Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1175 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 642 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:gabc
photo
About gabcstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/1/09
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/12 0:06 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Stephanie C. said...
That's a very nice summery dress; look great on you!
1/28/12 1:23 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Interesting dress - looks good on you!
1/28/12 1:30 AM
a life in stitches said...
This looks wonderful. It has the appearance of being such a complex pattern, so you were very adventurous to make the changes - I love the way the fabric choices (both your versions) together with the reduction in volume make it work as daywear. I love the cut of this design when I studied the line drawings, but the peachy formal wear look is so off-putting! I think now I am working out some ways I could make up this pattern, so thank you. By the way, I think 'eyelet' and 'broderie anglaise' are interchangeable terms for a fabric or trim that features cutwork or eyelets, it's just one of those American/British English language things. I wonder if the French say 'English Embroidery'?
1/28/12 3:59 AM
SewSho said...
Great looking dress!
1/28/12 6:13 AM
Valerie S said...
So pretty on you! I agree with the commenter below that your fabric choice make this much more attractive and flattering than the version on the pattern envelope.
1/28/12 6:50 AM
Claverie said...
Your version would sell this pattern better. Great looking dress.
1/28/12 8:52 AM
marthamyers said...
Interesting pattern and feminine result. Great work!
1/28/12 9:14 AM
Anniinbc said...
I love the look of this dress and how you put it together. I have this pattern and I'm inspired again to make a go of it. thank you for the review.
1/28/12 1:50 PM
Levone said...
I like both of your versions better than the fabric illustration...not that the pattern's version is not pretty. However yours seem more practical and more wearable. Great job on these!
1/28/12 2:00 PM
karen n said...
I've admired this pattern for a while. Informative to see a casual take on it.
1/28/12 3:15 PM
lamstu said...
I never liked this pattern before, but your changes - the contrasting fabrics and elimination of the pouf at the hem - have made a wearable and very fun dress!
1/29/12 0:01 AM
StarrSews said...
So different. Looks great on you.
1/29/12 0:17 AM
Fran G said...
Perfect style for you!
1/29/12 8:43 AM
becca a said...
Thank you for reviewing this pattern. Looking at the pattern drawing and model picture it didn't attract me, but on you it is lovely. Great idea to use different fabrics.
1/29/12 3:44 PM
gabc said...
Thank you all so much for your lovely comments - I'm feeling a bit embarrassed now!
1/29/12 9:41 PM
ChristmasHills said...
I have only just caught up with this review but wanted to add my comments which are much the same as everyone else's. I love it on you. I would never have chosen to make this from the Vogue pattern envelope but your version is so cool looking (in both senses of the word). I want one just like it.
2/3/12 10:18 PM
JETrinity said...
You did a great job of stepping up this pattern. It is so much better than the pattern picture.
2/6/12 12:42 PM
MareeAlison said...
Fantastic.
2/21/12 1:05 AM
QueenZ said...
Nice job!
3/22/12 7:10 AM
miausiau said...
I am built like you and your review "made me do it!" I used a linen as well and only lined the bodice and front panel. It is flattering and very unusual, and thanks for the ideas.
8/12/12 10:55 PM
gabc said...
Thank you again - and miausiau, I'll look forward to seeing yours now!
1/31/13 8:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Named Clothing 005
photo
Review by chenille on 4/1/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4384
photo
Review by katlew03 on 2/14/09
Read Review

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Ava Paper Pattern
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 7937 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 7937 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6921 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6921 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us