SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB036BI (Birdie Sling)

44 more reviews
Viewed 197 times 
Reviewed by:rooskie
photo

 
 
About rooskie
WA USA
Member since: 9/29/06
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/12 3:59 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Celticstitcher said...
thanks for a great review, I get very frustrated having to buy patterns for bags and if I'm paying all that money for a designer's name I would expect an ecxellent product - I'll be very careful which patterns I buy. Your bag is beautifully made - good job
1/15/12 12:55 PM
CraftAddict said...
I have made several of these bags and I must say that my biggest frustration was the amount of fabric wasted. But I keep all of my scraps and do have some scrap buster projects in mind. The woven interfacing results in a great looking bag but it does add quite a bit to the cost of the bag. What I've started doing is using the woven on the outside and using a less expensive alternative for the lining. I do this with any bag that I make. I also ended up making photo copies of some of the pattern pieces because unpinning to make multiples of the same pattern piece was very tedious and got old very quick. Great bag though! I hope you'll use it again so you feel like you've gotten your money's worth.
1/13/12 2:05 PM
heathergwo said...
Very pretty! Thanks for the heads up! I recently bought and made an AB purse pattern and I was not thrilled with her pattern (on heavy duty regular paper!) and instructions... not enough pictures.
1/13/12 12:43 PM
KarenTeel said...
Ouch on the cost! You did end up with a very pretty bag. I really like the looks of it and you did a great job. No fusibles huh? I will look into the muslin.
1/13/12 9:31 AM
rooskie said...
Thanks for the compliment! Yes, it is a cute bag. Makes it more frustrating, because I'd love to be able to recommend this pattern. I just have too many issues with it.
1/12/12 8:10 PM
marec said...
There are lots of bag patterns out there, and I think you are right that this pattern should be better...considering the cost. It is a really cute bag though! I love the fabric you used and the closure.
1/12/12 7:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 1292

photo
by: chenille

Review
McCall's 6696

photo
by: Aroura

Review
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now
Sassy Bag

Sassy Bag

Buy Now