Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5682 (Misses' Jeans and Trousers) thumbsup - Type:Pants
Review submitted in Jeans Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 661 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:CraftAddict
photo
About CraftAddict
OH USA
Member since: 9/1/10
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/30/12 4:18 PM
Last Updated:1/30/12 4:27 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
Wow, I don't think these look too bad at all...in fact they are pretty darn good.
1/31/12 10:29 AM
KarenTeel said...
Hey! You did great on these. Not your fault if the pattern and instructions led you astray. I like the look on you.
1/31/12 10:59 AM
CraftAddict said...
Thanks ladies. I'm pleased for a first effort.
1/31/12 2:21 PM
treefrog said...
Congratulations on your first pair of pants. I think you have done a great job with fit - with is something to be proud of. Hang in there with the fly - it's always confusing the first time but much easier the second time around.
2/7/12 9:53 PM
annakeeton said...
These trousers look great and your pocket lining fabric is a nice touch.
2/8/12 6:52 AM
CraftAddict said...
Thanks
2/11/12 11:09 AM
Zacky said...
They came out really well! Congrats!!
2/12/12 9:40 PM
Terri A said...
Great job - and I am sure everyone can sympathize with your struggle with the fly - it can be tricky!
2/15/12 8:45 PM
JDpenelope said...
Craftaddict -- First your jeans looks great and you persevered through the fly zipper fiasco, so you get extra points for that. Why don't you try Sandra Betzina's faux fly method? It looks great and isn't difficult. The ever-popular Jalie 2908 uses the same method, by the way, except that the instructions have you place the zipper over the center front seam. I like Sandra's method better -- She butts the side of the zipper tape up against that same seam, which makes the zipper almost invisible. You can use up any zipper color and it won't be seen. I hope you don't give up on jeans. They're so much fun to make.
2/16/12 7:38 PM
CraftAddict said...
@JDpenelope I did come across Sandra Betzina's video tutorial which I THOUGHT I used the method when I finally got the zipper in. However, having looked at it again afterwards, I realize that I still lined up with the zipper teeth rather than the edge of the zipper tape. lol! I do think I'll try Jalie 2908 as I've read lots of great reviews. I'm definitely not giving up on jeans. You always need jeans!
2/17/12 9:18 AM
Margaret said...
Congrats on your first pair of pants! They look really good and the fit looks great too. Keep in mind there are a few different ways to do a fly, some of which will conceal the zipper more than others -- JDpenelope has a good point. After you pick a method and get used to it, it gets easier.
2/20/12 9:19 AM
BrendaJoyce said...
I just bought this pattern today and ran to my computer to check the reviews. I gotta tell ya, your trousers look great! That's the one I wanted to make when I saw the pattern. I need to get some denim and get started.
3/1/13 6:25 PM
madbadger said...
They look great! I think I'm going to try this one!
1/6/14 8:39 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 7837
photo
Review by jetgirl707 on 11/21/10
Read Review

Pants Sewing DVD
Pants Sewing DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 3576 1 hour top
photo
Review by arianamani... on 3/10/10
Read Review

Vogue 8873 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8873 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7095 Pattern
Burda 7095 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us