talented.
7/6/14 2:35 PM
ukmuminusa said...
Love the fabric you used, don't you just hate gravity.
1/16/12 1:00 AM
BeaJay said...
Thanks that tip sew2006. This is a great way to learn.
12/24/11 3:19 PM
sew2006 said...
Great save on the neckline. I often find these patterns have a much larger neckline than I would like and also ended up with a few BIG neckline suprises. An easy test take the facing, cut it full size on paper and hold it up to your neckline prior to cutting. For tops that don't have collars you can cut a much smaller neckline scoop, even size 10 just remember to do the same for front, back adn facings. Blend up to the shoulder size you need.
12/24/11 10:05 AM
BeaJay said...
Thanks for the tips, hints and kind words. I have some palmer pletch patterns in my ever growing stash so I shall look into it. Sounds like a good idea to take out the sleeve and cut out the shoulder. I didn't think of that. Thanks
12/23/11 4:03 PM
prttynpnk said...
Goregous fabric and major points for problem resolution- I think it's very pretty! Keep sewing!
12/23/11 2:40 PM
EMSB said...
I'm not sure what size they go up to, but the Palmer Pletsch patterns from McCalls have some great fit tips, including how to tissue fit and adjust the tissue for an FBA. It might help in your quest to learn fitting techniques. Welcome to the sewing world! You sound well on your way to some wonderful garments. Enjoy the process, it really is most of the fun. The pretty clothes are icing on the cake!
12/23/11 9:45 AM
LauraM62 said...
Good save on the top! Yep I always go by high bust measurements, the compare the full bust; I also look at the finished garment measurements to see if maybe they worked in extra ease, causing me to look at sewing it a smaller size! You have made me look at this pattern as a possible for the pattern stash! Thanks!
12/23/11 9:09 AM
mssewcrazy said...
That was a creative way to save it for at home wear with the corner darts. I have had some success with rtw by opening both shoulder seams and taking out half the sleeve to take up in the neck. The extra in the sleeve especially in knits can be eased back in fairly easy. I have had wadders with the necks too big and realized later I could have saved them if I had done a little surgery in the neck area which was the only problem area.
12/23/11 7:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 1228

photo
by: atymonw

Review
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Buy Now