Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6348 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Little Red Dress Contest    printable version
Viewed 736 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:JenniferMM
photo
About JenniferMMstar
GA USA
Member since: 10/19/08
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/12 9:57 AM
Last Updated:3/16/12 1:03 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wordchick said...
This dress looks amazing on you! Fantastic work! I love the fabric choice and color. It's stunning...and you did the K. Knightly inspiration photo proud!
2/27/12 10:05 AM
EleanorSews said...
Stunning dress. Such a lot of work went into it ~ although one might not guess it, but that's the whole idea.
2/27/12 10:28 AM
Nenewhis said...
I love the simplicity of the design, it shows off the craftsmanship of your hard work! Simply Beautiful!
2/27/12 11:41 AM
Sassy T said...
Looks fab.
2/27/12 4:29 PM
karen n said...
Gorgeous and great job with all your "firsts"! Hand sewing does help and even though it seems time consuming I find it reduces errors so worth it.
2/27/12 6:23 PM
karen n said...
You probably haven't washed it yet, but when you do, can you comment on how well the dye fixed/faded? It looks really evenly saturated in the photos.
2/27/12 6:24 PM
Jrhee said...
Gorgeous color, and gorgeous dress!
2/27/12 9:25 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress! Congratulations on all of your "firsts". Great job!
2/27/12 10:24 PM
annakeeton said...
Lovely dress. Great job dying the fabrics and working with notoriously difficult charmeuse.
2/28/12 6:09 AM
mtnbluebird said...
What a sharp looking dress. The color is great on you and the fit is perfect. Great job.
2/28/12 12:21 PM
Levone said...
Beautiful dress! Great job on this project.
2/28/12 1:44 PM
Robin Denning said...
You have every reason to be very proud of this dress- simple doesn't necessarily mean easy! And the color is just stunning.
2/28/12 8:56 PM
petro said...
Terrific dress, simple but stunning.
2/29/12 6:25 AM
JenniferMM said...
Thanks so much everyone! I sincerely appreciate your encouragement! @karen n Technically, I did wash this fabric on hot in the washing machine when I finished dyeing it and not too much color came out. I have not washed it again though since finishing the dress and will update my review once I do :-). Great suggestion!
2/29/12 7:27 PM
sew4real said...
Your dress looks stunning. Love the deep red color. I am inspired.
3/3/12 9:09 PM
ClaireEmily said...
That is just a beautiful dress! You look stunning.
3/4/12 6:09 AM
Margaret said...
Stunning dress on you, excellent work!
3/4/12 2:25 PM
cloudyhn said...
Stunning... I love your dress very much and the bias cut. But I have 1 question that There are some photos shown the dress has 2 tones (darker in the back) I'm wondering if it's caused from the light that creates shadow or you did turn up side down fabric while cutting?
3/4/12 6:21 PM
JenniferMM said...
Thanks ladies! @cloudyhn the darker color is actually an illusion caused by the pieces being cut on a bias (possibly made more obvious by a shadow). At the side seam, the grainlines form an upside-down v so the light is hitting them differently.
3/4/12 7:13 PM
pmac said...
Elegant, classy dress and perfect fit. Congrats on a beautiful creation.
3/4/12 11:32 PM
StudioCherie said...
Jennifer - love all of the firsts for you in this challenge. Great dress - I am a sucker for the bias cut skirt myself. Love your spy pose too. I hope you enjoy your satchel pattern prize!
3/13/12 7:09 PM
Vintage Joan said...
GORGEOUS!! :) Very helpful review, too. Could you explain what you mean by a "lap-basting stitch"? I googled this but didn't find anything. Thanks!
3/14/12 5:17 PM
Scheri said...
Wondeful dress and great review
3/15/12 11:05 AM
JenniferMM said...
@Vintage Joan - I used Vogue 8449 as a guide for which techniques to use. (I was working on both of them sudo-simultaneously and the Vogue pattern has great hand-sewing details which I thought was appropriate for both silks.). I added a photo of the lap-basting instructions to my Picasa album just for you :). It's very easy and makes a huge difference!
3/16/12 12:57 PM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful dress and fit and informative review. I'm impressed that you dyed your fabric!
3/16/12 1:29 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Thanks for that helpful clarification about lap basting! :)
3/17/12 12:53 PM
fauxgetaboutit said...
Great detailed review and I applaud your fearlessness in trying all those "firsts" together. It looks fabulous on you!
3/17/12 2:35 PM
norie creates said...
Wow! This is a stunning dress! Kudos to you. It looks great on you too!
3/18/12 11:03 PM
norie creates said...
Wow! This is a stunning dress! Kudos to you. It looks great on you too!
3/18/12 11:03 PM
Sew Good said...
Awesome job!
9/8/13 11:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

McCall's 6744
photo
Review by MrsCharism... on 7/30/13
Read Review

PerfectFuse Sheer Black
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lutterloh Supplement #267 - #151 Vest
photo
Review by Sallygirl on 12/14/08
Read Review

Simplicity 1572 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 1572 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2683 Pattern ( Size 3-6 )
Simplicity 2683 Pattern ( Size 3-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us