SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2610 (Original 1947 Design)

1 more reviews
Viewed 544 times 
Reviewed by:lauramae
photo

 
 
About lauramaestar
CA USA
Member since: 4/28/09
Reviews written: 168
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 164
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/16/12 0:50 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ceejayem said...
Agreed the velvet is too heavy for the bodice, a shame because it is a beautiful fabric. Despite this you have had far more success than anyone else attempting this tempting pattern.
1/27/14 6:21 AM
Judy Kski said...
As usual, you never cease to amaze me with your talent.
2/17/12 11:25 AM
moushka said...
You look stunning as always! The dress in velvet works on you because you're so slender. Love the blue; gorgeous colour on you. So glad you finished it and shared it with us. Thank you.
2/17/12 8:28 AM
yummymummy38 said...
I noticed there is only one other review of this pattern, despite being around for a while and that reviewer had a lot of problems with it. This looks gorgeous, although the result was not as anticipated with the choice of fabric. Would you recommend this pattern?
2/17/12 5:50 AM
dorothyn said...
Wow, you pull off the 40's look so well. That velvet does look challenging, but you did a great job.
2/16/12 10:37 PM
marjoriekh said...
Gorgeous! So sorry you are disappointed with it, but those looking at you will not be. This is a stunning color on you.
2/16/12 11:09 AM
AuntieShel said...
You are stunning in this dress and congrats for seeing it finished!
2/16/12 10:45 AM
becca a said...
This dress is lovely! The fabric is fabulous, and must be so nice to wear. Although a lighter fabric might have draped more to your liking over the bodice, the velvet is lovely. This is a fantastic color for you.
2/16/12 10:41 AM
mizvi said...
I can see where a lighter fabric would have been a nice choice for this pattern. But I see nothing wrong with this courageous choice. I love the way the velvet folds into sweets curves on your bodice. I think the color is dreamy and as always you wear it so well. I think rushing a project is always trouble and that then makes one less appreciative of the outcome than she would be otherwise. Your dress is amazing and I always look forward to seeing your creations.
2/16/12 10:20 AM
maryfrana said...
I think this is a knock out. The color, the style, you in it! I know that feeling when you are unhappy with something you made -- you wish you had used a lighter fabric. But not knowing this as the viewer, I think this is just plain gorgeous. Wear it a lot.
2/16/12 9:35 AM
Loop51 said...
The color of the dress is beautiful! You look great. Great job of sticking with the project to finish!
2/16/12 8:36 AM
Sassy T said...
Lovely dress. The blue is lovely.
2/16/12 7:13 AM
mm said...
It is a beautifyl dress.
2/16/12 6:06 AM
FreyaStark said...
The colour is gorgeous. A lighter fabric than velvet might have been a better choice, but nevertheless the dress is much too good to waste and you should wear it sometimes.
2/16/12 5:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

New Look 6963

photo
by: charid daw...

Review

Pattern

Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

More Info
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

More Info