SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB036BI (Birdie Sling)

44 more reviews
Viewed 202 times 
Reviewed by:rooskie
photo

 
 
About rooskie
WA USA
Member since: 9/29/06
Reviews: 8 (patterns: 8)
Skill level:Intermediate
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/12 3:59 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Celticstitcher said... (1/15/12 12:55 PM) Reply
thanks for a great review, I get very frustrated having to buy patterns for bags and if I'm paying all that money for a designer's name I would expect an ecxellent product - I'll be very careful which patterns I buy. Your bag is beautifully made - good job
CraftAddict said... (1/13/12 2:05 PM) Reply
I have made several of these bags and I must say that my biggest frustration was the amount of fabric wasted. But I keep all of my scraps and do have some scrap buster projects in mind. The woven interfacing results in a great looking bag but it does add quite a bit to the cost of the bag. What I've started doing is using the woven on the outside and using a less expensive alternative for the lining. I do this with any bag that I make. I also ended up making photo copies of some of the pattern pieces because unpinning to make multiples of the same pattern piece was very tedious and got old very quick. Great bag though! I hope you'll use it again so you feel like you've gotten your money's worth.
heathergwo said... (1/13/12 12:43 PM) Reply
Very pretty! Thanks for the heads up! I recently bought and made an AB purse pattern and I was not thrilled with her pattern (on heavy duty regular paper!) and instructions... not enough pictures.
KarenTeel said... (1/13/12 9:31 AM) Reply
Ouch on the cost! You did end up with a very pretty bag. I really like the looks of it and you did a great job. No fusibles huh? I will look into the muslin.
rooskie said... (1/12/12 8:10 PM) Reply
Thanks for the compliment! Yes, it is a cute bag. Makes it more frustrating, because I'd love to be able to recommend this pattern. I just have too many issues with it.
marec said... (1/12/12 7:20 PM) Reply
There are lots of bag patterns out there, and I think you are right that this pattern should be better...considering the cost. It is a really cute bag though! I love the fabric you used and the closure.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1317

photo
by: 10SeventyT...

Review
Vogue Patterns 8650

photo
by: sewphd

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Pattern Details