SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5685 (Misses' Jacket and Coat)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1160 times 
Reviewed by:washer_woman
photo

 
 
About washer_womanstar
USA
Member since: 5/31/06
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/1/12 6:58 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Outerwear    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
shazam410 said...
Perfect fit, perfect fabric, perfect....everything! Thank you for your most detailed review. I am going to make a muslin first and keep in mind all your very helpful tips. Great job!!!
12/7/14 1:00 AM
shazam410 said...
Beautifully constructed coat. Real professional and a perfect fit.
5/10/14 10:27 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Fabulous....just F A B U L O U S !!!!
12/22/12 1:31 PM
sewingripper said...
Exquisite! Your tailoring skills are something to behold.
11/8/12 9:55 AM
thimbledore said...
Looks great!
3/7/12 4:04 PM
lamstu said...
This is so beautiful and well made. I am inspired to take my time when I finally get around to making my new wool coat (one of these days). Wow
3/4/12 6:46 AM
poppykettle said...
Looks gorgeous! Totally worth the effort because the detailing is impeccable. I love it!
3/4/12 3:48 AM
norie creates said...
Very pretty coat.
3/3/12 7:29 PM
KathleenS said...
Lovely coat! I love all the details - the fabric is a bit unusual (the colour and the herringbone - no-one else will have this coat) - and the corduroy label is so perfect to match it in style. The bound buttonholes are beautifully done. Thanks for all the information and photos too.
3/3/12 3:22 AM
AndreaSews said...
Gorgeous coat.
3/2/12 9:16 PM
sew2little said...
This coat was a journey--one well taken, as the destination is beautiful.
3/2/12 6:51 PM
washer_woman said...
Thank you so much, ladies, for your kind words!
3/2/12 6:22 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
You have made a coat that will last for many years - and done a beautiful job!
3/2/12 3:47 PM
slmstyle said...
Wow! Great coat and your attention to tailoring details really paid off.
3/2/12 2:20 PM
nicegirl said...
What a beautiful coat! You did a really fantastic job on all the tailoring details.
3/2/12 11:20 AM
JoyceP said...
Awesome! The attention that you gave to construction details has paid big dividends: gorgeous work that looks terrific on you.
3/2/12 10:20 AM
redside said...
Lovely coat--I particularly like the beautiful collar!
3/2/12 9:41 AM
sewing addict said...
What a wonderful coat and your review is as good as attending a tutorial. Well may you wear it.
3/2/12 9:33 AM
BexInMD said...
Your coat is very attractive on you, and beautifully made. Thanks for the very helpful review.
3/2/12 9:12 AM
Denise L Perry said...
Perfectly done! Just beautiful!
3/2/12 8:10 AM
nancyc said...
Wow! Beautiful and inspiring!
3/2/12 7:14 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your pattern alterations made for a beautiful jacket! Congratulations!
3/2/12 7:02 AM
sewmytime said...
Beautiful coat! It is truly well made.
3/2/12 6:50 AM
pdiddly said...
beautiful coat and made so well
3/2/12 5:30 AM
tsedai said...
This looks fabulous! I have been considering this pattern for a while - thanks for the heads up about the instructions. I will definitely refer to your blog posts when I get around to making this up! Your tailoring looks amazing - very inspiring!
3/2/12 2:38 AM
brissie71 said...
Stunning coat! The fabric choice is perfect and your review is very thorough. Thanks!
3/1/12 10:40 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Just a beautiful job and great blog tips and tailoring! I picked up this pattern a while ago and hope to make it some day. Enjoyed reading your review. I wanted to duplicate Kate Middleton's white coat and this pattern looked perfect. http://www.thefashiondealer.com/2010/11/request-kate-middletons-white-coat-for.html
3/1/12 10:38 PM
beginagain said...
I love your coat and all the tailoring details. I was thinking of making this coat as a summer project. You raised the bar for me.
3/1/12 10:22 PM
salsera7 said...
Outstanding!
3/1/12 9:36 PM
Calama said...
Looks beautiful!
3/1/12 8:36 PM
4u2cme said...
You did a great job, I will review your blog for more information. The tailoring really made it pop.
3/1/12 8:10 PM
Joanna in Western Australia said...
Congratulations on a superbly made coat! Your attention to detail is amazing and your blog is very helpful. Have fun wearing it!
3/1/12 8:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Buy Now
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Buy Now