SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8307 (MISSES' JACKET AND COAT)

12 more reviews
Viewed 467 times 
Reviewed by:valkyrie01
photo

 
 
About valkyrie01star
QC CANADA
Member since: 8/7/11
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/12 10:13 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
yummymummy38 said...
I have always been drawn to this design, but being 5'1" sighed and moved on. Love this on you, fabulous fabric, pattern, outfit. Congratulations from a coat lover and admirer.
5/8/12 8:47 AM
valkyrie01 said...
Thank you everyone for your wonderful coments! To Joanna in Western Australia It is true that chevrons can come through to the other side. You can see a lot of them in undercollars of shirts and coats that are couture sewn, it is (in a strange way) proof that they are couture. As for the body it is imortant to keep that to a minimal. working with a large busy loose, weave like the one that i used helps. It is important to pick up only a thread or two while sewin chevrons.
5/3/12 11:52 PM
Pink Hollybush Designs said...
Amazing Coat! Thank you for the all the details and great pictures on Facebook!
5/2/12 7:50 PM
pdiddly said...
I have had this pattern for ages - wonderful to see it made up - you did a beautiful job
5/2/12 2:51 AM
cocosloft said...
Beautofully done. Enjoyed your review as well!
5/2/12 0:14 AM
SavageCoco said...
Couture lives! Well done.
5/1/12 1:16 PM
marec said...
The fabric, the style lines, the buttons...a marvelous coat!
5/1/12 10:44 AM
butterflyfly said...
Stunning! Fantastic coat and photos!! I never knew about interfacing being hand sewn.. Great report on facebook..
5/1/12 9:51 AM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous coat, you did an incredible job.
5/1/12 8:30 AM
Sassy T said...
Fantastic!
5/1/12 3:07 AM
Joanna in Western Australia said...
Congratulations. Loved the blow by blow description of how you made this beautiful coat!! How do you make sure the chevron stitching for the interfacing doesn't show through to the fashion fabric?
5/1/12 3:03 AM
barebear said...
What a gorgeous coat. I love the fabric choice, and the collar and the buttons are fabrulous!
5/1/12 1:15 AM
tsedai said...
Wow! This looks amazing! I love everything about your coat - fabulous job.
5/1/12 0:07 AM
velosewer said...
I agree. Incredible job.
4/30/12 11:19 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous coat! I can see why you feel like an Empress in this. Great job!!!
4/30/12 10:42 PM
Dilliander said...
Wow, what a fabulous coat and review. You did a great job.
4/30/12 10:27 PM
fauxgetaboutit said...
Stunning! What an incredible job! You really made this pattern and fabric sing with all your attention to detail. Great job!
4/30/12 10:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2005-110

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
StyleArc Willow Pant

photo
by: GoodbyeVal...

Review
Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now