SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2377 (Child's Dresses)

26 more reviews
Viewed 198 times 
Reviewed by:craftygamma
photo

 
 
About craftygamma
WI USA
Member since: 2/14/08
Reviews: 14 (patterns: 12)
Skill level:Advanced
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/12 11:03 AM
Last Updated:3/4/12 12:14 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Snoo said... (5/17/15 11:15 PM) Reply
Very cute !! Do you think it would work to add about 4" to the bodice of the dress to make it into a peasant blouse ?
caper81 said... (11/21/13 10:16 PM) Reply
Very helpful review:) I'm planning to use this pattern for my two nieces. Thanks for the tip on the elastic!
Lemonsours said... (5/5/12 1:13 PM) Reply
Bold fabrics, I love it!
craftygamma said... (3/11/12 8:56 AM) Reply
OOPS, mis-read my pattern notes. For the sleeves, I cut 2" off the elastic, not 4". I also used 3/8" elastic since I had lots on hand. I just increased the casing for the elastic to 3/4" with 1/4" turned under. I prefer to make my casings slightly larger than called for so elastic can be threaded easily. Then I stitch across the elastic at some of the seams to keep it from twisting.
craftygamma said... (3/11/12 8:51 AM) Reply
Marycds...thanks for the elastic question, because I forgot to mention that in my review. I cut 4" off the neckband elastic and 4" off each sleeve elastic. Since the dress recipients do not live nearby, I had to guess. But at the specified length, there was almost no gathering. For Gram2four, I also look for no zippers or buttons, since notions are so expensive now and kids wear their clothes for such a short time.
Gram2four said... (3/10/12 12:12 PM) Reply
Very pretty dress! Love the fabric!I went right out and got the pattern after reading your review. Will be making it next.I am always looking for patterns without zippers or buttons, Thanks so much for your review!
marycds said... (3/7/12 1:25 AM) Reply
Love your color and fabric choices. I have this pattern. I think it has elastic in the neck. Did the recommended length give a good fit in the neck? Thanks
Beek said... (3/4/12 3:09 PM) Reply
So cute!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Kwik Sew 2100

photo
by: Judy Kski

Review
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Pattern Details
Self Drafted Pattern 3392-1007

photo
by: cln

Review