SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Drafted from RTW> Treefrogs (Overalls)

Review submitted in February Challenge - Menswear Contest
Viewed 360 times 
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 229
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 226
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/12 8:33 PM
Last Updated:2/16/12 0:40 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
These look fabulous - OMG - I'm sure he will get lots of use from them. You have more patience than I do - Well done.
2/5/12 8:44 PM
21wale said...
Wow, these are amazing with so many excellent details and a good fit. How great you were able to find the right fabric, too. My husband has been hinting for me to make him coveralls. He think it'd be easy to draft a pattern. hahahaha
2/5/12 9:34 PM
Zacky said...
Nice Overalls! Love the improvements over the original. Excellent work!
2/5/12 9:53 PM
AndreaSews said...
Incredible job!
2/5/12 10:02 PM
jannw said...
Wonderful!! Such a fantastic job!! love the little red bar tacks..and all the other improvements. Did you tell him he is not allowed to put holes in them? A suitable reward for fixing the machine..
2/5/12 11:12 PM
khurtdvm said...
Those are amazing! Great job! (And I agree - you kind of needed to make them, after he fixed your machine.)
2/5/12 11:25 PM
Kayseri said...
This looks like a seriously useful garment, in several senses. Well done.
2/5/12 11:44 PM
Sharonspils said...
Your DH is priceless and you deserve huge hugs for making such a professional looking pair of overalls, your attention to detail (as always) is amazing.
2/6/12 0:26 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Wow! I bet DH is happy with his custom overalls. Wonderful drafting and sewing on your part. There is a lot of work in these overalls! Nice job.
2/6/12 0:59 AM
booran said...
You have done a great job - I think hanging on to the pattern is a good idea - because I am sure that your DH will back for a another pair at some stage !!!!!
2/6/12 1:43 AM
annakeeton said...
Wow, these overalls are so well made. The pocket lining fabric is great.
2/6/12 6:44 AM
coudcoud said...
Your husband is lucky to have these custom-made overalls. Very nicely crafted!
2/6/12 8:07 AM
Judy Kski said...
You really do some amazing work!
2/6/12 8:42 AM
swany said...
These look great!
2/6/12 9:14 AM
Margaret said...
Great overalls -- these look very useful! Nice reward for getting the machine working!
2/6/12 9:49 AM
FreyaStark said...
Wow! A very impressive effort. Was the fabric difficult to work with?
2/6/12 9:50 AM
allycovey said...
Really great job!!!!
2/6/12 10:53 AM
fractal said...
Very impressive overalls! I love all the details which are extremely professionally done.
2/6/12 11:13 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Amazing! Very professional work, and THANKS for a such a thorough review of the process.
2/6/12 1:15 PM
margk said...
Wow! Everything about these is Fan.Tas.Tic! Lining fabric made me smile, too. Beautiful work as always, Treefrog.
2/6/12 4:25 PM
no7262 said...
I think they're great! You should just go a head and make him another pair now while you still have it fresh in your mind...... Nora :)
2/6/12 4:32 PM
bananaoil said...
These are totally cool.
2/6/12 8:48 PM
lynne1nor said...
Congratulations on this project! What a tremendous amount of work you put into making your hubby his new overalls. I'm sure my husband would love to have the same ones!
2/7/12 3:21 PM
JillyBe said...
What a lucky DH! Not only does he get custom-made overalls, but the details & workmanship are exquisite - VERY well done.
2/7/12 4:59 PM
tigergirl said...
You've done such a great job with these! Now my other half wants me to make him some custom overalls.
2/12/12 4:37 AM
Sassy T said...
Well done you. They are great. And well done him for sorting your machine.
2/16/12 6:55 AM
MNBarb said...
You never fail to impress me. These are wonderfully amazing.
2/16/12 8:47 AM
marjoriekh said...
Your husband is a lucky man. Fantastic job on these overalls. He looks great in them, too!
2/17/12 11:47 AM
ClaireEmily said...
What a fantastic job you did! Love the the custom improvements. I am very impressed that your DH is working on restoring the High Country huts! I used to hike up there a lot when I was younger and I always lived them. Tell him thanks from me :)
2/17/12 12:13 PM
sew4real said...
Wow, you did a wonderful job! Look like he will get a lot of use out of them, you may be making a second pair sooner than you think.
2/17/12 2:33 PM
DianasThread said...
Another wow!
2/17/12 3:28 PM
Moxie Carol said...
You make me want some just so I can study the craftsmanship! What a wonderful project and a great review. You and your hubby are a good team.
2/18/12 6:14 PM
Ags7 said...
Wow! You did a fabulous job! What a lot of love and detail went into making these, it's so impressive. My hubby would absolutely love it if I did the same for him. I have never thought of copying his overalls. I love that lining fabric with the hearts and X's, what a hoot. A reminder everyday he wears those of how much you love him, so cute. Love, love, love these! :))
2/19/12 7:43 PM
stsimon said...
All I can say is, AWESOME!
2/20/12 10:59 AM
sfshaza said...
I wouldn't normally click on a review of men's overalls, but I wanted to check out the work in the men's contest. WOW. WOW. These are, indeed, a labor of love. Such amazing detail. Such beautiful and thoughtful workmanship. I agree with the others - make him another pair now. Perhaps with TWO pair, you will get more like 10 years before you have to make another! Very impressive!
2/22/12 6:09 PM
Spool64 said...
Well done! Thanks for all of the details-you really dissected the RTW and improved it!
2/23/12 8:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

MariaDenmark 101

photo
by: westmoon

Review
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now