SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1997 (Misses' Dress and Coat)

3 more reviews
Viewed 398 times 
Reviewed by:lauramae

About lauramaestar
Member since: 4/28/09
Reviews: 182 (patterns: 178)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 129 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/10/12 5:39 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Other Projects by lauramae using this Pattern


Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past

vintage sewing patterns

Reconstructing History

Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics

Natural & Organic Fabrics

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
ghijsmom said... (3/12/12 9:57 AM) Reply
Hi Laura. I love to read your reviews and blog. This dress is gorgeous, as always. Congratulations on your Bernina 330.
Pamaro said... (3/11/12 3:23 PM) Reply
Omigosh, it is beautiful. Such a lovely color and style on you.
Dianne22 said... (3/11/12 9:39 AM) Reply
Laura, thank you for your through reviews and your thought provoking blog. If we sewers would look at our work as art, it might help us to slow down and appreciate the act of creating rather than just wanting to finish a "project." I also love that you point out what you feel doesn't work as well as you hoped--how many times has that happened to each of us. Beautiful work.
Sue Parrott said... (3/11/12 9:27 AM) Reply
So very pretty! The pattern link is to a modern simplicity top, are you able to change it to the vintage? I'd love to see the pattern you used!
Athene said... (3/11/12 1:13 AM) Reply
A beautiful fresh spring look. Enjoyed your blog and the tip to top stitch clipped areas such as the kimono sleeves.
lauramae said... (3/11/12 1:06 AM) Reply
FreyaStark - I like to hand stitch my zippers for a truly vintage finish and more control. After seeing a Balenciaga couture dress in person with a hand stitched lapped zipper I have been a true convert.
FreyaStark said... (3/11/12 0:38 AM) Reply
Fabulous! Why did you stitch the zipper by hand: do you think it gives a better finish, or do you not have a zipper foot?
mizvi said... (3/10/12 11:36 PM) Reply
GoodbyeValntino said... (3/10/12 6:37 PM) Reply
I always look forward to seeing your projects! Other than Mondrian, art inspired clothes have not been too obvious to me... Hmmmmmm maybe I haven't been paying attention. Love your blog and review :)
zoe said... (3/10/12 6:17 PM) Reply
You do such beautiful work!
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8636

by: jwitt

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Pattern Details
Simplicity 2134

by: Nana27