Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4044 (1940's Retro Suit) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 546 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:SavageCoco
photo
Friend of PR
About SavageCocostar
CA
Member since: 1/3/12
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/9/12 5:54 PM
Last Updated:1/20/12 12:47 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mollyshark said...
I did a vogue version of those pants and I can hardly breathe. In a size 12, the waist measurement is slightly smaller than what it says your body waist measurement should be...and these are NOT knit! Negative "ease" in a woven, huh? Should have done a larger size but maybe I'll find a corset.
1/9/12 6:05 PM
JillyBe said...
LOVE that waistline dip! Your alterations sound like a perfect, practical improvement. Congratulations on your first review. :)
1/19/12 0:49 AM
Elona said...
Funny review, and that waistline dip looks great!
1/19/12 1:23 AM
lamstu said...
It would be great to see photos of you wearing them. Thanks for the fitting notes!
1/19/12 6:48 AM
prttynpnk said...
Nice, really nice!
1/19/12 7:33 AM
halleyscomet said...
Love to see a larger picture! I love the front.
1/19/12 8:30 AM
Elemenopeo said...
nice
1/19/12 8:30 AM
nicegirl said...
Great pants! Love that shape on the waistband.
1/19/12 11:40 AM
Laurie Lou said...
I made these pants too and had "issues" with that front dip. I had more trouble with the bumps staying up but with out looking too bulky with the interfacing...issues you might think of in the constructions. Yours look perfect so great success! And nice review, thanks for the review on a great pattern. I still want to make the jacket.
1/19/12 5:10 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Great job on your first review! Your front dip is wonderful--congrats that you were able to pull it off. I'd love to see a picture of you wearing the pants and no I am not a creepy lurking guy. :)
1/19/12 9:32 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Hi! ok. I think you did a good job telling us about your experience with this pattern. But--and don't take this as harsh--you wanted feedback. Look at how this review is one big ole solid hunk of words. Don't be afraid to use your Spacer bark! It makes for a easier to read review. Secondly Adding some extra pix is always a good thing--altho it's hard to reeber to stop and take a photo while sewing--but it sure akes the review more helpful. I loved that you didn't feel constrained to use the PR Questions and blindly just answer them - YAY, creativity reigns. For a hoot, you might enjoy the 1948 archive I found on the web and mentioned in my review ages ago of this same pattern: http://www.archive.org/details/Patternf1948 Welcome aboard, Nice job! Hugs
1/20/12 0:55 AM
marec said...
I have long admired these trousers and think your version is wonderful. Congratulations on your first review.
1/20/12 1:32 AM
RMJ said...
I think the belt makes yours look nicer than the pattern envelop photo. I notice your photos show the pants on a dress form, does the form have legs?
1/20/12 9:03 AM
SavageCoco said...
All - thanks for such great feed-back. Many have asked for more photos of which I have attempted several times to upload to no avail. Also, no pics of me in them because well, pics of me in anything isn't pleasant. However, the dress form does have legs - it is a Fabulous Fit. It's new and I'm still adjusting the foamy lumpy thingies to my shape. Thank you again for all the lovely compliments.
1/20/12 12:38 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great pr of pants. The belt buckle is so fab!
6/23/12 7:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Vogue Patterns 1248
photo
Review by Marge99 on 8/20/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1079
photo
Review by BenaeQuee on 12/17/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Suzi Purse Insert
Suzi Purse Insert

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2492 Pattern( Size S )
Simplicity 2492 Pattern( Size S )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us