SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7509 (T-SHIRT)

9 more reviews
Viewed 590 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/28/12 6:43 AM
Last Updated:2/28/12 6:51 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Burda: 7509 by FreyaStark  Burda: 7509 by FreyaStark  
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 $8.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 $8.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
Thanks for this detailed review. I just bought this pattern and all of your photos will be useful. I love your fabric choice.
4/19/12 2:17 PM
Elizabeth made this said...
I love the idea of a t-shirt from a woven. Yours is a beautiful color.
3/3/12 6:10 PM
lesliez said...
Beautiful top. Thank you for all the helpful tips.
2/29/12 11:18 AM
Margaret said...
Excellent fit -- all the tweaking paid off. Love the print and it sounds like this will be a very useful pattern.
2/29/12 5:11 AM
BeaJay said...
great top - love the fabric.
2/29/12 0:12 AM
carolynw said...
You took your time and used a lot of patience in making this top and it is a perfect fit - you should be so proud
2/28/12 10:01 PM
JanineMck said...
OOh - that is absolutely beautiful fabric - the colours and the pattern - the finished top looks fantastic on you. -all your persistence certainly paid off .
2/28/12 7:10 PM
mm said...
Lovely fabric. I am glad you got it to work so well.
2/28/12 6:33 PM
lynny said...
A lovely fitting top, worth the tweaking to get it right.
2/28/12 4:08 PM
Elona said...
Boy, the results of your tweaking are great!
2/28/12 2:59 PM
miausiau said...
Like you , I love a bias top instead of a t-shirt knit. I've made quite a few out of linen and several from silk. The silks were harder to handle, but there's something luxurious about silk on the bias and a great way to use roll ends. I have found stretching the bias "tape" to its limit and pressing before stitching can also help with droopy necklines.
2/28/12 12:00 PM
Cuffs said...
Great save!
2/28/12 11:13 AM
Mufffet said...
Very nice fit!
2/28/12 10:09 AM
Knitz said...
Love the fabric, and looks like you got a good fit.
2/28/12 9:24 AM
NancyAnn2 said...
These shells look easy but they are actually hard to fit. There is no room for much error. I have large bust and narrowish shoulders, and I ended up having to gather up an inch into the band in front. It worked and prevented a "binner" but getting that FBA right in the first place would have stopped the gaping in the front. Yours is going to be fine. Great fabric!
2/25/12 2:34 AM
Elona said...
It's a very pretty top. As to the the back neck thing, I can think of two possibilities. One is that you might need a little alteration for a bit of 'forward neck' or possibly 'high, round back.' The second is that with neck bindings, especially, with bias, stabilization and careful 'directional stitching' are needed to avoid distorting the opening.
2/24/12 1:20 PM
DreinPA said...
I have a bias cut garment that does the same thing. You can try cutting a new facing on the SOG, and then understitch, if you have a similar weight fabric available.
2/24/12 12:09 PM
marec said...
I am in love with the leopard print you used here. This tank/tee will be a staple in your warm weather wardrobe, I'm sure. I'll be interested to read what others suggest for the back neckline. If I were working on this, I would cut it a teeny bit more narrow through the neckline. Lovely top.
2/24/12 11:48 AM
crystalwoods said...
Nice looking top - I too like that it is a knit look made from woven fabric. Just a guess, but I think what is happening at the back is that it is too high and wide at that point for your figure, try to have a friend pin it the way it wants to fold and use that information to take in the centre back,at the neck for about 2 inches, and lower the back neckline. I think that would help. But a very nice top nonetheless.
2/24/12 11:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Butterick 5249

photo
by: AmberSage

Review
StyleArc Marni Ponti Jacket

photo
by: BeaJay

Review
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Buy Now