SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 200965-1003 (slinky knit dress)

Viewed 228 times 
Reviewed by:tigergirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About tigergirlstar
QLD Australia
Member since: 11/30/09
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/12 1:43 AM
Last Updated:3/2/12 5:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BeaJay said...
Great dress - LOVE what you have done with the fabric.
3/3/12 7:55 PM
norie creates said...
Very pretty dress. No one would know you had so many problems with the construction.
3/3/12 7:05 PM
magpie57 said...
This is the most fun review I have ever read!! Sorry for your pain but I love your writing style as much as the dress, which is a knock out by the way!! I hope you get a lot of wear out if it. It looks like it can go all crumpled up into a suitcase and come out fresn and ready to wear!
3/3/12 12:07 PM
bananaoil said...
Yes, this design is very attractive. Thanks for the chuckles.
3/3/12 8:25 AM
pdiddly said...
I am not familiar with slinky so don't know the pain you went through, but either way lovely looking end result
3/3/12 4:25 AM
tigergirl said...
Thanks everyone - I'm just glad it's over! @ karen n & Levone - sorry if I've put you off, I don't remember having as many problems with it the first time around (15 years ago). I believe there are different weights etc. of slinky - this one was quite thick. One suggestion I would make is to have as few seams as possible (what was I thinking???). This dress is really just an example of an uber bad pairing of pattern and fabric. Oh, I'm editing my review because I realised that I actually used different stitches.
3/2/12 5:24 PM
wordchick said...
Great dress!
3/2/12 3:54 PM
nicegirl said...
LOL, I feel the same way as you about slinky. But I love this dress! Fun use of the stripes and you got a great fit.
3/2/12 10:14 AM
Levone said...
Pretty dress! I have a couple of pieces of slinky in my stash but I'm scared to try them out. Thanks for the tip on the wondertape.
3/2/12 8:34 AM
karen n said...
What an attractive and comfortable looking dress! I'm looking at my small pile of slinky with some apprehension now!
3/2/12 2:33 AM
Scheri said...
I think this dress looks wonderful.
3/2/12 1:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Folkwear 232

photo
by: patternadd...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-127

photo
by: Elizabeth ...

Review
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Buy Now