Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Silhouette Patterns: 3400 (Yoga pant) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 622 times 5 more reviews
Review rated by 1 people    Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:NhiHuynh
photo
About NhiHuynhstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/4/11
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/6/12 3:00 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
Do you have any pictures? Would love to see. I have this pattern, but have not tried it yet.
1/7/12 0:55 AM
Diane333 said...
Also would love to see the various pants made.
1/7/12 2:42 AM
NhiHuynh said...
I'll work on getting some pics. In the meantime if you haven't watched Peggy's webcast on the yoga pant? http://silhouettepatterns.com/html/media/livestreamchannel/index_replays.htm She shows some variations there too.
1/16/12 1:27 AM
Cultured Purl said...
I just purchased this pattern and the DVD and was wanting to make some comfy pants quickly, I do have many other patterns but this one seems to keep popping up everywhere! I LOVE what you did to yours, all the variety , One could sew a pair of pants every day for a week and have them look differently! I love love love the khaki 's, did you simply split the leg and just top stitch in CF and CB adding in seam allowance?? Is this in the DVD maybe? (I am waiting for the DVD but have the pattern,) TIA, love what you are doing!
3/25/12 8:52 PM
NhiHuynh said...
Cultured purl, it's not in the video. I cut the pattern down the front and back. Eye balled it to be in the center. Added 3/8" seam allowance. Sewed it right sides together, pressed sa to the outside and top stitched. Narrow topstitch because you want both stitch lines to be on the sa. I need to make a pair with the cute shirring up the side leg.
3/26/12 12:21 PM
Cultured Purl said...
Thank you ever so kindly for the information those split legged pants are SO cute, recently I saw a pattern for one that had a front seam w/ a small zipper in the front botton seam( 4 in or so?) I wonder if I could re create that look?? It is worth a try, they are SO SO cute , all your slacks,very good job and thank you again for your helpfulness,,,,,good sewing to you~
3/26/12 1:46 PM
NhiHuynh said...
I think one of Peggy's webcast has her putting a horizontal zipper at the waistband seam for a cell phone pocket. Can't remember which one it was.
3/28/12 2:02 AM
Cultured Purl said...
I have just started to make these, ( in many diff ways~) this is probably THE most comfortable and versatile pant pattern I have ever owned, the DVD gave me some good ideas for mix/matching w/ diff tops and I am now going to try the 3 part waistband w/ elastic only in the back, looks SO comfy~ I think this will be made many times over this season , even for woven evening pants, she explained how to do that all, this one is a winner~ Will move on to other pants for fall sewing but this is just too darn easy to make up in so many diff ways for now~ love the khalis especially~ ( and I purchased 12 yds of jegging deim, should have purchased the whole bolt w/ 50% off coupon to split w/ friends~ Once again,a big thank you for the review~ I will post picts /review when I learn how to work the new camera!
4/3/12 1:47 AM
dschim said...
NhiHuynh, what fabric is the khaki knit and where did you purchase it? What is your favorite resource for jegging fabric?
4/11/12 11:37 PM
NhiHuynh said...
dschim, I bought the fabric from Silhouette patterns. Baron's fabric in Woodland Hills had the exact same fabric. They have a lot of the same fabric as Peggy so they must shop from the same NY supplier. Surprisingly I really like the jegging fabric from JoAnn's under the April Johnston for Project Runway line. http://www.joann.com/search/_jegging/ It has held up really well. No color fade, no bagging out.
4/13/12 2:39 AM
Cultured Purl said...
sorry double post
4/15/12 10:47 AM
Cultured Purl said...
Just wanted to add that I , too, like the JA jegging knit which I really just stumbled on b/c I went to get the Ponte Roma as required for the very first yoga pant , ( just as a base to go on from there) Wish I had purchased that bolt at 50% off! Normally I buy most fabrics on line, do not care for JA quality ( tho for yoga pants I think ok but that is pretty much it) I tend to think if I am sewing , I really want to invest in high quality fabrics so I really do not shop at JA a lot, I order on line, ~ It just happened that Peggy recommended a certain Ponte Roma from JA to start with so I was there, ,,,and yes that jegging fabric from PRunway was really great for the yoga pant , hope I can get more b/c I tend to wear them a lot b/c I do walk a LOT during breaks in the day and I do use them for my work outs also~
4/15/12 10:47 AM
NhiHuynh said...
I think the ponte Roma is just ok. They pill too quickly. Like you I wear them a lot and they don't look that great anymore.
4/16/12 4:23 AM
sewtofit said...
NhiHuynh did you use the elastic from silhouette patterns.?
5/27/12 9:47 PM
NhiHuynh said...
sewtofit I did get the black elastic from Silhouette Patterns. The white I bought online.
5/28/12 3:18 AM
Gilberta said...
I can't wait to get this pattern and make these adorable pants--thanks so much for your review~
8/31/12 8:53 PM
MNBarb said...
You have done such a nice job on these yoga pants. Your addition of topstitching is primo!
2/28/13 9:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

No Pattern Used none body pillow
photo
Review by maria 6705 on 1/31/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Ruffled Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Ruffled Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 3830
photo
Review by Happy go l... on 6/26/07
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5911 Pattern ( Size ONE-SIZE )
Butterick 5911 Pattern ( Size ONE-SIZE )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5895 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 5895 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us