SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 312 (Giorgio's top)

10 more reviews
Viewed 660 times 
Reviewed by:Knitz
photo

 
 
About Knitz
VA USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/12 1:33 PM
Last Updated:2/9/12 1:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy K said... (5/14/12 7:56 AM) Reply

Nancy K said... (4/2/12 9:40 PM) Reply
A very pretty color on you and I think that the shape is good for you. I found the sizing very confusing too. I didn't had success with her wrap the fabric around me either. I always end up with a garment that is too big. I like the lines of this; it's a nice alternative to a plain t shirt.
Spaiyq said... (2/10/12 4:59 AM) Reply
If you email Peggy with your sizing questions she responds very quickly and it is always very helpful! I made this top last night....i got it in the mail yesterday! Ill review soon
diane s said... (2/9/12 7:15 PM) Reply
I like your top better than the one on the envelope.
Knitz said... (2/9/12 5:13 PM) Reply
Elona -- I think a heavier fabric might give a bit too much emphasis to the hip flare, although I could be wrong about that. Will look forward to seeing your sleeve morph!
TJSEWS said... (2/9/12 4:02 PM) Reply
I love the color and the top looks very pretty on you. I too have had similar issues with the sizing of the Silhouette patterns. I ended up with a size that fit my chest area but the armholes and sleeves ended up being too big.
Elona said... (2/9/12 2:39 PM) Reply
It's a very pretty color on you, and the slight peplum/flare is interesting. Perhaps you'd like the effect more in a slightly heavier knit? I agree that Silhouette sizing is a bit of a puzzler, particularly when you have to measure a BUNCH of princess seamed pieces for a knit top. I think when I get around to making this one, I will morph a set-in sleeve onto it, sort of like Vogue 8691, which is a similar pattern.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Grainline Studio Hemlock Tee

photo
by: catintheha...

Review
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Pattern Details