Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7509 (T-SHIRT) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 525 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 154
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/28/12 6:43 AM
Last Updated:2/28/12 6:51 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $6.71  List Price: $8.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crystalwoods said...
Nice looking top - I too like that it is a knit look made from woven fabric. Just a guess, but I think what is happening at the back is that it is too high and wide at that point for your figure, try to have a friend pin it the way it wants to fold and use that information to take in the centre back,at the neck for about 2 inches, and lower the back neckline. I think that would help. But a very nice top nonetheless.
2/24/12 11:12 AM
marec said...
I am in love with the leopard print you used here. This tank/tee will be a staple in your warm weather wardrobe, I'm sure. I'll be interested to read what others suggest for the back neckline. If I were working on this, I would cut it a teeny bit more narrow through the neckline. Lovely top.
2/24/12 11:48 AM
DreinPA said...
I have a bias cut garment that does the same thing. You can try cutting a new facing on the SOG, and then understitch, if you have a similar weight fabric available.
2/24/12 12:09 PM
Elona said...
It's a very pretty top. As to the the back neck thing, I can think of two possibilities. One is that you might need a little alteration for a bit of 'forward neck' or possibly 'high, round back.' The second is that with neck bindings, especially, with bias, stabilization and careful 'directional stitching' are needed to avoid distorting the opening.
2/24/12 1:20 PM
NancyAnn2 said...
These shells look easy but they are actually hard to fit. There is no room for much error. I have large bust and narrowish shoulders, and I ended up having to gather up an inch into the band in front. It worked and prevented a "binner" but getting that FBA right in the first place would have stopped the gaping in the front. Yours is going to be fine. Great fabric!
2/25/12 2:34 AM
Knitz said...
Love the fabric, and looks like you got a good fit.
2/28/12 9:24 AM
Mufffet said...
Very nice fit!
2/28/12 10:09 AM
Cuffs said...
Great save!
2/28/12 11:13 AM
miausiau said...
Like you , I love a bias top instead of a t-shirt knit. I've made quite a few out of linen and several from silk. The silks were harder to handle, but there's something luxurious about silk on the bias and a great way to use roll ends. I have found stretching the bias "tape" to its limit and pressing before stitching can also help with droopy necklines.
2/28/12 12:00 PM
Elona said...
Boy, the results of your tweaking are great!
2/28/12 2:59 PM
lynny said...
A lovely fitting top, worth the tweaking to get it right.
2/28/12 4:08 PM
mm said...
Lovely fabric. I am glad you got it to work so well.
2/28/12 6:33 PM
JanineMck said...
OOh - that is absolutely beautiful fabric - the colours and the pattern - the finished top looks fantastic on you. -all your persistence certainly paid off .
2/28/12 7:10 PM
carolynw said...
You took your time and used a lot of patience in making this top and it is a perfect fit - you should be so proud
2/28/12 10:01 PM
BeaJay said...
great top - love the fabric.
2/29/12 0:12 AM
Margaret said...
Excellent fit -- all the tweaking paid off. Love the print and it sounds like this will be a very useful pattern.
2/29/12 5:11 AM
lesliez said...
Beautiful top. Thank you for all the helpful tips.
2/29/12 11:18 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
I love the idea of a t-shirt from a woven. Yours is a beautiful color.
3/3/12 6:10 PM
MNBarb said...
Thanks for this detailed review. I just bought this pattern and all of your photos will be useful. I love your fabric choice.
4/19/12 2:17 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Studio Kat Designs 02100
photo
Review by RenaeA on 3/14/10
Read Review

Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5666
photo
Review by racehorse on 2/14/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1767 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L )
Simplicity 1767 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us