Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2217 (Misses' Amazing Fit Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1005 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:MaryDB
photo
Friend of PR
About MaryDBstar
WA USA
Member since: 2/9/08
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/24/12 8:19 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ripple Dandelion said...
Love it--your changes sound so luxurious and I'm sure they add a lot to the drape and wearability of the dress. Beautiful.
1/24/12 8:26 PM
jlg said...
This is lovely. Great work.
1/24/12 8:35 PM
Tina Lou said...
What a pretty dress! I love the ribbon and rhinestone trim, and it must feel very special to be able to wear your grandmother's antique buttons. Great idea!
1/24/12 9:27 PM
betsey said...
love it! can i have it? :)
1/24/12 10:04 PM
annie11 said...
Your dress is so much prettier than the one on the cover. Great job!
1/24/12 11:50 PM
o3b said...
It's very beautiful. The fabric must be very special...I like it in the photograph. Do you know if they still carry the fabric?
1/25/12 2:09 AM
o3b said...
It's very beautiful. The fabric must be very special...I like it in the photograph. Do you know if they still carry the fabric?
1/25/12 2:09 AM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress! It should be the picture on the pattern because it looks so much better.
1/25/12 9:51 AM
Zoomitron said...
I agree -- yours is prettier than the pattern cover. I've had this pattern for awhile, and now I'm really anxious to try it. Your's is beautiful. Great review.
1/25/12 10:00 AM
prttynpnk said...
Oh I love this, how have I missed this great pattern?
1/25/12 7:34 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Your dress is beautiful!!
1/25/12 7:43 PM
Schnauzer said...
Gorgeous dress! What a lovely idea to use the black velvet ribbon.
1/26/12 5:13 PM
BeaJay said...
Great job - love the dress and your fabric. I have this pattern but it looks complicated. I am a beginner and thought I would leave it for a while but you have inspired me to try it.
2/4/12 2:27 AM
Longblades said...
I'm considering this for a wedding too. It's good to know lining might be needed, I'll watch out for that. Also the tip on the length since I'm 5'8". Love the look of yours and the fabric is just right to make it a bit more dressy.
2/5/12 2:40 PM
sewme47 said...
I just found this review....beautiful dress!! You have a knack for pairing just the right fabric with a pattern. :)
2/22/12 11:05 PM
Gendun said...
Yes, a lovely dress. :) A couple of Q's from a noob: 1. What is underlining compared to lining, pls? 2. I'm short, too, so I must be misunderstanding when you say the pattern would run SHORT bcs you are short. Wouldn't patterns be longer on you, not shorter? Thanks!
4/6/12 5:37 PM
Lesia said...
Beautifully done! I'm planning on making this soon and was glad to see that it makes up well in a print! Oh - and I got a lilttle homesick too - I'm originally from Portland but have lived in Florida for the past 30+ years.... Again, beautiful dress!
8/12/12 6:55 PM
Peppermint1701 said...
this looks lovely! I am just about to make this dress but just can not get the 2 front bodice parts together. I have cut out a size 12 and B-cup, but the notches just don't match up! there is far too much fabric on part 2b (the small side part to fit inbetween the notches of part 1b) I have checked and double checked to make sure I have cut out the right parts. What do I do wrong? Any help is much appreciated!
3/25/13 1:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 1881
photo
Review by Kendrasews... on 9/20/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3678
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 10/9/07
Read Review

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8820 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8820 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7251 Pattern
Burda 7251 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us