Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6044 (MEN'S SHIRTS) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts
Review submitted in February Challenge - Menswear Contest    printable version
Viewed 219 times 32 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:EmmySews
photo
About EmmySews
WI USA
Member since: 1/1/11
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/15/12 1:20 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
Available for sale on PR: $15.16 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.16  List Price: $18.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
Wow, a beginner and you have tackled a mans shirt and buttonholes so soon? Good for you..NO FEAR! Looks very nice so keep up the good work. And there are easier ways to construct collars and cuffs all by machine......start researching on the internet (that is what I did). There are many sources out there. Good luck
2/15/12 2:20 PM
Sassy T said...
Congrats that is fantastic. Love slipstitching, a life saver lol. Some good youtube vids on it too.
2/15/12 2:39 PM
tigergirl said...
Good for you, you've done a great job!
2/15/12 3:14 PM
Darla in PA said...
Great looking shirt!
2/15/12 8:12 PM
VivianZ said...
I am so impressed. What a complicated beginning pattern. Great job and very nice shirt.
2/16/12 8:00 AM
JenSews2 said...
Wow! Great job! Congrats on the terrific shirt!!!
2/16/12 3:26 PM
sewmytime said...
Great job! This is a fantastic shirt!
2/16/12 6:17 PM
sew4real said...
Great job! Hard to believe you just began sewing.
2/17/12 2:36 PM
margk said...
It's no mean feat to make a shirt! It looks fantastic and he looks happy! Hand stitching can give you great results through better control, but there are ways of doing most things by machine.
2/17/12 3:38 PM
barebear said...
I'm so impressed by this shirt, especially considering it's only your second garment?! That's impressive, tackling buttonholes and collar and collar stand, cuffs, everything. Very nice job! I'm glad your husband likes and appreciates your hard work. :)
2/19/12 11:37 PM
Thickanatomy said...
Hi, I'm new to the forum and I'm working on this project for my hubby. You did and amazing job? I'm make view B just as you did, but I so confused on the sleeves and I would really appreciate it if you can lend some assistance. I know you sewed this LONG ago, but I really I'm having a hard time with the sleeve, pieces 8 and 9 are the sleeves, but 8 was cut on the fold and I'm so confused on how I am to put this together. It looks like piece #8 was not to be cut on the fold as one piece. Should I cut piece#8 and make it 2 pieces? Please help from anyone. I'm so new and so confused. Thanks in advance.
5/22/13 8:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2007-112B Trousers
photo
Review by Squeezylem... on 8/31/08
Read Review

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

In-House Blossom Digital Pattern
In-House Blossom Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3535
photo
Review by born2bead on 4/2/08
Read Review

Simplicity 2153 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2153 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3879 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3879 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us