SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 3400 (Yoga pant)

5 more reviews
Viewed 693 times 
Reviewed by:NhiHuynh
photo

 
 
About NhiHuynhstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/4/11
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 88
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/6/12 3:00 AM


Review Rating: by 1 people    Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
You have done such a nice job on these yoga pants. Your addition of topstitching is primo!
2/28/13 9:53 PM
Gilberta said...
I can't wait to get this pattern and make these adorable pants--thanks so much for your review~
8/31/12 8:53 PM
NhiHuynh said...
sewtofit I did get the black elastic from Silhouette Patterns. The white I bought online.
5/28/12 3:18 AM
sewtofit said...
NhiHuynh did you use the elastic from silhouette patterns.?
5/27/12 9:47 PM
NhiHuynh said...
I think the ponte Roma is just ok. They pill too quickly. Like you I wear them a lot and they don't look that great anymore.
4/16/12 4:23 AM
Cultured Purl said...
Just wanted to add that I , too, like the JA jegging knit which I really just stumbled on b/c I went to get the Ponte Roma as required for the very first yoga pant , ( just as a base to go on from there) Wish I had purchased that bolt at 50% off! Normally I buy most fabrics on line, do not care for JA quality ( tho for yoga pants I think ok but that is pretty much it) I tend to think if I am sewing , I really want to invest in high quality fabrics so I really do not shop at JA a lot, I order on line, ~ It just happened that Peggy recommended a certain Ponte Roma from JA to start with so I was there, ,,,and yes that jegging fabric from PRunway was really great for the yoga pant , hope I can get more b/c I tend to wear them a lot b/c I do walk a LOT during breaks in the day and I do use them for my work outs also~
4/15/12 10:47 AM
Cultured Purl said...
sorry double post
4/15/12 10:47 AM
NhiHuynh said...
dschim, I bought the fabric from Silhouette patterns. Baron's fabric in Woodland Hills had the exact same fabric. They have a lot of the same fabric as Peggy so they must shop from the same NY supplier. Surprisingly I really like the jegging fabric from JoAnn's under the April Johnston for Project Runway line. http://www.joann.com/search/_jegging/ It has held up really well. No color fade, no bagging out.
4/13/12 2:39 AM
dschim said...
NhiHuynh, what fabric is the khaki knit and where did you purchase it? What is your favorite resource for jegging fabric?
4/11/12 11:37 PM
Cultured Purl said...
I have just started to make these, ( in many diff ways~) this is probably THE most comfortable and versatile pant pattern I have ever owned, the DVD gave me some good ideas for mix/matching w/ diff tops and I am now going to try the 3 part waistband w/ elastic only in the back, looks SO comfy~ I think this will be made many times over this season , even for woven evening pants, she explained how to do that all, this one is a winner~ Will move on to other pants for fall sewing but this is just too darn easy to make up in so many diff ways for now~ love the khalis especially~ ( and I purchased 12 yds of jegging deim, should have purchased the whole bolt w/ 50% off coupon to split w/ friends~ Once again,a big thank you for the review~ I will post picts /review when I learn how to work the new camera!
4/3/12 1:47 AM
NhiHuynh said...
I think one of Peggy's webcast has her putting a horizontal zipper at the waistband seam for a cell phone pocket. Can't remember which one it was.
3/28/12 2:02 AM
Cultured Purl said...
Thank you ever so kindly for the information those split legged pants are SO cute, recently I saw a pattern for one that had a front seam w/ a small zipper in the front botton seam( 4 in or so?) I wonder if I could re create that look?? It is worth a try, they are SO SO cute , all your slacks,very good job and thank you again for your helpfulness,,,,,good sewing to you~
3/26/12 1:46 PM
NhiHuynh said...
Cultured purl, it's not in the video. I cut the pattern down the front and back. Eye balled it to be in the center. Added 3/8" seam allowance. Sewed it right sides together, pressed sa to the outside and top stitched. Narrow topstitch because you want both stitch lines to be on the sa. I need to make a pair with the cute shirring up the side leg.
3/26/12 12:21 PM
Cultured Purl said...
I just purchased this pattern and the DVD and was wanting to make some comfy pants quickly, I do have many other patterns but this one seems to keep popping up everywhere! I LOVE what you did to yours, all the variety , One could sew a pair of pants every day for a week and have them look differently! I love love love the khaki 's, did you simply split the leg and just top stitch in CF and CB adding in seam allowance?? Is this in the DVD maybe? (I am waiting for the DVD but have the pattern,) TIA, love what you are doing!
3/25/12 8:52 PM
NhiHuynh said...
I'll work on getting some pics. In the meantime if you haven't watched Peggy's webcast on the yoga pant? http://silhouettepatterns.com/html/media/livestreamchannel/index_replays.htm She shows some variations there too.
1/16/12 1:27 AM
Diane333 said...
Also would love to see the various pants made.
1/7/12 2:42 AM
Nancywin said...
Do you have any pictures? Would love to see. I have this pattern, but have not tried it yet.
1/7/12 0:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Simplicity 7623

photo
by: twotoast

Review
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now