SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5685 (Misses' Jacket and Coat)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1073 times 
Reviewed by:washer_woman
photo

 
 
About washer_womanstar
USA
Member since: 5/31/06
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/1/12 6:58 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Outerwear    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Joanna in Western Australia said...
Congratulations on a superbly made coat! Your attention to detail is amazing and your blog is very helpful. Have fun wearing it!
3/1/12 8:07 PM
4u2cme said...
You did a great job, I will review your blog for more information. The tailoring really made it pop.
3/1/12 8:10 PM
Calama said...
Looks beautiful!
3/1/12 8:36 PM
salsera7 said...
Outstanding!
3/1/12 9:36 PM
beginagain said...
I love your coat and all the tailoring details. I was thinking of making this coat as a summer project. You raised the bar for me.
3/1/12 10:22 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Just a beautiful job and great blog tips and tailoring! I picked up this pattern a while ago and hope to make it some day. Enjoyed reading your review. I wanted to duplicate Kate Middleton's white coat and this pattern looked perfect. http://www.thefashiondealer.com/2010/11/request-kate-middletons-white-coat-for.html
3/1/12 10:38 PM
brissie71 said...
Stunning coat! The fabric choice is perfect and your review is very thorough. Thanks!
3/1/12 10:40 PM
tsedai said...
This looks fabulous! I have been considering this pattern for a while - thanks for the heads up about the instructions. I will definitely refer to your blog posts when I get around to making this up! Your tailoring looks amazing - very inspiring!
3/2/12 2:38 AM
pdiddly said...
beautiful coat and made so well
3/2/12 5:30 AM
sewmytime said...
Beautiful coat! It is truly well made.
3/2/12 6:50 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your pattern alterations made for a beautiful jacket! Congratulations!
3/2/12 7:02 AM
nancyc said...
Wow! Beautiful and inspiring!
3/2/12 7:14 AM
Denise L Perry said...
Perfectly done! Just beautiful!
3/2/12 8:10 AM
BexInMD said...
Your coat is very attractive on you, and beautifully made. Thanks for the very helpful review.
3/2/12 9:12 AM
sewing addict said...
What a wonderful coat and your review is as good as attending a tutorial. Well may you wear it.
3/2/12 9:33 AM
redside said...
Lovely coat--I particularly like the beautiful collar!
3/2/12 9:41 AM
JoyceP said...
Awesome! The attention that you gave to construction details has paid big dividends: gorgeous work that looks terrific on you.
3/2/12 10:20 AM
nicegirl said...
What a beautiful coat! You did a really fantastic job on all the tailoring details.
3/2/12 11:20 AM
slmstyle said...
Wow! Great coat and your attention to tailoring details really paid off.
3/2/12 2:20 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
You have made a coat that will last for many years - and done a beautiful job!
3/2/12 3:47 PM
washer_woman said...
Thank you so much, ladies, for your kind words!
3/2/12 6:22 PM
sew2little said...
This coat was a journey--one well taken, as the destination is beautiful.
3/2/12 6:51 PM
AndreaSews said...
Gorgeous coat.
3/2/12 9:16 PM
KathleenS said...
Lovely coat! I love all the details - the fabric is a bit unusual (the colour and the herringbone - no-one else will have this coat) - and the corduroy label is so perfect to match it in style. The bound buttonholes are beautifully done. Thanks for all the information and photos too.
3/3/12 3:22 AM
norie creates said...
Very pretty coat.
3/3/12 7:29 PM
poppykettle said...
Looks gorgeous! Totally worth the effort because the detailing is impeccable. I love it!
3/4/12 3:48 AM
lamstu said...
This is so beautiful and well made. I am inspired to take my time when I finally get around to making my new wool coat (one of these days). Wow
3/4/12 6:46 AM
thimbledore said...
Looks great!
3/7/12 4:04 PM
sewingripper said...
Exquisite! Your tailoring skills are something to behold.
11/8/12 9:55 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Fabulous....just F A B U L O U S !!!!
12/22/12 1:31 PM
shazam410 said...
Beautifully constructed coat. Real professional and a perfect fit.
5/10/14 10:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Advance Pattern Company 5578 (vintage)

photo
by: SewMentalM...

Review
Other Tutu.com

photo
by: leoniep

Review
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now