Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2852 (Misses Knit Tunics or Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 292 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:jynclr
photo
Friend of PR
About jynclr
TX USA
Member since: 12/20/11
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/13/12 9:16 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Trinity. said...
I do love this top, and I think you're right -- If you go down a size it will feel much nicer to wear. I have noticed that this pattern is pretty unforgiving when it comes to the fit of the shoulders. I think this looks pretty nice on you and I would definitely give it another try in a smaller size.
2/13/12 10:01 PM
marec said...
I love this top on you and think you will rock the style when you fine tune the fit on the square neckline. It looks great on you, and the red is a terrific choice with your coloring.
2/14/12 0:02 AM
Leora said...
I think you did a wonderful job! It is a touch wide on top but otherwise very well done. I hope you'll keep in mind sewers are interested in other sewers and not only enjoy watching skills evolve but having someone to "talk shop" with is priceless ;) Can't wait to see your next garment!
2/14/12 2:38 AM
Janie Viers said...
I think your top is great, you just need to make a few pintucks in the neckline and it will stop bowing. Use a double needle and do about ten five inch lines evenly spaced from center. Each one will draw up the fabric a tiny bit so you don't end up with gathers! Belts are always the answer... I can see an oversize 3" black belt worn at hip level. In fact, I can see me wearing the same top but I won't wear a turtleneck since mother nature has gifted my body with it's own heat pump! Great going, not home-made but hand made. Not home sewn but hand crafted. Not too big but a design feature you have used to customize a standard pattern more into a couture garment!
2/14/12 7:43 AM
jynclr said...
Thank you, folks! I love this site because you're always so encouraging. :)
2/14/12 8:35 AM
JTink said...
I agree with the others. You did a fine job on this. I have a habit of over estimating my size and have to reduce things down. It's all a learning process. You should wear this with a good shot of "I made it myself" pride :-)
2/14/12 1:31 PM
nancy2001 said...
Excellent first review!
2/14/12 3:21 PM
JenSews2 said...
Nice job!
2/16/12 3:18 PM
brissie71 said...
Congratulations on your first review. I really like your top, especially how you've styled it. I also like a previous person's suggestions to pop in some pin tucks to take up some of that excess fabric in the neckline. That's the sort of thing I'd never think of myself, but find all the time here on PR.
2/20/12 2:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Butterick 4859 Misses Skirts
photo
Review by Primatoide... on 9/14/09
Read Review

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern
J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Trendy Tuxedo Shirt & Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Trendy Tuxedo Shirt & Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake patterns 2222
photo
Review by Fox51 on 3/24/14
Read Review

McCalls 6196 Pattern ( Size MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6196 Pattern ( Size MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4443 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 4443 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us