SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5682 (Misses' Jeans and Trousers)

15 more reviews
Review submitted in Jeans Contest Contest
Viewed 709 times 
Reviewed by:CraftAddict
photo

 
 
About CraftAddict
OH USA
Member since: 9/1/10
Reviews written: 39
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 39
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/30/12 4:18 PM
Last Updated:1/30/12 4:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
madbadger said...
They look great! I think I'm going to try this one!
1/6/14 8:39 PM
BrendaJoyce said...
I just bought this pattern today and ran to my computer to check the reviews. I gotta tell ya, your trousers look great! That's the one I wanted to make when I saw the pattern. I need to get some denim and get started.
3/1/13 6:25 PM
Margaret said...
Congrats on your first pair of pants! They look really good and the fit looks great too. Keep in mind there are a few different ways to do a fly, some of which will conceal the zipper more than others -- JDpenelope has a good point. After you pick a method and get used to it, it gets easier.
2/20/12 9:19 AM
CraftAddict said...
@JDpenelope I did come across Sandra Betzina's video tutorial which I THOUGHT I used the method when I finally got the zipper in. However, having looked at it again afterwards, I realize that I still lined up with the zipper teeth rather than the edge of the zipper tape. lol! I do think I'll try Jalie 2908 as I've read lots of great reviews. I'm definitely not giving up on jeans. You always need jeans!
2/17/12 9:18 AM
JDpenelope said...
Craftaddict -- First your jeans looks great and you persevered through the fly zipper fiasco, so you get extra points for that. Why don't you try Sandra Betzina's faux fly method? It looks great and isn't difficult. The ever-popular Jalie 2908 uses the same method, by the way, except that the instructions have you place the zipper over the center front seam. I like Sandra's method better -- She butts the side of the zipper tape up against that same seam, which makes the zipper almost invisible. You can use up any zipper color and it won't be seen. I hope you don't give up on jeans. They're so much fun to make.
2/16/12 7:38 PM
Terri A said...
Great job - and I am sure everyone can sympathize with your struggle with the fly - it can be tricky!
2/15/12 8:45 PM
Zacky said...
They came out really well! Congrats!!
2/12/12 9:40 PM
CraftAddict said...
Thanks
2/11/12 11:09 AM
annakeeton said...
These trousers look great and your pocket lining fabric is a nice touch.
2/8/12 6:52 AM
treefrog said...
Congratulations on your first pair of pants. I think you have done a great job with fit - with is something to be proud of. Hang in there with the fly - it's always confusing the first time but much easier the second time around.
2/7/12 9:53 PM
CraftAddict said...
Thanks ladies. I'm pleased for a first effort.
1/31/12 2:21 PM
KarenTeel said...
Hey! You did great on these. Not your fault if the pattern and instructions led you astray. I like the look on you.
1/31/12 10:59 AM
RLL said...
Wow, I don't think these look too bad at all...in fact they are pretty darn good.
1/31/12 10:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Style 3759

photo
by: punkmik

Review
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

More Info
SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern

SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

More Info