SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Serendipity Studio> SDG-103 (Stella Strip Skirt)

Viewed 222 times 
Reviewed by:Sue Romero
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sue Romero
Member since: 5/12/10
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/21/12 11:30 PM
Last Updated:2/21/12 11:38 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nanax4 said...
Sorry that you aren't entirely satisfied with your skirt. I think that its lovely very summery and cheerful!
2/22/12 3:58 AM
Claverie said...
I'll share with you what a few have shared with me when I do a project that just doesn't feel right .... "Maybe it'll grow on you." It just might. I love the color/print/pattern thing you have going on. It's an unusual skirt, but that makes it cool. Try it out ... you might be surprised how many compliments you get.
2/22/12 8:11 AM
nicegirl said...
Sounds like an ambitious project! But I think the skirt came out very fun, especially for Spring.
2/22/12 11:44 AM
mad stash said...
Hmmm. The colors and choice of fabrics is great, love the quirky fabric strip construction, and I'm a sucker for tea-length skirts and dresses. The proportion works for you. In my opinion, it's the elastic waist that's problematic. That's a lot of fabric to gather up. Given all the pros of the skirt vs only one con, it might be worth it to tailor it closer around your upper hips, then go to a flat front waistband with the elastic only in back. It would look straight out of an Anthropologie catalogue! Styled with a sleeveless, untucked tank top and some kind of casual, slip-on clunky soled sandal will make you the belle of the barbeque.
2/22/12 12:15 PM
Sue Romero said...
Thank you everybody! You're so encouraging! You're right, Mad Stash, about the elastic. It did get pretty bulky with all that fabric pleated in, but with lighter fabrics it would work better, and the flat front waistband is a good tip too.
2/23/12 10:06 AM
Cultured Purl said...
Very cute skirt! Is this one from one of her skirt booklets?? Love those skirt booklets for a 1, 2,3 easy skirt and her fabric selections are the best, I actually ordered some of the same fabrics she used for one skirt ( typewriter fabric w/ numbers) EVeryone wants that skirt or better said,,,that fabric! thank you for the review,, I do so love her patterns, and booklets ,,AND her new purse book!
5/21/12 6:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
More Knits
More Knits

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Australian Smocking & Embroidery Magazine 98-2012-Pony Club

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now