SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6348 (Misses Dress)

7 more reviews
Review submitted in Little Red Dress Contest
Viewed 744 times 
Reviewed by:JenniferMM
photo

 
 
About JenniferMMstar
GA USA
Member since: 10/19/08
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/12 9:57 AM
Last Updated:3/16/12 1:03 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wordchick said...
This dress looks amazing on you! Fantastic work! I love the fabric choice and color. It's stunning...and you did the K. Knightly inspiration photo proud!
2/27/12 10:05 AM
EleanorSews said...
Stunning dress. Such a lot of work went into it ~ although one might not guess it, but that's the whole idea.
2/27/12 10:28 AM
Nenewhis said...
I love the simplicity of the design, it shows off the craftsmanship of your hard work! Simply Beautiful!
2/27/12 11:41 AM
Sassy T said...
Looks fab.
2/27/12 4:29 PM
karen n said...
Gorgeous and great job with all your "firsts"! Hand sewing does help and even though it seems time consuming I find it reduces errors so worth it.
2/27/12 6:23 PM
karen n said...
You probably haven't washed it yet, but when you do, can you comment on how well the dye fixed/faded? It looks really evenly saturated in the photos.
2/27/12 6:24 PM
Jrhee said...
Gorgeous color, and gorgeous dress!
2/27/12 9:25 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress! Congratulations on all of your "firsts". Great job!
2/27/12 10:24 PM
annakeeton said...
Lovely dress. Great job dying the fabrics and working with notoriously difficult charmeuse.
2/28/12 6:09 AM
mtnbluebird said...
What a sharp looking dress. The color is great on you and the fit is perfect. Great job.
2/28/12 12:21 PM
Levone said...
Beautiful dress! Great job on this project.
2/28/12 1:44 PM
Robin Denning said...
You have every reason to be very proud of this dress- simple doesn't necessarily mean easy! And the color is just stunning.
2/28/12 8:56 PM
petro said...
Terrific dress, simple but stunning.
2/29/12 6:25 AM
JenniferMM said...
Thanks so much everyone! I sincerely appreciate your encouragement! @karen n Technically, I did wash this fabric on hot in the washing machine when I finished dyeing it and not too much color came out. I have not washed it again though since finishing the dress and will update my review once I do :-). Great suggestion!
2/29/12 7:27 PM
sew4real said...
Your dress looks stunning. Love the deep red color. I am inspired.
3/3/12 9:09 PM
ClaireEmily said...
That is just a beautiful dress! You look stunning.
3/4/12 6:09 AM
Margaret said...
Stunning dress on you, excellent work!
3/4/12 2:25 PM
cloudyhn said...
Stunning... I love your dress very much and the bias cut. But I have 1 question that There are some photos shown the dress has 2 tones (darker in the back) I'm wondering if it's caused from the light that creates shadow or you did turn up side down fabric while cutting?
3/4/12 6:21 PM
JenniferMM said...
Thanks ladies! @cloudyhn the darker color is actually an illusion caused by the pieces being cut on a bias (possibly made more obvious by a shadow). At the side seam, the grainlines form an upside-down v so the light is hitting them differently.
3/4/12 7:13 PM
pmac said...
Elegant, classy dress and perfect fit. Congrats on a beautiful creation.
3/4/12 11:32 PM
StudioCherie said...
Jennifer - love all of the firsts for you in this challenge. Great dress - I am a sucker for the bias cut skirt myself. Love your spy pose too. I hope you enjoy your satchel pattern prize!
3/13/12 7:09 PM
Vintage Joan said...
GORGEOUS!! :) Very helpful review, too. Could you explain what you mean by a "lap-basting stitch"? I googled this but didn't find anything. Thanks!
3/14/12 5:17 PM
Scheri said...
Wondeful dress and great review
3/15/12 11:05 AM
JenniferMM said...
@Vintage Joan - I used Vogue 8449 as a guide for which techniques to use. (I was working on both of them sudo-simultaneously and the Vogue pattern has great hand-sewing details which I thought was appropriate for both silks.). I added a photo of the lap-basting instructions to my Picasa album just for you :). It's very easy and makes a huge difference!
3/16/12 12:57 PM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful dress and fit and informative review. I'm impressed that you dyed your fabric!
3/16/12 1:29 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Thanks for that helpful clarification about lap basting! :)
3/17/12 12:53 PM
fauxgetaboutit said...
Great detailed review and I applaud your fearlessness in trying all those "firsts" together. It looks fabulous on you!
3/17/12 2:35 PM
norie creates said...
Wow! This is a stunning dress! Kudos to you. It looks great on you too!
3/18/12 11:03 PM
norie creates said...
Wow! This is a stunning dress! Kudos to you. It looks great on you too!
3/18/12 11:03 PM
Sew Good said...
Awesome job!
9/8/13 11:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8827

photo
by: Achallengi...

Review