SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> My Image Magazine> M1204 (Cap Sleeve Dress)

Viewed 313 times 
Reviewed by:21wale
photo

 
 
About 21walestarstarstar
MN United States
Member since: 6/25/08
Reviews: 269 (patterns: 269)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 29 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/12 7:56 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
tigergirl said... (3/3/12 6:02 PM) Reply
Love this dress. I've been wanting to make a dress like this with the french darts and cap sleeves and keep wondering whether it's a fit that will work on me - it certainly works on you.
nellc said... (3/3/12 1:02 PM) Reply
Your dress is lovely and the shaping from the darts is very nice. This pattern is one I want to make from this issue so it is good to see a positive review.
marec said... (3/3/12 10:48 AM) Reply
Wow, nice dress for spring! I love the chic design and the robin's egg blue of the fabric. really beautiful.
pdiddly said... (3/3/12 4:14 AM) Reply
your dress looks really nice
21wale said... (3/2/12 9:37 PM) Reply
sewnotwork...I don't know if I can explain this well, but since this is a multisize pattern, I traced the smallest size (or biggest if you're grading up), slid the pattern over so the line matched up with the next bigger size and retraced the smallest size line. I did it separately for each line of the dart. I actually slid it two sizes because I was grading two sizes. The key to understanding if you're doing it right is to note whether you're moving the whole dart toward center front (for a smaller size) or toward the side seam (for a larger size). If that's not clear, ask again, and I can take a photo and blog it.
sewnotwork said... (3/2/12 8:44 PM) Reply
How did you alter the French darts? I wonder how to do that myself?
sewnotwork said... (3/2/12 8:44 PM) Reply
How did you alter the French darts? I wonder how to do that myself?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Pattern Details
New Look 6459

photo
by: MariannaSe...

Review