SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Serendipity Studio> SDG-103 (Stella Strip Skirt)

Viewed 224 times 
Reviewed by:Sue Romero
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sue Romero
Member since: 5/12/10
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/21/12 11:30 PM
Last Updated:2/21/12 11:38 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cultured Purl said...
Very cute skirt! Is this one from one of her skirt booklets?? Love those skirt booklets for a 1, 2,3 easy skirt and her fabric selections are the best, I actually ordered some of the same fabrics she used for one skirt ( typewriter fabric w/ numbers) EVeryone wants that skirt or better said,,,that fabric! thank you for the review,, I do so love her patterns, and booklets ,,AND her new purse book!
5/21/12 6:21 AM
Sue Romero said...
Thank you everybody! You're so encouraging! You're right, Mad Stash, about the elastic. It did get pretty bulky with all that fabric pleated in, but with lighter fabrics it would work better, and the flat front waistband is a good tip too.
2/23/12 10:06 AM
mad stash said...
Hmmm. The colors and choice of fabrics is great, love the quirky fabric strip construction, and I'm a sucker for tea-length skirts and dresses. The proportion works for you. In my opinion, it's the elastic waist that's problematic. That's a lot of fabric to gather up. Given all the pros of the skirt vs only one con, it might be worth it to tailor it closer around your upper hips, then go to a flat front waistband with the elastic only in back. It would look straight out of an Anthropologie catalogue! Styled with a sleeveless, untucked tank top and some kind of casual, slip-on clunky soled sandal will make you the belle of the barbeque.
2/22/12 12:15 PM
nicegirl said...
Sounds like an ambitious project! But I think the skirt came out very fun, especially for Spring.
2/22/12 11:44 AM
Claverie said...
I'll share with you what a few have shared with me when I do a project that just doesn't feel right .... "Maybe it'll grow on you." It just might. I love the color/print/pattern thing you have going on. It's an unusual skirt, but that makes it cool. Try it out ... you might be surprised how many compliments you get.
2/22/12 8:11 AM
Nanax4 said...
Sorry that you aren't entirely satisfied with your skirt. I think that its lovely very summery and cheerful!
2/22/12 3:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Butterick 5856

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Buy Now