SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2012-111 (02-2012-111 Dress)

Viewed 585 times 
Reviewed by:Catherine Daze
photo

 
 
About Catherine Dazestarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/23/09
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 49
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/12 10:39 AM
Last Updated:2/26/12 10:40 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
Fabulous dress and review.
2/26/12 11:03 AM
Headquarters said...
Wow! Does that look great on you! I love the look of this dress, and you have now inspired me to take a shot at it. Thanks for the thorough and helpful review. This is a winner.
2/26/12 11:13 AM
peaudane said...
Beautiful dress! Very sharp and suits you so well!
2/26/12 11:15 AM
Patti B said...
What a stunning dress. Do make another one!
2/26/12 11:17 AM
KarmenG said...
I love your dress. Wise choice on the method you used to handle the inside of the contrast bands. I agree Burda's seam allowance instructions would have been too bulky. You did a fabulous job on the fit and binding. Enjoy!
2/26/12 11:21 AM
Fully Busted said...
Beautiful. I loved this pattern when I got the magazine. Thanks for the helpful tips, I'll definitely refer back to them when I sew it myself.
2/26/12 11:38 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a beautiful dress and it fits great. Thanks for the detailed description. Love it.
2/26/12 11:40 AM
Miss Tanya said...
The dress looks fantastic on you! Very nicely done!
2/26/12 11:45 AM
Ann Smith said...
Really terrific dress and wonderful on you.
2/26/12 12:01 PM
Dynamo said...
I love this dress. It looks smashing on you. Well done!
2/26/12 1:04 PM
Dynamo said...

2/26/12 1:05 PM
Claverie said...
Smart indeed! That is a great looking dress. You wear it well.
2/26/12 1:29 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Gorgeous dress! Looks beautiful on you!
2/26/12 1:42 PM
Elke said...
Great looking dress...looks fabulous on you!
2/26/12 1:52 PM
Amanda S. said...
Love it! This was one of my favorites from that month so I'm glad you didn't have any problems with it! Stretch fabric is a great idea too.
2/26/12 2:13 PM
Elaray said...
I'm never sure about interfacing the pieces indicated on Burda's layout diagrams. There have been times when I interfaced more than I should have. I'm glad to know I'm not the only one having this problem. The dress turned out beautifully.
2/26/12 3:14 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very chic and highly distinctive.
2/26/12 3:22 PM
mm said...
What a winner.
2/26/12 4:00 PM
fashionsista1 said...
Well done, a really striking dress
2/26/12 4:43 PM
zoe said...
Wow. Stunning!
2/26/12 5:22 PM
tsedai said...
It looks amazing - I love it! And thanks for the great review - I have been thinking about this dress, but now I know to leave it for a time when I want a somewhat more difficult project.
2/26/12 5:44 PM
tsedai said...
It looks amazing - I love it! And thanks for the great review - I have been thinking about this dress, but now I know to leave it for a time when I want a somewhat more difficult project.
2/26/12 5:46 PM
cmarie12 said...
What a fantastic dress! I love your version of it!
2/26/12 8:07 PM
Mufffet said...
Fantastic dress. SO chic on you.
2/26/12 9:39 PM
norie creates said...
OMG! This is so gorgeous! You have a great sense of style. I wish I could pull this off! What a perfect dress.
2/26/12 9:39 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Great review and you look fab!
2/26/12 9:43 PM
Scheri said...
I love this dress!
2/27/12 2:23 AM
Sewingelle said...
Divine!
2/27/12 4:42 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I fell in love when I saw this dress in Burda Style Mag. I really like your version of this dress. Dress looks very good on you!
2/27/12 5:20 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Fabulous dress! Your wardrobe is full of chic little black dresses recently. Thanks so much for all the construction and fitting tips in here, too!!
2/27/12 5:41 AM
Fran G said...
So gorgeous! Love the black and white..so chic! I think you have gone far beyond your self described "advanced beginner"!!!!!
2/27/12 8:05 AM
becca a said...
Gorgeous dress! Thanks for the excellent review!
2/27/12 9:32 AM
blessedtosew said...
Absolutely STUNNING!!!!
2/27/12 12:42 PM
Marge99 said...
Lovely!
2/27/12 2:00 PM
CraftAddict said...
that's hot!
2/27/12 2:03 PM
SandraB said...
Really beautiful!! Great job.
2/27/12 9:46 PM
Anne Cherry said...
stunning dress ! and it looks great on you! - thanks for the detailed construction details!
2/28/12 3:56 AM
MissCelie said...
Gorgeous!
3/9/12 1:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now