Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1476 Coat only (Miyake coat pattern) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket
Review submitted in 2012 Fabric Stash Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 351 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
NA GERMANY
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 290
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 270
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/22/12 11:52 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Nearly 5 yards of fabric? Wow, this was an interesting review, and very helpful. I hope you are able to get some wear out of this coat. It is such a stylish silhouette and your fabric is pretty.
1/22/12 12:05 PM
loti said...
I've seen this made up in linen which draped a little more. This is a very detailed review and you've given me food for thought, since I have this pattern but haven't made it up yet. I love the stitching detail you added on the back seams, I'd love to hear back from you when you've worn it for a season to see if you change your mind.
1/22/12 12:06 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I've tested mine on a dozen people, from 5' pipsqueak to 6'+ husband, and it looks good on everyone (though different). Definitely you need to have some attitude in wearing it though :-).
1/22/12 12:13 PM
maryfrana said...
Such a thoughtful and thorough review. I think it is probably great and dramatic on you. Give it a chance and see what people say. Love the fabric.
1/22/12 1:00 PM
Sigrid. said...
It definitely might be one of those garments that need time to get used to. I think it suits you well. Great work and very good review.
1/22/12 1:13 PM
lesliez said...
I bet if you wear it around you will get lots and lots of compliments!
1/23/12 1:43 AM
Ann Smith said...
I made this around 25 years ago (and another more recently). I still wear the original one and it is very admired. I agree with Fuzzygalore that one needs to bring out the attitude when you throw this on. From the pictures you included I think it looks great. Maybe I'll make another one of out wool crepe.
1/23/12 1:52 AM
jannw said...
It looks great!! I do hope that it grows on you..put on one of your hats and enjoy it!
1/24/12 0:12 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks, everyone! I'm hoping it grows on me as well. I think what some of you have said about "attitude" is one main issue -- not sure that is something I can accomplish anytime soon without it feeling like an act. The coat feels comfortable enough; it's just that when I looked at the photos, it looked like something that belongs to someone else. But it may also be that it absolutely didn't go with what I had on that day, and (on me) needs to be worn with pants so as not to look extra top-heavy.
1/24/12 8:15 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for a useful and thorough review, and I hope you do get to like the garment enough to wear it sometimes. I would love to make it myself but hesitate because my cutting table is probably not big enough to cope.
1/25/12 9:17 PM
Margaret said...
FreyaStark, yes, the main pattern piece is huge. I had to cut this out on the floor. IIRC it took just about the entire the width of the fabric, and the length was even a few inches longer... it definitely would not have fit on any of my tables.
1/26/12 6:47 AM
Sanibelle said...
I just started listing here all the reasons why I love wearing this coat, but my comment grew too long. :) -- I think this is a style that people either love or hate. If you think it's not you, then at least there's plenty of fabric there for you to be able to turn it into something else! But I hope you do grow to like it. I think you made a great choice with crepe. Thanks for the great review.
3/8/12 10:17 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 5956
photo
Review by valerie se... on 1/30/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HotPatterns 1005
photo
Review by twistedang... on 10/23/09
Read Review

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6007 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 6007 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3363 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3363 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us