SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1997 (Misses' Dress and Coat)

2 more reviews
Viewed 370 times 
Reviewed by:lauramae
photo

 
 
About lauramaestar
CA USA
Member since: 4/28/09
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 88 people
patterns reviewed: 157
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/10/12 5:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
zoe said...
You do such beautiful work!
3/10/12 6:17 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I always look forward to seeing your projects! Other than Mondrian, art inspired clothes have not been too obvious to me... Hmmmmmm maybe I haven't been paying attention. Love your blog and review :)
3/10/12 6:37 PM
mizvi said...
Fun!
3/10/12 11:36 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! Why did you stitch the zipper by hand: do you think it gives a better finish, or do you not have a zipper foot?
3/11/12 0:38 AM
lauramae said...
FreyaStark - I like to hand stitch my zippers for a truly vintage finish and more control. After seeing a Balenciaga couture dress in person with a hand stitched lapped zipper I have been a true convert.
3/11/12 1:06 AM
Athene said...
A beautiful fresh spring look. Enjoyed your blog and the tip to top stitch clipped areas such as the kimono sleeves.
3/11/12 1:13 AM
Sue Parrott said...
So very pretty! The pattern link is to a modern simplicity top, are you able to change it to the vintage? I'd love to see the pattern you used!
3/11/12 9:27 AM
Dianne22 said...
Laura, thank you for your through reviews and your thought provoking blog. If we sewers would look at our work as art, it might help us to slow down and appreciate the act of creating rather than just wanting to finish a "project." I also love that you point out what you feel doesn't work as well as you hoped--how many times has that happened to each of us. Beautiful work.
3/11/12 9:39 AM
Pamaro said...
Omigosh, it is beautiful. Such a lovely color and style on you.
3/11/12 3:23 PM
ghijsmom said...
Hi Laura. I love to read your reviews and blog. This dress is gorgeous, as always. Congratulations on your Bernina 330.
3/12/12 9:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Buy Now