Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 455 times 158 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:JDpenelope
photo
Friend of PR
About JDpenelopestarstar
KS USA
Member since: 9/9/03
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:1/8/12 1:26 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cleverkitty said...
I made these several times, low rise, regular, three different sizes and as long shorts too, I love this pattern. I too needed to find the perfect fit maybe the wine is the secret. I do keep improving them. Your pair looks real nice even as a muslin and I commend you for all your reading up on making jeans with the jeans sew along, I tend to read after the fact.. Using two threads threaded the same path into the same needle works real good for me getting a thicker thread look. Good Luck on the jean contest...
1/8/12 2:43 PM
katlew03 said...
I agree with cleverkitty about using two threads instead of topstitching thread. My machine handles it much better. Just finished altering 6 pair of corduroy jeans for DD and found two threads so much easier and neater looking. Also don't get the skipped stitches that occur with the heavier thread.
1/8/12 3:26 PM
Raye Ann said...
Great looking muslin! I agree, ir was freeing to know this first run was just to learn on:) I have a second pair cut out to muslin....want to try a smaller size and perhaps a contoured band this time. I also straightened the leg for version 2.
1/8/12 3:45 PM
Patti B said...
Great muslin, Joanne. I see a future of sewing jeans for your DGD. I am glad to hear that Lura's is still around.
1/8/12 7:08 PM
Patti B said...
iPad hiccup -- sorry!
1/8/12 7:08 PM
Patti B said...
Hiccup #2.
1/8/12 7:09 PM
treefrog said...
Well done. I can't wait to see the final pair of jeans. The topstitching on the back pocket is excellent. Hope you get good news with the fit.
1/8/12 7:34 PM
JDpenelope said...
Patti B Take a deep breath and hold it! By the way, I have iPad envy. Thanks, everyone, for the feedback.
1/8/12 8:42 PM
Levone said...
These are great looking jeans for a trial run. I definitely need to order this pattern.
1/9/12 9:27 AM
Symon said...
Your jeans look fantastic! I've added this pattern to my wish list for when I get the guts to finally try making a pair! LOL
1/9/12 3:19 PM
allycovey said...
eyp I found several things I didn't like about this pattern but overall it is really great. You did a fantastic job on them. Making for someone else who is not there can be a challenge!!
1/9/12 3:37 PM
JDpenelope said...
There's more I could say about this attempt, but a girl can only cover so much ground in a muslin review. allycovey mentioned how difficult it would be to fit someone who's not here. I can't even fit myself and I'm always here. But her point, and those of others, isn't lost on me. I may end up just making a pair for myself. Thanks again, everyone.
1/9/12 8:01 PM
Elizabeth made this said...
The back pockets look great! I'm looking forward to your jeans for the contest. Keep up the good work.
1/14/12 9:21 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-122
photo
Review by Andrea670 on 7/12/09
Read Review

PerfectFuse Medium Black
PerfectFuse Medium Black

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2013-135 Moto jacket
photo
Review by froggiegir... on 10/10/13
Read Review

Simplicity 3936 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 3936 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us