SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5896 

2 more reviews
Viewed 293 times 
Reviewed by:BeaJay
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About BeaJaystar
NSW Australia
Member since: 10/28/11
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/23/11 2:13 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Pants    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mssewcrazy said...
That was a creative way to save it for at home wear with the corner darts. I have had some success with rtw by opening both shoulder seams and taking out half the sleeve to take up in the neck. The extra in the sleeve especially in knits can be eased back in fairly easy. I have had wadders with the necks too big and realized later I could have saved them if I had done a little surgery in the neck area which was the only problem area.
12/23/11 7:49 AM
LauraM62 said...
Good save on the top! Yep I always go by high bust measurements, the compare the full bust; I also look at the finished garment measurements to see if maybe they worked in extra ease, causing me to look at sewing it a smaller size! You have made me look at this pattern as a possible for the pattern stash! Thanks!
12/23/11 9:09 AM
EMSB said...
I'm not sure what size they go up to, but the Palmer Pletsch patterns from McCalls have some great fit tips, including how to tissue fit and adjust the tissue for an FBA. It might help in your quest to learn fitting techniques. Welcome to the sewing world! You sound well on your way to some wonderful garments. Enjoy the process, it really is most of the fun. The pretty clothes are icing on the cake!
12/23/11 9:45 AM
prttynpnk said...
Goregous fabric and major points for problem resolution- I think it's very pretty! Keep sewing!
12/23/11 2:40 PM
BeaJay said...
Thanks for the tips, hints and kind words. I have some palmer pletch patterns in my ever growing stash so I shall look into it. Sounds like a good idea to take out the sleeve and cut out the shoulder. I didn't think of that. Thanks
12/23/11 4:03 PM
sew2006 said...
Great save on the neckline. I often find these patterns have a much larger neckline than I would like and also ended up with a few BIG neckline suprises. An easy test take the facing, cut it full size on paper and hold it up to your neckline prior to cutting. For tops that don't have collars you can cut a much smaller neckline scoop, even size 10 just remember to do the same for front, back adn facings. Blend up to the shoulder size you need.
12/24/11 10:05 AM
BeaJay said...
Thanks that tip sew2006. This is a great way to learn.
12/24/11 3:19 PM
ukmuminusa said...
Love the fabric you used, don't you just hate gravity.
1/16/12 1:00 AM
Cynthia Peacock said...
Try a softer cotton, like cotton lawn. Using a quilting cotton makes draping difficult to impossible. You will find sewing easier if you use different fabrics. Great fit. You are very talented.
7/6/14 2:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Vogue Patterns 2463

photo
by: nanneke

Review
Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-9

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Katy Bags

Katy Bags

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Buy Now