SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5215 (Plus Sized Top)

25 more reviews
Review submitted in 2012 Fabric Stash Contest Contest
Viewed 797 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstarstar
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 72 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/15/12 2:15 AM
Last Updated:5/9/12 10:52 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
No, I don't think so... I am not a member and I can open and view it by clicking the link... Maybe it doesn't open correctly in all browsers? Thanks and HTH Terri
3/31/13 6:12 PM
MartiP said...
Very nice tops! However, I am unable to view the Threads video. Do you have to sign up to be a Threads "Insider" to view it?
3/29/13 3:24 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks ;-) I liked the third top's fabric best of all too. I have some squirreled away for the event I make it into something for myself. :-)
5/9/12 11:47 PM
Renren said...
They are all nice but I especially like the one labeled "Third top." You've got this pattern down to a science!
5/9/12 11:03 PM
Elona said...
My, that's a pretty top!
2/1/12 9:01 PM
Zoomitron said...
Great review. I just got this pattern, and will be trying the collar in that tutorial. It looks very neat and trim. I love your shirt.
1/24/12 5:41 PM
Aroura said...
Such pretty and feminine fabrics, what lovely tops! The pink floral is so pretty. Lucky friend! Thanks for including the video, too. :)
1/20/12 8:08 PM
Terri A said...
That's awesome! Ha - I'm just excited to develop & improve a good Tee. I also ordered the HP new T Redux in hopes it would also be a good baseline to work from. It seems to have several shapes of lower necklines...
1/15/12 6:02 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Wow Terri, that looks so much better. I really like the leopard top too. After going back and reading some of the other reviews, I think I'm going to buy this one and try view B.
1/15/12 4:54 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice tops. I hope your friend appreciates and likes them. The neckline on the original pattern looks ridiculously high/small! Good idea to make it lower.
1/15/12 4:43 PM
Terri A said...
Even though I lowered it from the original it still looks so small. I think that although the garment is completely finished I may simply lower it even further when I get time. It does fit over my head pretty easily, so I think it will fit over hers - but I like my necklines quite a bit lower. The difference also seems to be in the stretchiness of the fabric. The size of the top itself also seems to dwarf the neckline visually. It shouldn't take much to cut the collar out and redo it. Funny that though it isn't on the envelope the website description added the words: " Change the neckline; add a collar or placket. Create a center front opening to develop a totally new look." They obviously realized it might be an issue:-) No big deal and the neckline IS easy to change. Thanks for the nice comment. I like how the leopard one turned out.
1/15/12 3:28 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Doesn't it feel good using up the stash AND sewing for a friend? I completely agree that the tropical print top needs a lower neckline. This one looks like it would be difficult to pull over the head. I hope your friend can still get some use out of it because it's very nice.
1/15/12 2:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Burda 7625

photo
by: Anne Cherr...

Review
Runaround Bag

Runaround Bag

More Info
Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

More Info