Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5215 (Plus Sized Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops
Review submitted in 2012 Fabric Stash Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 751 times 24 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR
About Terri Astarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 98
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/15/12 2:15 AM
Last Updated:5/9/12 10:52 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
Doesn't it feel good using up the stash AND sewing for a friend? I completely agree that the tropical print top needs a lower neckline. This one looks like it would be difficult to pull over the head. I hope your friend can still get some use out of it because it's very nice.
1/15/12 2:58 AM
Terri A said...
Even though I lowered it from the original it still looks so small. I think that although the garment is completely finished I may simply lower it even further when I get time. It does fit over my head pretty easily, so I think it will fit over hers - but I like my necklines quite a bit lower. The difference also seems to be in the stretchiness of the fabric. The size of the top itself also seems to dwarf the neckline visually. It shouldn't take much to cut the collar out and redo it. Funny that though it isn't on the envelope the website description added the words: " Change the neckline; add a collar or placket. Create a center front opening to develop a totally new look." They obviously realized it might be an issue:-) No big deal and the neckline IS easy to change. Thanks for the nice comment. I like how the leopard one turned out.
1/15/12 3:28 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice tops. I hope your friend appreciates and likes them. The neckline on the original pattern looks ridiculously high/small! Good idea to make it lower.
1/15/12 4:43 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Wow Terri, that looks so much better. I really like the leopard top too. After going back and reading some of the other reviews, I think I'm going to buy this one and try view B.
1/15/12 4:54 PM
Terri A said...
That's awesome! Ha - I'm just excited to develop & improve a good Tee. I also ordered the HP new T Redux in hopes it would also be a good baseline to work from. It seems to have several shapes of lower necklines...
1/15/12 6:02 PM
Aroura said...
Such pretty and feminine fabrics, what lovely tops! The pink floral is so pretty. Lucky friend! Thanks for including the video, too. :)
1/20/12 8:08 PM
Zoomitron said...
Great review. I just got this pattern, and will be trying the collar in that tutorial. It looks very neat and trim. I love your shirt.
1/24/12 5:41 PM
Elona said...
My, that's a pretty top!
2/1/12 9:01 PM
Renren said...
They are all nice but I especially like the one labeled "Third top." You've got this pattern down to a science!
5/9/12 11:03 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks ;-) I liked the third top's fabric best of all too. I have some squirreled away for the event I make it into something for myself. :-)
5/9/12 11:47 PM
MartiP said...
Very nice tops! However, I am unable to view the Threads video. Do you have to sign up to be a Threads "Insider" to view it?
3/29/13 3:24 PM
Terri A said...
No, I don't think so... I am not a member and I can open and view it by clicking the link... Maybe it doesn't open correctly in all browsers? Thanks and HTH Terri
3/31/13 6:12 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Butterick 4920
photo
Review by ButtonFait... on 2/5/12
Read Review

Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8489 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8489 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6435 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by wendybirde on 4/13/12
Read Review

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XL-3X)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XL-3X)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Claire Handbag
Claire Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us